Adams, Janet (1937 -). Papers, 1980-2010. 5.2 linear feet. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1987-1993, serving Hamilton and Webster counties; Assistant Majority Leader 1991-1992. Also served as President of Iowa League of Women Voters.
Bock, Lena Belle (1904-2007). Scrapbooks, 1960-1981, 3 volumes. 5 linear inches. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1961-1965, serving Hancock county. Scrapbooks include memorabilia, such as fabric swatches from a redecoration of the House and Senate chambers, and photographs documenting Bock’s relationship with other women legislators, including Katherine Falvey and Percie van Alstine, while clippings document Bock’s legislative activities and reflect the tenor of media coverage of women politicians in the early 1960s.
Carpenter, Dorothy (1933-2011). Papers, 1979-1995. 2.5 linear feet. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1981-1995, serving Polk County. Topics represented include abortion, the Iowa pension system, and actions of the state government committee, 1993-1994.
Chapman, Katherine Halloran (1937-). Papers, 1977-1999. 8.75 linear feet. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1983-1993 and 1997-2001, serving Linn County. Collection extensively documents Chapman’s legislative campaigns and her work on taxation and spending issues.
Clark, Betty Jean (1920-2005). Papers, 1935-1994. 1.8 linear feet. Republican member of the House of Representatives, 1977-1991, serving Cerro Gordo, Floyd, and Mitchell counties. Among other documentation of Clark’s legislative service, the collection includes her poetry (sometimes read into the legislative record) and extensive correspondence with imprisoned Iowan Don White.
Cohen, Gertrude (1913-2016). Papers, 1964-1991. 1 linear inch. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1965-1967, serving Black Hawk county, and the first Jewish woman elected to the Iowa Legislature.
Conklin, Charlene (1929-2022). Papers, 1954-1981. 7 linear feet. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1967-1969, and of the Iowa Senate, 1969-1973, serving Black Hawk county. A particular strength of the collection is the constituent correspondence, a valuable source for information on “ordinary” Iowans’ opinions on various topics. These and other areas of the collection reflect the key role Conklin played in attempts to roll back Iowa laws restricting abortion in the early 1970s.
Doderer, Minnette (1923-2005). Papers, 1944-2005. 29.25 linear feet. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1964-1969 and 1981-2001, and of the Iowa Senate, 1969-1979, serving Johnson county. This large collection contains extensive constituent correspondence as well as campaign documents and legislative files. Topical areas of emphasis include the women’s movement of the 1960s and ‘70s, gun control, abortion, tax policy and reform, and women’s prisons.
Gruhn, Josephine (1927-2015). Papers, 1982-1992. 5 linear inches. Moderate Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1983-1993, serving Dickinson and Emmet counties. The News Release series consists of Gruhn’s updates to constituents on issues before the legislature and provides a succinct summary of legislative responses to the 1980s farm crisis in Iowa.
Hannon, Beverly (1932-). Papers, 1968-2015. 16 linear feet. Democratic member of the Iowa Senate, 1985-1993, serving Jones, Cedar, and Linn counties. Hannon’s role as a co-founder of the Iowa Women’s Foundation is represented, as is her work on an anti-stalking bill and legislation to add women’s restrooms in government buildings, known as the “potty parity” bill.
Hammond, Johnie (1932-). Papers, 1970-2006. 5 linear feet. First woman elected to the Story County Board of Supervisors, 1974-1978; later elected as a Democrat to serve Story county in the Iowa House of Representatives, 1983-1995, and Iowa Senate, 1995-2003. Collection includes a decorated box lid created by pages while packing files, a longstanding end-of-session tradition.
Harper, Patricia M. (1932-). Papers, 1986-2003. 10 linear inches. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1987-1997, and of the Iowa Senate, 1997-2003, serving Black Hawk county. Collection includes clippings, campaign materials, interviews with Harper, and correspondence concerning Duane Brant, an imprisoned Iowan from Harper's district seeking a sentencing reduction.
Larsen, Sonja (1941-). Papers, 1977-1982. 1 linear foot. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1979-1981, serving parts of Wapello and Monroe counties. Collection documents legislative issues such as bike paths, creationism, and natural resources.
Lipsky, Joan (1919-2015). Papers, 1880-2015. 16 linear feet. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1967-1979, serving Linn county. Collection strengths include Lipsky’s work on the juvenile justice system and social services for children and people with disabilities.
