Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Urban and Regional Planning: Government Information

UI Libraries Resources

Smart Search

The University of Iowa Libraries
institution = University of Iowa Librariesinstitution code = UIOWA

Government Information

The University of Iowa Libraries is a regional depository for United States Federal Government information sources. It has been a depository for US sources since the late 19th Century. Most publications since 1976, including many electronic-only, are included in InfoHawk+. Materials include government reports, Congressional committee hearings and supporting documentation, various censuses, and statistical publications.

The Libraries is also a depository for the State of Iowa, the European Union, and the United Nations.

Materials are housed throughout the Main Library.

City and state governments frequently publish reports that document the work of agencies. With the advent of on-line information sources, the Libraries have collected these less frequently. Still, for those looking at planning problems over a longer period of time, you may be interested in some of these types of titles.

Some useful web sites

Census Bureau

United States Census Bureau offers a wealth of statistical sources and analysis. The Decennial Census carried out every 10 years is only one activity of many conducted by the Bureau. The Economic Census and Statistical Abstract of the United States are other worthwhile publications you may find useful.

CQ Electronic Library Restricted Resource
CQ Electronic Library (CQEL) is an extensive reference resource comprised of fourteen separate modules, each with its own focus, for researching American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

Data.gov   
The US Government's Open Data

Iowa's Creative Corridor
In conjunction with new efforts to brand a seven county region in Eastern Iowa as “Iowa’s Creative Corridor,” the economic development agencies representing Linn, Johnson, Cedar, Iowa, Washington, Jones and Benton Counties, have launched a website.   The website was launched in January 2013 and will serve as the primary source of information on available buildings and sites, infrastructure, workforce, and other business resources for start-ups and emerging companies.

Iowa Publications On-line
An on-line archive of digital materials produced by Iowa state agencies.

Iowa State Data Center
"The State Data Center of Iowa is your source for population, housing, business and government statistics about Iowa, including data from the U.S. Census Bureau, Iowa state agencies, and other state and federal sources."

Legal codes

  • Municipal Codes Online
    A directory of city codes available via the web.
  • State Resources
    Includes links to state codes, regulations, constitution and legislation
  • Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted Resource also includes codes and regulations from the states
  • Lexis Nexis State Capitol Restricted Resource is an online service providing access to state government information. It includes legislative information (status of bills, full text of bills, legislative calendars), state statutes, full text of state regulations, information about state legislators and their staffs, and news sources for information on state issues for all 50 states.

Open Government Guide
A complete compendium of information on every state's open records and open meetings laws. Each state's section is arranged according to a standard outline, making it easy to compare laws in various states.

ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. It includes the following U.S. Congressional materials: members and committees, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee prints, documents, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports.CRS reports are particularly compelling.

ProQuest Statistical Restricted Resource
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations. Earlier source materials are only available in Microfiche via the Main Library Service Desk.

Library of Congress American Memory
Collection of digitized material from the Library of Congress of "written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."

Open Government Guide
The Open Government Guide is a complete compendium of information on every state's open records and open meetings laws. Each state's section is arranged according to a standard outline, making it easy to compare laws in various states.

OECD iLibrary Restricted Resource
Provides comparative statistics from the 30 member states (industrialized nations) of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, as well as development statistics from other countries. Includes an interactive data browser as well as PDF downloadable files.

Working Paper Series (National Bureau of Economic Research) Restricted Resource
"Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community."

World Bank E-library Restricted Resource
The collection consists of over 2,000 World Bank publications and over 2,700 Policy Research Working Papers. Bookss are available from the 1990s to present.

Contact Me

Brett Cloyd's picture
Brett Cloyd
Contact:
Main Library
319.335.5743
Website / Blog Page