Contents: illustrated Buddhist parable
Place of origin: unknown
Language(s): [Burmese?]

Contents: Almanac
Place of origin: Chūʺ le Cetī toʻ (Rangoon, Burma)
Language: Burmese

Place of origin: France
Language(s): Latin

Place of origin: Paris, France
Language(s): Latin
Additional content note: This leaf is likely either Dominican or Franciscan since it is lightly decorated and includes a folio number.

Place of origin: Paris, France
Language(s): Latin

Place of origin: Spain
Language(s): Latin
Additional content note: "Domine qui operati sunt" is from psalm 14, verse 2.01. This is followed by another chant "Haec est generatio," Psalm 23, verse 6. Both of these were antiphons used on All Saint's Day, at the office of matins.

Place of origin: [France, possibly Italy]
Language(s): Latin

Place of origin: [Spain, possibly Italy] - a later stamp on an inside folio reads "Made in Spain," although other evidence could indicate Italian origins
Language(s): Latin

Place of origin: [Spain, possibly Italy]
Language(s): Latin
De Ricci number: may be no. 16 from 1962 census

Contents: The last will and testament of Don Francisco Muñoz de Carillo and Ynes Muñoz Carillo, Marquesà de Villel
Place of origin: Cuenca, Spain
Language(s): Spanish
Modern Edition: None

Contents: Jeremiah 31-34
Place of Origin: Cambridge, England
Language: Latin

Contents: Ecclesiasticus 17-22
Place of origin: England or France
Language: Latin

Contents: II Maccabees 2-4
Place of origin: Oxford, England
Language: Latin

Contents: II Esdras 11-13
Place of origin: France
Language: Latin

Contents: IIII Kings 9-15
Place of origin: France
Language: Latin

Contents: II Maccabees 5-12
Place of origin: France
Language: Latin

Contents: Receipt for a sacrificial goat
Place of origin: Umma, modern Djoka
Language: Sumerian

Contents: Incomplete manuscript Quran, missing 26 pages. Written in gold and red with black text of medium quality hand.
Place of Origin: Turkey?
Language: Arabic

Contents: An early manuscript illuminated Qurʹān, with 18 illustrations in black, red, gold and blue ink.
Place of Origin: Unknown
Language: Arabic

Contents: the "Epic of Kings" written by the Persian master epic poet Abul Kasim Mansur (better known as Firdwasi or Firdusi). 49 hand-painted illustrations.
Place of Origin: Unknown
Language: Persian

Contents: Illuminated manuscript collection of poems by Hafiz. 20 hand-painted illustrations of Indian origin.
Place of Origin: India?
Language: Persian and Urdu

Contents: Arabic manuscript from the Ottoman period, containing prayers for supplication in red, gold and black ink. Talismans, written in a different hand, in Ottoman Turkish, were added on blank pages at the end.
Place of origin: Turkey?
Language: Arabic and Ottoman

Contents: Stories Nr. 3 to 33 (maybe with some lacuna?) of the series of 40 Monastic Stories.
Place of Origin: Egypt (monastery of St. Macarius) ; Ethiopia
Language: Arabic

Contents: These palm leaves contain two small sections from the Hindu epic Mahābhārata. One is the Bhagavad Gita or Song Celestial. The other is from the story Savitri, from the Vana Parva of the Mahābhārata.
Place of Origin: Unknown
Language: Sanskrit, written in Bengali script

Contents: Unknown
Place of Origin: Burma
Language: Burmese

Contents: Diagrams of cognitive processes (vīthi), followed by an enumeration of other analytical categories—e.g. the different types of matter (rūpa), or of mental factors (cetasika)— and their characteristics, as well as a table of correspondence between the Burmese and Sinhalese scripts.
Place of Origin: Burma
Language: Burmese, Sinhalese

Contents: Ethiopian healing scroll in a closed leather case
Place of Origin: Ethiopia
Language: Ge'ez