Lloyd-Jones, Jean. (1929-). Papers, 1964-2014. 12.5 linear feet. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1979-1987, and of the Iowa Senate, 1987-1995, serving Johnson county. This extensive collection documents Lloyd-Jones' legislative service, particularly her advocacy for railroad projects and involvement in land use legislation.
Martin, Mona (1934-). Papers, 1992-2009. 18.3 linear feet. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1993-2001, serving Scott county. Martin chaired the State Government Committee for six years, which involved oversight of state pension funds such as IPERS; this work is well-represented in the collection, as is her legislative work on elder care.
Metcalf, Janet (1935-). Papers, 1989-2011. 0.5 linear inches. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1985-2003, serving Polk county. Metcalf served as co-chair of the Women’s Legislative Caucus, a group open to all women elected to the General Assembly, and this small collection primarily consists of minutes and correspondence of that group, 1989-1993.
Miller, Elizabeth R. (1905-1988). Papers, 1972-1984. 0.25 linear inches. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1969-1973, and of the Iowa Senate, 1973-1981, serving Marshall, Jasper, Hardin, Story, and Grundy counties.
Miller, Opal (1915-2010). Papers, 1960-1988. 4 linear inches. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1975-1979, serving Calhoun, Carroll, Sac, Greene, and Pocahantas counties.
Nelson, Gladys (1895-1995). Papers, 1938-1995. 10 linear inches. Scrapbooks, memoir, and other materials of a Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1951-1957, serving Jasper county. Among other issues, Nelson’s legislative scrapbooks extensively document her key role in repealing Iowa’s ban on colored oleomargarine sales.
Neuhauser, Mary C. (1934-). Papers, 1968-1999. 13.8 linear feet. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1987-1995, and of the Iowa Senate, 1995-1999, serving Johnson county. Major themes in the legislative materials, which include extensive subject files, are education, criminal justice, and economic development.
Nielsen, Joyce (1933-). 9 linear feet. Papers, 1951-1996. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1989-1993, serving Linn county. Legislative files include extensive copies of bills, lobbyist materials, and subject files on topics such as gender-neutral insurance, teen pregnancy, and the death penalty.
Orr, Joann (1923-2017). Papers, 1969-2017. 2.25 linear feet. Democratic member of the Iowa Senate, 1969-1971 and 1973-1981, serving Poweshiek, Iowa, and portions of Tama, Benton, Johnson, and Keokuk counties. The majority of the legislative papers deal with a 1980 bill to provide breakfast for low-income K-12 students and a bill to remove the sales tax from food and prescription drugs. The collection also includes campaign artifacts such as a “Re-Elect Joann Orr” emery board.
Shaw, Elizabeth. (1923-2014). Papers, 1958-1977. 12.5 linear feet. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1967-1973 and of the Iowa Senate, 1973-1979, serving Scott county. Collection consists of correspondence and subject files, with large sections of materials on taxation, school finance, consumer credit, and redistricting and reapportionment.
Shivvers, Vera (1897-1990). Papers, 1914-1990. 2.7 linear feet. Farm woman elected in January 1963 to complete the remainder of her husbands’ 1963-1965 Senate term after he passed away; served Marion and Monroe counties as a Republican. Collection includes many speeches and Shivvers' journals from the late 1980s.
Szymoniak, Elaine (1920-2009). Papers, 1974-2004. 4.6 linear feet. Democratic member of the Iowa State Senate, 1989-2001, serving Polk county. This collection’s constituent correspondence and well-organized topical files offer an extensive overview of political issues prominent in Iowa in the 1990s.
Tinsman, Maggie (1936-). Papers, 1971-2015. 32 linear feet. Republican member of the Iowa State Senate, 1989-2007, serving Scott County. The collection includes extensive legislative papers including documentation of Tinsmans’ work on welfare reform and the State Children Health Insurance Program (SCHIP).
Torrence Laughlin, Janis (1926-2014). Papers, 1976-1990. 7 linear inches. Republican member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1983-1985, serving Muscatine and Scott counties; this service is documented in the collection by campaign materials, clippings of columns Laughlin wrote to update constituents on legislative developments, and photographs.
