Hardin Library Resources
Access Physiotherapy
Electronic Journals
Below is a list of electronic journals of interest. If you are searching for a specific topic, database searching is advised. There are also a small number of print journals which can be found by searching the catalog.
- Physical therapy JournalAmerican Physical Therapy Association
- Physical & Occupational Therapy in PediatricsInforma Healthcare
- Physical & Occupational Therapy in GeriatricsInforma Healthcare
- Journal of Neurologic Physical TherapyAmerican Physical Therapy Association. Neurology Section.
- Physical Therapy in SportAssociation of Chartered Physiotherapists in Sports Medicine
- Journal of Physical Therapy ScienceSociety of Physical Therapy Science
- Pediatric Physical TherapyAmerican Physical Therapy Association. Section on Pediatrics.
Electronic Books
All below E books are currently subscribed by UI Libraries. If a link is not working, please report to guide owner. Use blue information button to view content notes.
If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
Bobath Concept by
Authored by members of the British Bobath Tutors Association, Bobath Concept: Theory and Clinical Practice in Neurological Rehabilitationis a practical illustrated guide that offers a detailed exploration of the theoretical underpinning and clinical interventions of the Bobath Concept. The evolution of the Bobath concept is brilliantly captured in this volume. The recognition that the best inhibition may come from engaging the patient in normal activities is an example of the way one of the notions central to the original Bobath Concept has developed. In short, the Bobath Concept lies at the heart of an approach to neurorehabilitation that is ready to take advantage of the rapidly advancing understanding, coming from neuroscience, of brain function in, in particular, of the effects of and responses to damage, and the factors that may drive recovery. It is no coincidence that neuroplasticity figures so prominently in the pages that follow.? Emeritus Professor Raymond Tallis BM BCh BA FRCP FMedSci LittD DLitt FRSA This book guides the reader through general principles to more specific application of neurophysiological principles and movement re-education in the recovery of important areas, including moving between sitting and standing, locomotion and recovery of upper limb function. Bobath Concept: Theory and Clinical Practice in Neurological Rehabilitationwill be invaluable to undergraduate and qualified physiotherapists /occupational therapists and all professionals working in neurological rehabilitation. Covers the theoretical underpinning of the Bobath Concept. Presents a holistic, 24-hour approach to functional recovery. Focuses on efficient movement and motor learning, to maximise function. Forges links between theory and clinical practice. Illustrated throughout.
ISBN: 9781405170413Publication Date: 2009-07-20
Physical Therapy of Cerebral Palsy by
This book is a derivative of the author's well-regarded Cerebral Palsy and focuses on rehabilitation techniques. The book discusses the theory and techniques used by physical and occupational therapists, and also provides suggestions for implementing an Individual Education Plan. The book includes chapters on rehabilitation techniques. Tables and algorithms are included to help in the decision-making process for determining what treatment would be most beneficial.
ISBN: 9780387383057Publication Date: 2007-05-26
Physical Therapy of the Shoulder by
The leading reference on shoulder rehabilitation, Physical Therapy of the Shoulder, 5th Edition provides complete information on the functional anatomy of the shoulder, the mechanics of movement, and the evaluation and treatment of shoulder disorders. It promotes current, evidence-based practice with coverage of the latest rehabilitation and surgical techniques. Case studies show the clinical application of key principles, and follow the practice patterns from the APTA Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, 2nd Edition, relating to shoulder disorders. Edited by Robert Donatelli, a well-known lecturer and consultant for professional athletes, this book includes a companion website with video clips demonstrating shoulder therapy techniques and procedures.State-of-the-art coverage details the latest rehabilitation and surgical techniques and procedures of shoulder disorders.The integration of practice patterns from the APTA Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, 2nd Edition, demonstrates APTA guidelines for managing shoulder disorders.Case studies in each clinical chapter show the management of real-life situations.Video clips on the companion website demonstrate examination techniques, function tests, treatment techniques, and exercises. Updated neurology and surgery sections provide the most current, evidence-based practice parameters.New case studies are added to show the clinical application of therapy principles.Video clips on the companion Evolve website demonstrate additional techniques, exercises, and tests.
ISBN: 9781437715316Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Physical Therapy: Theory, Practices, and Benefits by
Physical therapy is a health profession that assesses and provides treatment to individuals to develop, maintain and restore maximum movement and function throughout life. This includes providing treatment in circumstances where movement and function are threatened by ageing, injury, disease or environmental factors. This important book presents current research in the study of physical therapy including: therapies and motor function assessments in chronic pain syndromes; fibromyalgia syndrome; breathing pattern disorders in physical therapy; home-based shoulder rehabilitation; isokinetic strengthening in multiple sclerosis patients; and traditional mirror therapy (TMT) in the physical therapy management of movement and postural control problems.