Contents: [Ethiopian Christian work]
Place of origin: Ethiopia
Language: Ge'ez

Contents: [Ethiopian Christian work]. Bound in wooden boards.
Place of Origin: Ethiopia
Language: Ge'ez

Contents: Ethiopian Christian work. Bound in wooden boards with string repair to one board. Contained in a two part leather slip case.
Place of origin: Ethiopia
Language: Ge'ez

Contents: Thought to be an Ethiopian Christian work.
Place of Origin: Ethiopia
Language: Ge'ez

Contents: Manuscript in Ge'ez alphabet on 6 quires of parchment, text includes sentences in red and black ink, and hand colored illustrations of Christian images. Bount in modern printed cloth over parchment boards.
Place of origin: Ethiopia
Language: Ge'ez

Place of origin: India
Language: Persian, shikasta script

Contents: Contains text from the Office for the Dead at Lauds. This leaf shows Isaiah 38: the end of verse 14 through the beginning of verse 20.
Place of Origin: France [Paris?]
Language: Latin

Contents: The Hours of the Virgin, Lauds, The Canticle of the Three Children (Daniel 3)
Place of Origin: France?
Language: Latin

Contents: The end of the Seven Penitential Psalms and the beginning of the Litanies
Place of origin: France
Language: Latin

Contents: Calendar, the Pericopes (Gospel Readings), the "Obsecro te" and "O intemerata te" the Hours of the Virgin, the Hours of the Cross, the Hours of the Holy Spirit, the Penitential Psalms and Litanies, and the Suffrages.
Place of Origin: Paris
Language: French, Latin

Contents: Calendar (folio 1), Readings from the 4 Gospels (folio 13), Obsecro Te (folio 19), Hours of the Cross (folio 23), Hours of the Holy Spirit (folio 27), Hours of the Virgin (folio 30), Seven Penitential Psalms (folio 77), Litanies (folio 89), Office of the Dead (folio 93), and additional prayers including "O intemerata" (folio 133v), "Salve Regina" (folio 136), and "Inviolata integra et casta" (folio 136v)
Place of origin: Bruges or Ghent, Belgium
Language: Latin, French

Contents: Calendar, Hours of the Cross, Hours of the Virgin for the use of Rome with Matins, Prime, Terce, Sext, None, Vespers, Compline, Penitential Psalms, Office of the Dead
Place of origin: Flanders?
Language: Latin

Contents: Psalm 142:12, followed by a litany beginning with "Kyrie eleison" and ending on verso with "Sancte iohannes"
Place of origin: France?
Language: Latin

Contents: Initial phrase part of the Penitential Psalms: 101:22, continuing on verso, followed by a "Gloria patri", followed by the opening lines of Psalm 129
Origin: France
Language: Latin

Contents: Calendar with major feasts (in red) including important south Netherlandish saints Amand and Vedast (5 February), Remy of Rheims and Bavo of Ghent (1 October), Donatian of Bruges (14 October); [f. 13, blank]; ff. 1418, Hours of the Cross; [ff. 18v19, blank]; ff. 2024, Hours of the Holy Spirit; [ff. 24v25] ff. 2640v, Mass of the Blessed Virgin Mary, with Gospel extracts (f. 34); [f. 41, blank]; ff. 42131v, Hours of the Virgin, use of Rome, with Matins (f. 42), Lauds (f. 66), Prime (f. 81), Terce (f. 87), Sext (f. 93), None (f. 97), Vespers (f. 102), and Compline (f. 112), with additional devotions including the prayer Salve regina (f. 117v) and variants for the liturgical year (f. 119); ff. 132136v, Suffrages, including Anthony (f. 132), Martin (f. 133), John the Baptist (f. 134), Andrew (f. 134v), Katherine (f. 135), and Margaret (f. 136); [ff. 137138, blank]; ff. 139160v, Seven Penitential Psalms and Litany; [f. 161, blank].
Place of Origin: Bruges
Language: Latin

