Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Research Tools: Home

About this Guide

It can be hard to remember which tools to use for which task, so the main goal of this site is to help with that. This guide introduces a toolkit of resources for research in music, including encyclopedia and other background information sources, article databases, online and print book resources, online and print score resources, and more.

If you have questions about content on this guide or need help with your music research, please contact your friendly UIowa music librarian, Katie Buehner. She's available to answer questions in consultations (via Zoom or in person) or via email

Catalogs

InfoHawk+

UI Libraries Search
Books and scores, both online and in print, recordings

WorldCat

worldcat logo

Online Catalog
Library holdings from around the world in a wide variety of formats

OA Ebooks

Google Books 

google books icon

Online Books
Over 10 millions digitized books from libraries across the United States

HathiTrust 

 
hathitrust logo

Online Books
Over 17 million digitized books from libraries across the United States

Encyclopedias

Grove Music 

spotlight icon

Online Encyclopedia
Read articles about composers, styles, genres, etc.

Bloomsbury
Popular Music

bloomsbury logo

Online books and encyclopedias
Popular music books, including the 33 1/3 series

Journal Archives

JSTOR

 
jstor logo

Journal Archive
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and some books

Project Muse 

project music logo

Journal Archive
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and some books

Online Scores

IMSLP

 
imslp logo

Digital Scores
Public domain online scores and recordings

BabelScores

babelscores logo

Digital Scores
International collection of music, largely by living composers.

Score Index

RISM 

rism logo

Score Index
Entries with incipits for manuscripts and early editions

Rare and Archival

UI Special Collections & Archives

Three Rare Book collections and two core archives
Items available to view per request using Aeon

Articles

RILM

Database
International scholarly publications in music in many formats

Music Periodicals

proquest logo

Database
International scholarly and magazine articles with some full-text

Music Index

ebsco logo

Database
Scholarly and magazine article index, some linked full-text

RIPM 

 
ripm logo

Journal archive
& index

Index of 19th and early 20th century music literature, some full-text

Google Scholar 

google scholar logo

Database
Article search and index with some linked full-text