Environmental History: Home
About this Guide
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Envionmental Issues Online
Shrinking of the Aral Sea
from Environmental Issues Online
-
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new windowThis databases brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
Getting Started: Books
-
-
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History, 4-Volume Set
by
ISBN: 9780816067930Publication Date: 2010-12-30 -
-
-
-
The Vortex: An Environmental History of the Modern World
by
ISBN: 9780822989806Publication Date: 2024-04-18
Janalyn Moss
Getting Started: Journals
Stay current with the New York Times
The UI Libraries provides free access to the New York Times to UI faculty, staff and students. Set up your account to view the NYT website.
- Register at http://AccessNYT.com
- Then use https://www.nytimes.com/ for access afterwards. (You must register annually to keep access.)
After registration you will be able to login on any device. Access news articles from 1980 to the present. For access to pre-1980 content, use the New York Times Proquest Historical Newspapers database. It is a searchable, full-text databases that provides PDFs of articles and issues of the NYT, 1851-2019.