Brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.

RECOMMEND USING CHROME; As a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.

USERS MUST LOGIN even on CAMPUS

The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology, published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed archaeology database. eHRAF differs from other databases in that documents (i.e. books, journal articles, dissertations) are indexed at the paragraph-level with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).

The Human Relations Area Files at Yale University contain information about world cultures. The HRAF Collection currently contains nearly 1,000,000 pages of information on the cultures of the world--past and present. Only a portion of HRAF documentation are accessible on the Internet. Older material in microform which the UI Libraries has is not included.

Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles. Includes volumes I - III.

OHO Archaeology brings together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in archaeology. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense. The Institute is a non-profit-making registered charity and is entirely independent, with a Director and a small staff accountable to the Council, which in turn is elected annually from the Fellowship. It has a Royal Patron in the person of HRH The Duke of Gloucester KG, GCVO

This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform that contains books, primarily in English, from the collections of some of the largest libraries in the United States, including The University of Iowa Libraries. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. To access full-text material, sign in with your HawkID and password.

Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.

TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790

Companion to: Periodicals index online. Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Electronic index to over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue (as early as 1665) . Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.

With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.

RECOMMEND USING CHROME; Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains 70,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journals of Gerontology Series, American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, Experimental Gerontology, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1990.

RECOMMEND USING CHROME; Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), AgeLine provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology, i.e. the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Also covered are the delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies, and consumer, employment, and public policy issues. Of interest to researchers, health professionals, service planners, policymakers, employers, older adults and their families, and consumer advocates.

Primarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989

RECOMMEND USING CHROME; A comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material about Mexican-Americans. Extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

HAPI contains citations to articles published since 1970 in more than 500 scholarly journals treating Latin American or U.S. Hispanic topics. Coverage includes Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, German and Italian language articles.

RECOMMEND USING CHROME; Indexes works from the sixteenth century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and U.S. and Canadian government publications. Areas covered include native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research. This bibliography, from Human Relations Areas Files (HRAF), contains the citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations.