Environmental History: HIST:3539:0001 Environmental (In)justice in Latin America
Getting Started
-
Environmental Justice, Environmentalism, and Environmental History in Twentieth-Century Latin AmericaEnvironmental histories of Latin America have reached a critical mass. The breadth, depth, and sophistication of this new literature merit comparisons to less conventionally environmental topics, such as labor and politics, and new strands of environmental research, such as environmental justice.
Latin American Resources
-
Environmental Governance in Latin America
by
Call Number: UI Law Library Stacks GE190.L29 E66 2015 (ebook also available)Publication Date: 2016 -
Environmental Issues in Latin America and the Caribbean
by
Publication Date: 2005 -
Environmental Justice, Urbanization and Resilience in the Global South
by
Publication Date: 2017 -
Environmental Justice in Latin America: problems, promise, and practice
by
Publication Date: 2008 -
Water Security, Justice and the Politics of Water Rights in Peru and Bolivia
by
Publication Date: 2016 -
Environmental Crime in Latin America: The Theft of Nature and the Poisoning of the Land
by
Publication Date: 2017
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; As a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
-
Dialnet This link opens in a new windowProvides access to tables of contents of more than 3,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences published in Spain and Latin America. Provides access to the full text of some Spanish doctoral dissertations as well as the full text of working papers from some research centers in Spain and Latin America. Content is primarily in Spanish.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly evaluations of books and book chapters as well as conference papers and articles published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. Covers social sciences and the humanities in alternate years.
-
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowHAPI contains citations to articles published since 1970 in more than 500 scholarly journals treating Latin American or U.S. Hispanic topics. Coverage includes Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, German and Italian language articles.
-
Oxford Bibliographies. Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowLatin American studies includes a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science. Area studies in general have proliferated in the latter half of the twentieth century and Latin American studies in particular has been propelled forward as a distinct field of study by major international changes, such as the end of the Cold War
-
RedALyC This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text collections of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. These journals are from a variety of fields in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Content is primarily in Spanish and Portuguese.
-
SciELO This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text collections of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. These journals are from a variety of fields in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Content is primarily in Spanish and Portuguese.
-
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
-
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new windowContains 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876.
-
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowWorld Newspaper Archive is a fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
-
Bibllioteca Digital del Patrimonio IberoamericanoFree access to the Ibero-American digital cultural heritage resources, including documents, books, maps, pictures, newspapers and music.
-
Brazilian and Portuguese history and culture. The Oliveira Lima Library. This link opens in a new windowThis is a digitized collection of about 4000 pamphlets (herein considered titles that are 50 pages or less) held at the Oliveira Lima Library at the Catholic University of America, published chiefly in the 19th and early 20th centuries. The pamphlets cover Brazilian and Portuguese history, politics, literature, and other important subject areas in the form of speeches, flyers, official decrees, sermons, poems, plays, concert and theater programs, and more.
-
Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920 This link opens in a new windowCovers the diverse history of Caribbean islands over nearly 400 years. Includes books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera. Compiled by the curators of the Afro-Americana Imprints collection
-
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new windowThis collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
-
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean EphemeraThe majority of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.
-
Early Americas Digital ArchiveThe Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
-
Empire Online This link opens in a new windowThis resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
-
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new windowThis databases brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
-
Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new windowFrom feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
-
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new windowThe Gerritsen Collection was begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800s. The online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. It includes monographs, periodicals and pamphlets in fifteen languages, and is searchable by keyword and Boolean operators.
-
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new windowThis resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
-
HOSLAC - History of Science in Latin America and the CaribbeanA comprehensive database of primary sources on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean.
-
LANIC e-text collectionThe LANIC Etext Collection is designed to facilitate access to the hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text resources that are hosted on LANIC servers. These resources include research papers written by Latin American studies scholars; theses and dissertations; etext versions of books; conference proceedings; speeches by Latin American leaders; periodical publications; and official documents.
-
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProvides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
-
United Nations Digital LibraryProvides a single access point to U.N. information. The library includes U.N. documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications, current and historical: provides a single access point to UN information. Allows for exploration of documents and publications, voting data, maps, speeches, images and sounds, and more.
Additional collections of digital materials will be added as they are created or are made available by UN departments, offices, and agencies. Covers most UN bodies such as the General Assembly, the International Court of Justice, the Human Rights bodies, and many more
-
United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new windowContains full-text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the United Nations Treaty Series Cumulative Index, and the League of Nations Treaty Series, the current status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties.
-
U.S. Declassified Documents Online (formerly Declassified Documents Reference System) This link opens in a new windowU.S. Declassified Documents Online provides immediate access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowA set of learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement. Each module contains fifteen to twenty documents that address the question.
-
World Digital Library: Latin America & the CaribbeanThe World Digital Library (WDL) is an international collaborative project to makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
-
Digital Florentine CodexThe Digital Florentine Codex gives access to a singular manuscript created by Franciscan friar Bernardino de Sahagún and a group of Nahua elders, authors, and artists. Written in parallel columns of Nahuatl and Spanish texts and hand painted with nearly 2,500 images, the encyclopedic codex is widely regarded as the most reliable source of information about Mexica culture, the Aztec Empire, and the conquest of Mexico. Upon completion in 1577 at the Imperial Colegio de la Santa Cruz in Tlatelolco (today Mexico City), the manuscript was sent to Europe where it entered the Medici family’s library in Florence—thus, the Florentine Codex. This digital edition unlocks the manuscript’s content by making the texts and images searchable.
-
The Florentine Codex
by
Call Number: UI Main Library Oversize FOLIO F1219.56.C7552 F55 2019ISBN: 9781477318409Publication Date: 2019-09-10In the sixteenth century, the Franciscan friar Bernardino de Sahagún and a team of indigenous grammarians, scribes, and painters completed decades of work on an extraordinary encyclopedic project titled General History of the Things of New Spain, known as the Florentine Codex (1575-1577). Now housed in the Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana in Florence and bound in three lavishly illustrated volumes, the codex is a remarkable product of cultural exchange in the early Americas. In this edited volume, experts from multiple disciplines analyze the manuscript's bilingual texts and more than 2,000 painted images and offer fascinating, new insights on its twelve books. The contributors examine the "three texts" of the codex--the original Nahuatl, its translation into Spanish, and its painted images. Together, these constitute complementary, as well as conflicting, voices of an extended dialogue that occurred in and around Mexico City. The volume chapters address a range of subjects, from Nahua sacred beliefs, moral discourse, and natural history to the Florentine artists' models and the manuscript's reception in Europe. The Florentine Codex ultimately yields new perspectives on the Nahua world several decades after the fall of the Aztec empire.