Zastrow, Katherine Mull Falvey (1904-1997). Papers, 1927-1995. 1 linear foot. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1959-1964, serving Monroe county. The political scrapbooks contain clippings, correspondence, and photographs documenting Rep. Falvey’s legislative efforts, often with her handwritten annotations, such as her 1963 attempt to outlaw the death penalty in Iowa and her response to a sexist editorial about fellow woman legislator Percie van Alstine.
Zimmerman, Jo Ann (1936-2019). Papers, 1958-1995. 9 linear feet. Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1983-1987, serving Dallas county. Collection documents her legislative campaigns and includes many legislative files on issues related to health care.
Elected & Public Officials: Municipal, County & Statewide Officials
Anderson, Ruth Bluford (1921-2013). Papers, 1977-1997. 0.5 linear inches. Social worker and professor who served on the Black Hawk County Board of Supervisors, 1988-1992, the first Black woman elected to such a body in Iowa. This small collection consists mainly of Anderson’s speeches on women's issues; her 1985 autobiography is available in IWA’s collection of printed works.
Bridenstine, Jeanne (1923-2019). Papers, 1962-2014. 2 linear feet. Collection documents Bridenstine’s time as a member of the Jasper County Board of Supervisors, 1974-1978 and 1982-1990 and includes a daily journal of Board activities that Bridenstine kept in 1975-1976, in part to document and discourage the hostility she experienced from male colleagues.
Burleson, Jane (1928-). Papers, 1931-1998. 3.5 linear inches. First woman and first Black candidate to win election to the Fort Dodge City Council, serving 1983-2007 (the longest tenure of any member of that body); this small collection includes speeches, campaign materials, and photographs of Burleson with various Iowa politicians.
Campbell, Bonnie (1948-). Papers, 1992-1999. 5 linear inches. Oral history and clippings files in this collection briefly document Campbell’s successful campaign to become Iowa’s first woman Attorney General, serving 1990-1994.
Collison, Margaret Davis (1921-2014). Papers, 1937-1990. 3.5 linear feet. Collection documents Collison’s service on the Iowa Board of Regents, which oversees the major public postsecondary institutions in the state, including the University of Iowa, from 1971-1977.
Conlin, Roxanne Barton (1944-). Papers, 1969-1998. 45 linear feet. Prominent attorney who served as Iowa Assistant Attorney General overseeing the civil rights section, 1969-1976; collection contains approx. 1.25 linear feet of records and opinions related to employment, disability, and sex discrimination cases handled by Conlin, as well as subject files on topics such as air pollution, disability rights, and sexual assault.
Hammond, Johnie (1932-). Papers, 1970-2006. 5 linear feet. First woman elected to the Story County Board of Supervisors, 1974-1978, which is documented in this collection by a small amount of newspaper clippings; better-represented is Hammond’s service in the Iowa legislature, 1983-2003.
Harvat, Emma (1870-1949). Papers, 1920-1949, 2000-2001. 2 linear inches. The first woman elected mayor of Iowa City, serving from 1922 to 1925. This small collection primarily consists of articles written about Harvat; later material documents a successful effort to rename the city council chambers after her and create a municipal Emma Harvat Day.
Landhuis, Kim (1943-). Papers, 1943-2004. 2.5 linear inches. Collection briefly documents Landhuis’ service on the Fort Dodge school board, 1990-1993.
Levin, Myrtilla (1938-). Papers, 1971-2010. 7.5 linear inches. This small collection documents Levin’s time as mayor of Newton, 1973-1975, as well as her chairpersonship of the Jasper County Republican Party, 1972-1973.
Lewis, Thelma (1904-1988). Papers, 1947-1967. 4 linear inches. Iowa City mayor, 1961, and city council member, 1958-1963. Collection also includes Lewis’ writings on a trip to Moscow she took as a State Department aide in 1947.
McCollum, Margaret (1916-2006). Papers, 1942-2008. 4.5 linear feet. Collection briefly documents McCollum’s successful campaign for a seat on the Des Moines City Council in 1973, which she resigned after eight months citing the need to spend more time with family.
Neuhauser, Mary C. (1934-). Papers, 1968-1999. 13.8 linear feet. Neuhauser served as an Iowa City Council member, 1974-1983, and mayor, 1976-1977 and 1982-1983, as well as her service in the Iowa legislature, 1987-1999. Her city council campaigns are particularly well-represented in this collection.
