Work Off Campus

Start at Hardin’s website to access resources from off-campus, using your Iowa HawkID and password. If you are trying to access library resources off-campus from a secure location or behind a firewall, you may need to use the Cisco AnyConnect or GlobalProtect VPN clients. You may also need to use thes VPN clients from the VA Hospital.

Eduroam Secure Wireless

The eduroam wireless network is available throughout the UI campus, providing wireless access to library resources without signing in to those resources. Guest networks are also available, but require you to log in to the library’s resources.

Individual and Group Study/Work Spaces

Hardin has individual and small group studies, as well as study carrels and tables. The 24-hour study is available to any UI-affiliated user with your hospital badge or Iowa ID card. 

Your Department's Librarian

Contact your department’s liaison librarian, who can help you with all of your questions about the library and its resources. You can also contact trained reference staff to answer questions by phone 319-335-9151, email lib-hardin@uiowa.edu, or chat.

Assistance with Literature Searches and Systematic Reviews

The University of Iowa Libraries subscribe to over 150 health science databases, ranging from point-of-care to basic science research. The UI Libraries also subscribes to more than 1200 databases in all disciplines. Your liaison can help you choose the right databases, the right headings, and the right strategy. The National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine) recommends working with a librarian or other information specialist to plan out your search strategy and to peer-review the final strategy used.

Hardin Open Workshops

Hardin librarians offer workshops on topics like PubMed, EndNote, and avoiding predatory publishers. We can also bring any of our sessions to you individually or to your group. All workshops are currently being offered only through Zoom.

Board Review Materials

Hardin provides access to a number of examination preparation resources, including BoardVitals, which includes question banks, with feedback, for most specialty boards.

NEJM Resident 360

Prepare for your rotations,and provides support for coping with pressures of residency.

Evidence-Based Medicine Resources

Hardin subscribes to DynaMed, the Cochrane Library, JAMAevidence, BMJ Best Practice, and more. UpToDate is also available through a UI Health Care-based subscription. Many Hardin subscriptions provide access to related mobile apps at no charge to you. These include UpToDate, DynaMed, ClinicalKey, BMJ Best Practice, and more.

Journals

PubMed and other databases provide links to full-text articles in journals the UI Libraries subscribe to. You can also check the A-Z list of electronic journals – we may have other issues in print as well! And Browzine lets you make a personal list of journals to read at your computer or use the mobile app.

Free Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

If you need an article or book that the UI Libraries doesn’t have, we can get it for you, for free. And if you need an article that we only have in print, we will scan it for you. If you want a book that is checked out, request it. No limits on the number of requests!

EndNote Desktop and Other Citation Managers

EndNote is freely available for residents, and your liaison can work with you to tame your references.

Books and DVDs for Entertainment or Families

As the 19th largest research library in the US/Canada, the UI Libraries system has 40,000+ DVDs and millions of books in many languages including Chinese, Japanese, Russian, and Arabic as well as a large collection of children’s books. Search the catalog to find them. Materials can be sent to Hardin Library for pickup. You may request up to 15 items at one time and check out up to 1,000.

Specialized Guides to Resources

Find quick help for your specialty or department.

Printing

Black and white self printing is available for .03/side. Color printing is available for .15/side. Printing charges go to your staff account.

Statistical Analysis Software

R, R Studio, SPSS, SAS, Stata and Mathematica are available from Information Technology Services via Virtual Desktop. Not all programs available off campus.

Institutional Repository

The University of Iowa Libraries has an institutional repository where you can deposit unpublished works, open access works, open educational resources and presentations. Contact sarah-andrews@uiowa.edu for more information. Materials in our repository are indexed in Google Scholar.