ISBN: 9781611224184Publication Date: 2011-01-01
PNF in Practice by
The PNF approach, presented in a fully illustrated hands-on guide, including 650 photos Focus on practical aspects of patient evaluation and treatment ICF and Motor Learning and how these concepts are applied in PNF Provides a systematic and easily accessible guide to learning and understanding PNF as a practical tool and using it to full effect in patient treatment New for this edition: new fully-color textbook design for more user-friendly learning experience; fully revised introductory chapter on the PNF basics, now including discussion and demonstration of ICF and Motor Learning aspects in detailed case study; throughout chapters, new additional case studies that help visualize the application of PNF techniques in promoting the patients' everyday-life motor skills on activity and participation levels.
ISBN: 9783642349881Publication Date: 2013-10-27
Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity by
With the combined expertise of leading hand surgeons and therapists, Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity, 6th Edition, by Drs. Skirven, Osterman, Fedorczyk and Amadio, helps you apply the best practices in the rehabilitation of hand, wrist, elbow, arm and shoulder problems, so you can help your patients achieve the highest level of function possible. This popular, unparalleled text has been updated with 30 new chapters that include the latest information on arthroscopy, imaging, vascular disorders, tendon transfers, fingertip injuries, mobilization techniques, traumatic brachial plexus injuries, and pain management. An expanded editorial team and an even more geographically diverse set of contributors provide you with a fresh, authoritative, and truly global perspective while new full-color images and photos provide unmatched visual guidance. Access the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com along with streaming video of surgical and rehabilitation techniques, links to Pub Med, and more. Provide the best patient care and optimal outcomes with trusted guidance from this multidisciplinary, comprehensive resource covering the entire upper extremity, now with increased coverage of wrist and elbow problems. Apply the latest treatments, rehabilitation protocols, and expertise of leading surgeons and therapists to help your patients regain maximum movement after traumatic injuries or to improve limited functionality caused by chronic or acquired conditions. Effectively implement the newest techniques detailed in new and updated chapters on a variety of sports-specific and other acquired injuries, and chronic disorders. Keep up with the latest advances in arthroscopy, imaging, vascular disorders, tendon transfers, fingertip injuries, mobilization techniques, traumatic brachial plexus injuries, and pain management See conditions and treatments as they appear in practice thanks to detailed, full-color design, illustrations, and photographs. Access the full contents online with streaming video of surgical and rehabilitation techniques, downloadable patient handouts, links to Pub Med, and regular updates at www.expertconsult.com. Get a fresh perspective from seven new section editors, as well as an even more geographically diverse set of contributors. The 6th Edition of this classic text combines the expertise of hand surgeons and hand therapists to detail the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of hand and upper extremity disorders. This comprehensive resource covers the entire upper extremity, with increased coverage of wrist, elbow and shoulder problems.
ISBN: 9780323056021Publication Date: 2011-02-16
Spasticity and Its Management with Physical Therapy Applications by
This is a clinically oriented book, particularly for physical therapists, students and other health professionals. The book focuses on the use of physical therapy applications for the management of spasticity, a symptom which leads to complex outcomes in multiple sclerosis patients through interaction with other symptoms of the disease. Application principles of physiotherapy methods in the management of spasticity are surveyed in terms of holistic treatment principles. Apprehension of neuro-physiological and bio-mechanical effect mechanisms of physical therapy applications are emphasised in particular. Spasticity is a common problem among patients with multiple sclerosis, thereby the physical therapist has the role of clinical problem solver. Theoretical knowledge and the exemplifying case analysis provided in the book targets at improving the problem solving knowledge and ability of the reader.
ISBN: 9781608761845Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The ACL Handbook by
The new age of biologic treatment of the ACL is coming. In The ACL Handbook: Knee Biology, Mechanics, and Treatment, the authors cover the past and current state of ACL injuries and treatment, and then introduce and explain the key concepts for understanding the new biologic approach to ACL treatment. The use of factors to enhance graft healing are reviewed, as well as an in-depth review of the science of platelet-rich plasma and its cellular components (platelets, white cells, and plasma). Chapters on in vitro models for science as well as the advantages and disadvantages of animal models for ACL research are included, as are chapters on the new technique of bio-enhanced ACL repair. All are discussed in easily readable text aimed at anyone with an interest of what is coming next in ACL surgery.