Novick, Naomi (1932-). Papers, 1922-2016. 3.75 linear feet. City councilor for Iowa City, 1990-1997, and mayor, 1996-1997. The collection includes correspondence on the shooting of Eric Shaw by an Iowa City police officer and the subsequent formation of a Police Citizens Review Board.
Odell, Mary Jane (1923-2010). Papers, 1939-1987. 2 linear feet. Prominent television and radio presenter appointed in 1980 to fill a vacant Iowa Secretary of State position and elected to a full term, 1983-1987. Collection reflects several political controversies of the time, including the Supreme Court nomination of Robert Bork (for which Odell was asked to submit testimony in opposition), the question of Harold Hughes’ eligibility to run for governor in 1982, and a dispute over office space in the Capitol building.
Shipton, Janet (1923-). Papers, 1936-1991. 3.5 linear feet. Collection includes campaign materials and minutes documenting Shipton’s service on the Johnson County Supervisors, 1978-1980.
Szymoniak, Elaine (1920-2009). Papers, 1974-2004. 4.6 linear feet. Collection documents Szymoniak’s political career as a Des Moines City Council member, 1977-1988, including constituent correspondence, topical files, and speeches.
Tinsman, Maggie (1936-). Papers, 1971-2015. 32 linear feet. This collection includes minutes, correspondence, reports, and topical files from Tinsmans’ time on the Scott County Board of Supervisors, 1978-1989.
Torrence Laughlin, Janis (1926-2014). Papers, 1976-1990. 7 linear inches. Collection contains a scrapbook documenting Laughlin’s term as Muscatine County Supervisor, 1976-1982.
Zastrow, Katherine Mull Falvey (1904-1997). Papers, 1927-1995. 1 linear foot. First woman elected to Charles City Council, 1970. The collection includes political scrapbooks and diaries covering Zastrow’s years in office.
Zimmerman, Jo Ann (1936-2019). Papers, 1958-1995. 9 linear feet. Zimmerman, a former Democratic member of the Iowa House serving Dallas county, was elected Iowa’s first woman Lieutenant Governor in 1986, winning the seat over another former woman legislator, Joan Lipsky, and serving alongside a Republican governor, Terry Branstad, until 1991. The collection documents this service in speeches, clippings, correspondence, and subject files.
Elected & Public Officials: Political Offices Outside Iowa
Hamilton, Ruth (1989-2008). Papers, 1895-2008. 6 linear feet. Hamilton was born and raised in Iowa and attended college in Cedar Rapids before later serving two terms in the New Hampshire legislature, 1964-1973. Collection contains approx. 7.5 linear inches documenting her legislative career.
Lillibridge, Marjorie (1928-2008). Papers, 1944-1983. 3 linear inches. Federal employee who worked variously for the FBI, the State Department, and the United States Agency for International Development (later USAID) from 1953 to 1961 and as an assistant personnel director for Glacier National Park from 1971-1983.
McCormick, Dale (1947-). Papers, 1958-1997. 4.5 linear feet. Carpenter and politician who grew up in Iowa and helped to shape the lesbian and feminist culture of Iowa City. After moving to Maine in the early 1980s, McCormick served in the Maine Senate as the Democratic representative for parts of Kennebec and Sagadahoc counties (1990-1996) and as the state treasurer (1997-2005); the collection includes some campaign materials, correspondence from her time in office, and notes on health care issues.
Elected & Public Officials: Candidates for Public Office
Campbell, Bonnie (1948-). Papers, 1992-1999. 5 linear inches. Small collection contains a 2012 oral history and clippings file which briefly document Campbell’s unsuccessful candidacy for Iowa governor in 1994.
Conlin, Roxanne Barton (1944-). Papers, 1969-1998. 45 linear feet. Iowa Assistant Attorney General and federal prosecutor whose collection also contains extensive documentation of her 1982 campaign for governor, including issues files, correspondence, and financial records.
Fleming, Merle (1926-2006). Papers, 1947-2005. 28 linear feet. Affirmative action consultant and former Iowa Assistant Attorney General; the subject files series documents her unsuccessful run to represent District 68 (in Polk county) as a Democrat in the Iowa House of Representatives in 1992.
Gammack, Katy (1941-). Papers, 1976-2007. 2 linear feet. Planned Parenthood lobbyist and Money and Politics in Iowa co-founder; collection documents her unsuccessful run for the Iowa House of Representatives in 1978 as the Democratic candidate for a Polk county seat.