Contents: Four chants: "Nunc sancte nobis spiritus.." "Rector potens verax deus..." "Rerum deus tenax vigor..." (without musical notation), and "Lucis creator optime lucem..."
Place of Origin: France [possibly Italy]
Language: Latin

Contents: Customized late medieval liturgical book. Includes psalms, liturgical calendar, daily Offices, and selected texts for the year.
Place of origin: Southwestern Germany or Switzerland
Language: Latin

Contents: This charter grants Thomas Rubeus de Monte Albodio the title of Citizen of Rome.
Place of origin: Rome
Language: Latin

Contents: Transfer of properties from Robert Maleson of Oxnall to Peter Oxnoll of Joleby.
Place of origin: Oxnall, England
Language: Latin

Contents: The grant of a piece of land from John Odam to William Aubry.
Place of origin: Norfolk, England
Language: Latin

Contents: Carta Ejecutoria, Decree of Nobility. This document provides evidence of the court proceedings and witness testimonies that proved the noble status to Rodrigo de Henao, Don Felipe de Alvaro, his family and heirs. The document also exempts the family from taxes.
Place of origin: Valladolid, Spain. Pajares de Adaja, Spain.
Language: Spanish

Contents: Executoria contra la ciudad de Cuenca. An agreement between the City of Cuenca and Alonso Alvarez de Toledo and Juan Alvarez de Toledo, his son.
Place of origin: Granada, Spain
Language: Spanish

Contents: Indenture
Place of origin: England
Language: English

Contents: Charter issued by King James I of England. Passage of safe conduct.
Place of origin: England
Language: Latin

Contents: “Catasto” (land registry) from the Female Benedictine Monastery of San Lorenzo in Venice, Italy, with five prefixed folios containing an almost contemporary index in Italian.
Place of origin: Venice, Italy [Monastery of San Lorenzo]
Language: Italian, Latin

Contents: Entries from 1556, 1597, 1605, 1612, 1626, 1628, 1635, 1638, 1640, 1641, 1642, 1658, 1708. (Note in research materials says "Register of a Venetian Confraternity dedicated to the virgin, 16th–18th century.")
Place of origin: Sedrina, Italy
Language: Italian

Contents: Sermon CCIIII on Psalm 96: “De luce et laetitia,” and Sermon CCV on Psalm 97: “Quomodo anima sit ordinate secundum oridnationem cithara, et de tribus partibus cithara.”
Place of origin: France
Language: Latin

Contents: Psalms: end of 101 (end of verse 25 through verse 29) and beginning of 102 (verse 1 through the beginning of verse 17.)
Place of origin: England [possibly France]
Language: Latin

Contents: Prayer book, perhaps for a tertiary or beguine or Perhaps a type of Book of Hours. "Several of the saints are specifically German: Lienhard, Otilia. Katarina is from Sienna, Pope Pius II's hometown. Joergen is probably Saint George. Some of these prayers, and particularly that to Saint Sebastian, refer to an epidemic of the plague that is currently causing anxiety.... Originally I thought that it was a prayer book for lay use during mass and communion and for at-home spiritual exercises, but a closer look shows that the vernacular prayers are meant to be recited by the priest, in between portions of the Latin mass." From the research materials and Professor Judith Aiken, 2003. The last folio was written in the 19th century and provides a table of contents for the manuscript.
Place of origin: Prague, Czech Republic. Vienna, Austria.