ISBN: 9781461407607Publication Date: 2013-05-14
Physiotherapy Pocketbooks by
This book is for therapists involved in exercise therapy for the prevention and treatment of disease. It covers exercise assessment, current prescription guidelines, precautions, exercise design and clinical case studies. The book also includes exercises to increase strength, power, local muscle endurance, range of movement and aerobic capacity and will be relevant to all areas of therapy practice. In addition to the general guidelines, considerations for exercise groups and exercise at home as well as exercise in special patient populations are addressed. This allows therapists who are expert in one area to become familiar with exercise prescription in another. The book underpins therapeutic exercise in general and also addresses specific considerations for particular clinical situations within current guidelines and practical considerations.Underpinning exercise physiologyPhysical principles of exercise designGuidelines for exercise trainingClinical exercise prescriptionLimitations to exercise in common conditionsExample case studies
ISBN: 9780702039294Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilit by
Comprehensive Coverage of Therapeutic Modalities Used in a Clinical Setting A Doody's Core Title for 2011 Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation is a theoretically based but practically oriented guide to the use of therapeutic modalities for practicing clinicians and their students. It clearly presents the basis for use of each different type of modality and allows clinicians to make their own decision as to which will be the most effective in a given situation. Presented in full color, the text describes various concepts, principles, and theories that are supported by scientific research, factual evidence, and experience of the authors in dealing with various conditions. The chapters in this text are divided into six parts: Part I--Foundations of Therapeutic Modalities begins with a chapter that discusses the scientific basis for using therapeutic modalities and classifies the modalities according to the type of energy each uses.. Guidelines for selecting the most appropriate modalities for use in different phases of the healing process are presented. Part II--Electrical Energy Modalities includes detailed discussions of the principles of electricity, and electrical stimulating currents, iontophoresis, and biofeedback. Part III--Thermal Energy Modalities discusses those modalities which produce a change in tissue temperatures through conduction including thermotherapy and cryotherapy. Part IV-Sound Energy Modalities discusses those modalities that utilize acoustic energy to produce a therapeutic effect. These include therapeutic ultrasound and a lesser known modality-extracorporal shockwave therapy. Part V--Electromagnetic Energy Modalities includes chapters on both the diathermies and low-level laser therapy. Part VI--Mechanical Energy Modalities includes chapters on traction, intermittent compression and therapeutic massage. Each chapter ins Parts II-IV discuss: the physiologic basis for use, clinical applications, specific techniques of application through the use of related laboratory activities, and relevant individual case studies for each therapeutic modality.
ISBN: 9780071739306Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Print Books
Hardin Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize materials. In general, Physical Therapy titles are located on the 4th floor of the library. The following sections are where the majority of PT titles can be found: RM 700 and RM 705. There are also many titles in the oversized FOLIO RM 700 section, which is located on the 1st floor.
Below are selected recent books in print available at the Hardin Library. Select title to view availability and location in the collection. Search the catalog if you are searching for a specific topic or title.
Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy by
Providing a solid foundation in cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology and rehabilitation, Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy: Evidence and Practice, 5th Edition uses the latest scientific literature and research in covering anatomy and physiology, assessment, and interventions. A holistic approach addresses the full spectrum of cardiovascular and pulmonary physical therapy from acute to chronic conditions, starting with care of the stable patient and progressing to management of the more complex, unstable patient. Both primary and secondary cardiovascular and pulmonary disorders are covered. In this edition, updates include new, full-color clinical photographs and the most current coverage of techniques and trends in cardiopulmonary physical therapy. Edited by Donna Frownfelter and Elizabeth Dean, recognized leaders in cardiovascular and pulmonary rehabilitation, this resource is ideal for clinicals and for practice. Evidence-based practice is demonstrated with case studies, and the latest research supports PT decision-making. Real-life clinical cases show the application of concepts to evidence-based practice. Holistic approach supports treating the whole person rather than just the symptoms of a disease or disorder, covering medical, physiological, psychological, psychosocial, therapeutic, practical, and methodological aspects. Coverage includes both primary and secondary cardiovascular and pulmonary conditions. An integrated approach to oxygen transport demonstrates how the cardiovascular and pulmonary systems function together. Emphasis on the terminology and guidelines of APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice keeps the book consistent with the standards for practice in physical therapy. Key terms and review questions in each chapter focus your learning on important concepts. The Evolve companion website includes additional resources such as a case study guide, Archie animations, color images, video clips, WebLinks, and references with links to MEDLINE abstracts. Full-color photos and illustrations enhance your understanding of the book's concepts. Two new Mobilization and Exercise chapters cover physiologic principles along with application to practice. Information on airway clearance techniques is revised and condensed into one comprehensive chapter. New reference style makes it easier to find resources by replacing the old author-date references with numbered superscripts linked to MEDLINE abstracts.