Goldman, Louise (1924-1998). Papers, 1933-1997. 1 linear foot. Activist and poet whose collection briefly documents her unsuccessful candidacies for the Iowa House of Representatives (running as a Republican in District 79 in Scott county) and the Davenport School Board.
Hansen, Kathryn. Papers, 1959-2012. 5 linear feet. Collection contains approx. 3 linear inches of material on Hansen’s unsuccessful run as a Democratic candidate for county supervisor, including campaign artifacts and a spreadsheet of precinct results.
Landhuis, Kim (1943-). Papers, 1943-2004. 2.5 linear inches. Collection briefly documents Landhuis’ 1994 candidacy for Iowa senate seat in District 7, then serving Webster, Calhoun, Boone and Hamilton counties.
Larsen, Sonja (1941-). Papers, 1977-1982. 1 linear foot. One-term Republican representative of Wapello and Monroe counties in the Iowa House; collection also documents her unsuccessful run for mayor of Ottumwa in 1981.
Lloyd-Jones, Jean. (1929-). Papers, 1964-2014. 12.5 linear feet. Longtime Democratic state legislator for Johnson county; collection also documents her unsuccessful run against Chuck Grassley for the US Senate in 1992.
McBurney, Connie (1940-). Papers, 1996-2002. 2 linear inches. Longtime reporter for KCCI in Des Moines. This small collection documents McBurney’s unsuccessful run for the United States House of Representatives in 1996 as the Democratic candidate in Iowa’s fourth congressional district.
Neuhauser, Mary C. (1934-). Papers, 1968-1999. 13.8 linear feet. Iowa City mayor, city councilmember, and state legislator; collection also documents her unsuccessful run for Johnson county Board of Supervisors in 1984.
O’Brien, Denise (1949-). Papers, 1964-1997. 4.3 linear feet. Organic farmer and political activist; collection documents her unsuccessful runs for Atlantic school board, 1996, and Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, 2006.
Rundquist, Maria (1951-). Papers, 1959-2016. 7.5 linear inches. Rundquist has run for several offices in the Sioux City area, including city council in 1994, 1995, 2013, and 2017, school board in 2004, and mayor in 2019; collection includes an oral history and memoir by Rundquist and documents her 1995 city council and 2004 school board campaigns.
Schulte, Joyce (1943-). Papers, 2004-2010. 1 linear inch. This small collection documents Schulte’s unsuccessful runs for the United States House of Representatives in 2004 and 2006 as the Democratic challenger of incumbent Steve King in Iowa's fifth congressional district.
Spencer, Lonabelle Kaplan (1925-2011). Papers, 1931-2007. 29.75 linear feet. Legislative chair for the American Association of University Women whose collection reflects her varied environmental and feminist activism, as well as featuring a scrapbook of her 1976 campaign for Iowa Senate District 34 (southeast Des Moines and surrounding areas).
Szymoniak, Elaine (1920-2009). Papers, 1974-2004. 4.6 linear feet. Collection documents Szymoniak’s candidacies for the Des Moines mayoralty in 1979 and 1987; she also served as a state senator for Polk county, 1989-2001.
Werner, Marta (1906-1989). Papers, 1892-1989. 5 linear feet. Collection contains a small amount of material documenting community organizer Werner’s unsuccessful 1973 campaign for mayor of Fort Madison.
Elected & Public Officials: Political Staff
Collison, Margaret Davis (1921-2014). Papers, 1937-1990. 3.5 linear feet. Collection documents Collison’s service as coordinator of polling volunteers for Roxanne Conlin’s 1982 gubernatorial campaign.
McDonald, Margaret (1925-2014). Papers, 1964-2004. 2 linear feet. Longtime Republican activist who managed Wiley Mayne’s successful 1966 campaign for his first term in the US House of Representatives, documented in this collection by a scrapbook and resumes, as well as several files on her work for the Ford, George H.W. Bush, and Dole presidential campaigns.
Meade, Magdalen (1913-2005). Papers, 1891-1992. 7 linear inches. Henry County Democratic Party chairperson who worked on Roxanne Conlin’s 1982 gubernatorial campaign.
Welch & Angrick. Collection, 1880-1995. 3.75 linear feet. This artificial collection of scrapbooks and albums created by various Iowa organizations includes 1 recipe book compiled by the secretaries of members of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1981-1988.
