Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note that this Guide is under Construction. While all cataloged early manuscripts appear in the LibGuide in the "View All Manuscripts" tab above, not all have been sorted into general categories. We advise that you click on View All Manuscripts first if you are not quite sure what you're looking to find!
Understanding this Guide
To search the entire collection by keyword, go to the tab for "View All Manuscripts", and use Ctrl+F or Command + F on your keyboard to begin.
Continue Exploring Early Manuscripts at Iowa
Early Manuscripts in the Iowa Digital Library
The Iowa Digital Library Collection contains the bulk of descriptive metadata for the collection. Use this interface to search for specific terminology and find like characteristics.
Transcribe and translate early manuscripts through Iowa's DIY History interface.
Medieval Manuscripts Finding Aid
The collection finding aid contains a brief overview of the manuscripts in MsC0542, Medieval Manuscripts. Information regarding specific manuscripts in this finding aid may be outdated.
Asian Manuscripts Finding Aid
The collection finding aid contains a brief overview of the manuscripts in MsC0913, Asian Manuscripts. Information regarding specific manuscripts in this finding aid may be outdated and/or superseded by information in InfoHawk+.
Youtube: If Books Could Talk
Visit our Youtube channel to view the series If Books Could Talk. Videos feature scholars, librarians, and archivists discussing manuscripts held in Special Collections.
Medieval Posts on tumblr
Many early manuscripts have been featured on our tumblr. Not all of those featured are at Iowa.
Find something interesting? Let us know!
Email our reference account at firstname.lastname@example.org if you spot anything in our descriptions that you think could be improved upon.