What is InfoHawk+
InfoHawk+ is the public interface to search the UI Libraries catalog, including our book and media collection, ebooks and journals titles, plus some of our most used and useful databases. You can find the books we own and the journals we subscribe to, but you can also find articles through some of our database subscriptions.
What is included in InfoHawk+?
-
The UI Libraries catalog
-
Some but not all research databases and ebook packages, covering nearly 1 billion records.
-
Catalog holdings of other Iowa colleges and Universities (Drake University, University of Northern Iowa, Wartburg College, Hawkeye Community College, Iowa State University, Grand View College, St. Ambrose University, and Grinnell College)
Use the tutorials below for guidance or ask a Librarian to learn more.
Ebook Collections
- Cambridge Books Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge University Press publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and large numbers of books aimed at graduate students. We publish more than 30,000 ebooks for the global market, with 1,500 new titles added on average each year alongside our print publications.
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowTo use the Full Download/Checkout functionality for an eBook, a user must sign into a personal folder.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform that contains books, primarily in English, from the collections of some of the largest libraries in the United States, including The University of Iowa Libraries. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. To access full-text material, sign in with your HawkID and password.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable library containing SELECTIVE full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Health, and Religion.
- Proquest eBook Central This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers. Use E-book Central to quickly and easily find relevant eBooks and chapters; read online; search within the eBook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download eBooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect E-Books This link opens in a new windowElsevier purchase includes over 450 books published beginning in 2008.
- Springer E-Book Collection This link opens in a new windowSpringer Nature Link offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer since 2005.
- UC Press E-Book Collection, 1982-2004 (formerly eScholarship Editions) This link opens in a new windowIncludes almost 2000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Access to the entire collection of electronic books is open to all University of California faculty, staff, and students, while over 700 of the titles are available to the public.
- Wiley E-Books This link opens in a new windowWiley/Blackwell purchase includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009
Recommend a Library Purchase
If you would like the University Libraries to purchase a book to support your teaching or research:
- Complete a Recommend a Library Purchase form
- Contact the library liaison for Sociology/Criminology, Janalyn Moss
If you are a faculty member or TA requesting an item for Course Reserves, please submit a request through the Main Library Online Request form.
WorldCat
WorldCat
You aren't limited to what you can find at the University of Iowa Libraries. If you can't find what you need in InfoHawk+, try Worldcat. Worldcat is a catalog with materials from thousands of libraries worldwide .Once you find what you need, you can request the book through our Interlibrary loan service.
Note: This is not for the procrastinator. You will need to allow at least a week for print materials for your request to be processed and the item shipped here from another location. Article request may be filled in 48 hours.