Elected & Public Officials: Oral Histories Featuring Public Officials
Black Des Moines: Voices Seldom Heard. A series of the Verda Williams papers. Oral history recordings and transcripts, 1985-1986. Approx. 2 linear inches. Contains an interview about memories of Des Moines with Black women legislator Willie Glanton, Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1965-1967, serving Polk county.
Hard Won Not Done. Oral history recordings, accumulating; project began in 2020. Website featuring basic information on all 195 women elected to the Iowa legislature and short video interviews with 52 of them, as well as a digital exhibit on the women’s movement and commemorative videos about several women legislators who have passed away.
Iowa Labor History Oral Project. Oral history collection of Iowa workers and labor organizers; features an interview with Doris A. Peick, union organizer and Democratic member of the Iowa House, 1982-1987, serving Linn county. The collection also includes several Iowa women who campaigned for public office, including Sheri Carnahan, the 2010 Democratic candidate for Iowa House District 84 (Scott county), though her interviews do not specifically address that campaign.
A Political Dialogue: Iowa’s Women Legislators. Oral history transcripts, 1988-1993. 1.5 linear feet. Interviews with 47 women who served in the Iowa General Assembly, as well as four sets of interviews with loved ones of deceased women legislators.
Voices From the Land: An Iowa Oral History Project. Oral history recordings and transcripts, 2000-2001. 18 linear inches. Interviews collected as part of the Iowa Women’s Archives’ Rural Women Project with rural women activists and organizers. Contains an interview and some papers of Jane Svoboda, Democratic member of the Iowa House of Representatives, 1987-1993, serving Tama, Marshall, and Black Hawk counties.
Women at Iowa. In the Herstory Committee series of the University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women records. Oral history recordings, 2008-2010. Approx. 8 linear inches. Contains interviews with prominent women affiliated with the University of Iowa, including political officials such as state legislators Joan Lipsky and Mary Mascher, county recorder Kim Painter, and city councilor Karen Kubby. The full interviews can be accessed via the Iowa Digital Library.
From the Betty Jean Clark papers
Betty Jean "Beje" Clark campaign placard, ca. 1982.
From the Lenabelle Bock papers
Ames Tribune interview with four women legislators, 1962.
From the Beverly Hannon papers
Campaign photo for Beverly Hannon, with Tim and Mike Ahrendson and kitten Rosalie, ca. 1988.
From the Jean Lloyd-Jones papers
Jean Lloyd-Jones campaign billboard, 1978.
From the Gladys Nelson papers
Badge for supporters of a bill legalizing yellow-dyed margarine in Iowa, 1953.
From the Joann Orr papers
Joann Orr in costume as Betsy Ross on the floor of the Iowa legislature, 1973.
From the Janis Torrence Laughlin papers
Janis Torrence meeting with constituents, ca. 1985.
From the Jane Burleson papers
Jane Burleson with Tom Harking during her campaign for Fort Dodge City Council, 1982.
From the Margaret Collison papers
Margaret Collison of the Iowa Board of Regents visits students at the School for the Deaf, 1971.
From the Myrtilla Levin papers
Campaign ad for Newton mayor Myrtilla Levin, 1975.
From the Elaine Szymoniak papers
Letter from an elementary school student to Des Moines City Councilmember Elaine Szymoniak, ca. 1980s.
From the JoAnn Zimmerman papers
Jo Ann Zimmerman in Dubuque campaigning for Lieutenant Governor of Iowa, 1986.
From the Ruth Hamilton papers
Ruth Hamilton's annotated volume of bills before the New Hampshire legislature, 1965.
From the Beverly Hannon papers
Democratic gubernatorial candidate Roxanne Conlin with Beverly Hannon at a campaign hog roast in Cascade, Iowa, 1982.
From the Kim Landhuis papers
Kim Landhuis on parade in Gowrie, Iowa during her campaign for the Iowa Senate, 1994.
From the Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers
Homemade map used by the Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer campaign for Iowa Senate, 1976.
From the Margaret McDonald papers
Margaret McDonald, campaign manager for Wiley Mayne's run for Congress, on parade with supporters, 1966.
From the Hard Won, Not Done digital archive
Lindsay James encouraging other women to run for office in her Hard Won, Not Done oral history interview, 2020.
From the University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women records
Karen Kubby during her Women at Iowa oral history interview, 2010.