ISBN: 9780323059138Publication Date: 2012-03-29
Motor Control by
Motor Control, 5th Edition remains the only book available that bridges the gap between current and emerging motor control research and its application to clinical practice. Written by leading experts in the field, this now classic resource prepares readers to effectively examine and treat patients with problems related to postural control, mobility, and upper extremity function using today,,s evidence-based best practices. To make information easier to understand and follow, chapters follow a standard format: normal control process issues, age-related issues, research on abnormal function, and clinical applications of current research, including methods for examining and treating patients with motor dyscontol in each area. Featuring new pedagogy, new videos, and separate lifespan chapters on development of mobility and aging and mobility, the Fifth Edition reflects the current explosion of research in the field of motor control. NEW to this edition: - Extended Knowledge boxes present material for more advanced students and practitioners. - Additional case study videos include a child with CP, a longitudinal case study on an adult with acute stroke, and normal functioning in an 8-year-old child and 70-year-old adult. - The chapter on life span perspective of mobility has been broken into two: one on development of mobility and the other on aging and mobility.
ISBN: 9781496302632Publication Date: 2016-03-15
Primary Care for the Physical Therapist by
Specifically designed to address the expanding role of physical therapists in primary care, the second edition of Primary Care for the Physical Therapist: Examination and Triage provides the information you need to become an effective primary care provider. Acquire the communication and differential diagnosis skills, technical expertise, and clinical decision-making ability to meet the challenges of a changing profession with this unparalleled resource. Emphasizes communication skills vital for establishing rapport and gathering data. Patient interview guides identify what data to collect and how to use it. Overview of the physical examination lays the foundation for different diagnosis and recognition of conditions. A section on Special Populations equips the PT to handle common problems encountered in primary care. Unique approach details pharmacology and diagnostic procedures from a PT perspective for clinically relevant guidance. New information enhances your understanding of the foundations of practice and how to screen and examine the healthy population. Content is reorganized and updated to reflect the current state of PT practice. Companion Evolve resources website enables you to independently review techniques from the text. Top 10 Medical Conditions to Screen For chapter details conditions that have major significance in incidence, mortality, and morbidity all in one place. Separate chapters on upper and lower quarter screening and a new chapter on symptom investigation by symptom help you screen medical conditions more effectively.
ISBN: 9781416061052Publication Date: 2010-08-03
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice by
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice, Third Edition provides readers with the information and tools needed to appreciate the philosophy, history, and value of evidence-based practice, understand what constitutes evidence, search efficiently for applicable evidence in the literature, evaluate the findings in the literature, and integrate the evidence with clinical judgment and individual patient preferences and values. This unique handbook marries the best elements of multiple texts into a single accessible guide.Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice, Third Edition is updated and revised, including a vibrant 2-color engaging layout, improved organization, additional statistics coverage, and expanded resources for instructors and students. Its reader-friendly style facilitates learning and presents the knowledge and skills essential for physical therapist students to develop a foundation in research methods and methodologies related to evidence-based medicine. Students will learn how evaluate research designs, appraise evidence, and apply research in clinical practice. This is a comprehensive resource no physical therapist or student should be without.NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION* Features a new two-color design* Includes updated research examples* Presents statistics coverage in two chapters with more manageable content to review Description and Inference * Contains expanded content related to qualitative research designs* Provides qualitative research examples to illustrate the contribution of these designs to a physical therapist's ability to discern and understand individual patient/client applications* Explores examples of circumstances where biases and limitations have resulted in errors * Offers new instructor and student resourcesINSTRUCTOR RESOURCES* Sample Syllabus* PowerPoint Presentations for each chapter* New Test Bank with 150 questions* Revised Sample Evidence Appraisal Worksheets* Answers to end of chapter questions* Helpful Resource List with additional referencesSTUDENT RESOURCES: Navigate Companion Website, including: Crossword Puzzles, Flashcards, Interactive Glossary, Practice Quizzes, Web Links, Screenshots of electronic databases
ISBN: 9781284028553Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Pathology by
