Skip to main content
print page banner

Rita Benton Music Library

Music Research Tools

Search RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Find Music Scholarship using RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

 

Search RILM Abstracts

RILM Profile

international icon

  IT'S INTERNATIONAL

RILM indexes music scholarship & publishing from around the globe (that includes 151 countries, and writings penned in 214 languages).

Most indexed information is available in English, including the abstract. However, RILM is working to add abstracts written in the item's native language.

abstracts icon

  A IS FOR ABSTRACTS

Each RILM record contains an abstract* of around 200 words that provides you with a summary of an item's content.

Abstracts are an excellent tool for quick evaluation of an item's relevancy to your research need.

all resource types icon

  ALL the SOURCE TYPES

RILM indexes:

  • journals
  • articles
  • books
  • book chapters
  • conference & symposium proceedings
  • festschriften
  • dissertations
  • critical editions of music
  • reference works
  • ...and more.
since 1967 icon

  STAYING POWER

RILM started indexing content over 40 years ago. Your professor's professors used this index for their research. The depth of its abstracts and the sophistication of RILM's indexing vocabulary remain vital to music researchers today.

scholars icon

  MADE BY & FOR SCHOLARS

When you need to search reliable, in-depth, scrupulously edited information about music, RILM is a great starting point.

Not only are the items within RILM created by the music scholars around the world, the index itself is built and maintained by music scholars, too.