Contents: Summa Confessionum
Place of origin: Florence?, Italy
Language: Latin

Contents: This manuscript contains the text of Psalms 80:13-81:5 (recto) and 81:5-82:8 (verso). This is a Psalter, not a Book of Hours, as it had formerly been identified.
Place of origin: England
Language: Latin

Contents: Psalms 98, 99, 100
Place of origin: England
Language: Latin

Contents: Psalm 76, Verses 3 - 15
Place of origin: Italy
Language: Latin

Contents: Calendar, Psalter, Breviary
Place of origin: Italy
Language: Latin

Place of origin: Northern France
Language: Latin

Contents: This leaf contains four different sermons. The recto starts with the end of Bonaventure's sermon for Saint Antonio (June 13th). The following sermon beginning with the "E" is Sermon 2 for Saint Maria Magdalena (July 22nd.) The following sermon beginning with a "G" is Sermon IV for the third Sunday after Pentacost. The last sermon, beginning with a "X" is Sermon II for the second Sunday after Easter.
Place of origin: Italy
Language: Latin

Contents: Theological treatise. The folio contains chapters from Pars VI entitled "De Medicina Sacramentali/On the Sacramental Remedy." The recto contains the end of Pars VI, Chapter 5 (De Sacramentorum dispensatione/The Administration of the Sacraments) and the beginning of Chapter 6 (De Sacramentorum iteratione/The Repetition of the Sacraments). The verso contains the end of Chapter 6 and the beginning of Chapter 7 (De constitutione et integritate baptismi/The Nature and Integrity of Baptism).
Place of Origin: Italy
Language: Latin

Contents: Pustille epistolarum et ewangeliorum per ciruculum anni et passio christi reverendi magistri Alberti de Padua in hac libri .... The Sermons on the letters and gospels and the passion of Christ throughout the liturgical year.
Substrate: half paper, half parchment
Place of Origin: Germany
Language: Latin

Contents: Sermons for Lent (Quadragesimale): The end of the sermon for the second day of the sixth week of Lent and the beginning of the sermon for the third day of the sixth week of Lent.
Place of origin: England?
Language: Latin

Contents: Postillae, or commentaries on the Gospels of the Church year.
Place of origin: unknown
Language: Latin

Contents: Commentary on Isaiah. Begins in the middle of Chapter 61: “…maris fortitudo gentium venerit tibi. Mystice Apostoli…”, all of 62, beginning of 63 until “…quod omnis sancti communiter exponunt de Christo. Et quaestio ista…”
Place of origin: Northern Italy
Language: Latin

Contents: Sermon with Gregorian chant cover (manuscript fragment in a book)
Place of origin: Unknown
Language: Latin

Contents of codex: Theological treatise, in Latin, touching on “gula” (f. 17 r.) and other vices (ff. 2 r.-69 r.); S. Augustinus, Oratio (ff. 69 v.-72 r.: Domine Deus omnipotens, qui es trinus et unus…); similar prayers and treatises (ff. 72 r.-100 r.); Orationes seu contemplativae meditations XV gaudiorum gloriosae Virginis Mariae (ff. 100 r.-124 v., incom-plete at end); S. Augustinus (?), Meditationes X (ff. 125 r.-178 v., imperfect at beginning and end).
Contents of single leaf at front: front fly leaf page (fol. 1) verso main text identified as Psalm 30. Marginal text appears to be psalter commentary. Phrase identified as Augustine of Hippo, commentary on the Psalms (PL electronic search on "iam non secundum adam").
Place of Origin: Italy
Language: Latin

Contents: Idiosyncratic manuscript chronology compiled by Rev. John Cotton (1686-1757), vicar of Meole Brace and St. Alkmund’s, Shrewsbury. Beginning in 1638 and running to 1750, the broad variety of events recorded by Cotton range from historic happenings of national importance to the births and deaths of family members, however his primary interest seems to have been in recording local events occurring in and around the locality of Shrewsbury and the births and deaths of those associated with the town.
Form: scroll
Place of origin: Shrewsbury, England
Language: English

Contents: Persian manuscript, probably from the 16th or 17th century, written in Nastaliq style, with later marginalia. Paper contains silver sprinkles in text area, gold sprinkles in the margins. Decorated frontispiece, end pages stenciled in gold. Text includes some words in Ottoman. Islamic binding with flap.
Place of origin: Unknown
Language: Persian