Understand how a patient''s conditions might affect physical therapy and outcomes so that you can design safe and effective interventions. The only pathology textbook written specifically for physical therapists, Pathology: Implications for the Physical Therapist, Third Edition, offers guidelines, precautions, and contraindications for interventions with patients who have musculoskeletal or neuromuscular problems as well as other conditions such as diabetes, heart disease, or pancreatitis. Learn about the cause of these conditions, the pathogenesis, medical diagnosis and treatment, and most importantly, the special implications for the therapist. In addition to addressing specific diseases and conditions, this text emphasizes health promotion and disease prevention strategies and covers issues with implications for physical therapy management, such as injury, inflammation, and healing; the lymphatic system; and biopsychosocial-spiritual impacts on health care. With this practical and evidence-based text, now enhanced with full-color illustrations and the latest research, you''ll know what to factor into your clinical decisions to achieve the best outcomes for your patients. Incorporates the Medical Model, the Disablement Model, and the ICF Model Incorporates Preferred Practice Patterns from the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, Second Edition throughout the text Presents key information in at-a-glance format that is organized by body system for easy reference Provides the basic science information and the clinical implications of disease within the rehabilitation process, covering common illnesses and diseases, adverse effects of drugs, organ transplantation, laboratory values, and much more Focuses on health promotion and disease prevention throughout "Special Implications for the Therapist" sections present the most likely practice patterns associated with each disease or disorder and address precautions, contraindications, and considerations specific to PTs. Current information on conditions, medical testing and treatment, and practice models keeps you up-to-date on the latest research findings and recent changes in the field. Companion Evolve site provides easy access to articles referenced in the text with links to Medline. Tables and text boxes throughout the text summarize important information and highlight key points. Full color interior design, photos, and illustrations Chapter on Behavioral, Social, and Environmental Factors Contributing to Disease and Dysfunction includes clinical models of health, variations in client populations, and lifestyle factors that are important to consider when treating a patient. "A Therapist''s Thoughts" offers personal and clinical insights from experienced therapists specializing in cystic fibrosis, lymphedema, and psychological problems. Now covers the World Health Organization''s International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF), a model that includes the level of participation in desired activities as a criterion for establishing status and goals UPDATED! Evidence-based content with over 6,000 references EXPANDED chapter on the lymphatic system features additional sections on lymphatic diseases plus exercise guidelines, education, and a home program for patients with a compromised lymphatic system. UPDATED chapter on lab values features new information on potassium levels and exercise, albumin levels related to nutrition and wound healing, and coagulation studies in relation to exercise. EXPANDED chapter on Psychosocial-Spiritual Impact on Health Care offers new information on fear avoidance behaviors, substance abuse, malingering, personality disorders, abuse, eating disorders, and the impact of nonphysical trauma to health and disease as well as combat trauma, torture, and the effects of war. Appendix B: Guidelines for Activity and Exercise includes updated information on aquatic physical therapy from leaders in the field, emphasizing precautions and contraindications for this modality.
ISBN: 9781416031185Publication Date: 2008-10-29
The Clinical Practice of Pediatric Physical Therapy by
This comprehensive text explains the physical therapist's role across the full range of practice settings, including neonatal intensive care units, rehabilitation programs, early intervention programs, the educational system, pediatric hospices, and intermediate care facilities. This text and reference prepares readers for the demands and challenges faced as the practitioner of choice for children with disabilities. Features include Case Studies and Parent Perspectives. Chapter appendices offer examples of data collection tools and methods, evaluations, and documents used in patient/client management. Sample evaluations show how this information is used in clinical settings.
ISBN: 9780781790635Publication Date: 2007-11-12
Qualitative Research for Occupational and Physical Therapists by
Qualitative Research for Occupational and Physical Therapists is a practical guide for students and professionals in rehabilitation intended to encourage their active engagement with this major approach to research design and implementation. Carpenter and Suto address the specific needs of the therapy professions by examining the unique challenges of conducting qualitative research in community and institutional rehabilitation settings. Whilst grounded in contemporary literature, the book puts theory into action with examples of research and a demonstration of how such studies have directly influenced rehabilitation practice. The book covers the entire research process from the initial preparation through to implementing, interpreting, disseminating, and ensuring the quality of qualitative research.
ISBN: 9781405144353Publication Date: 2008-02-04
Matt Regan
Get More Help
Have a general library question?
Contact the Hardin Library reference desk
Phone: 319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu