Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.

Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune are not accessible from Factiva. Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information.
NB: 10 simultaneous user limit.

The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, FBIS is an index foreign media reports covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. FBIS includes full-text English-language and English-language translations of radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements.

Newspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.

TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790

WNC is an online news service of non-U.S. media sources provided by the National Technical Information Service.

Access to the nytimes.com. How to access the UI LIbraries subscription to the nytimes.com:
Register at http://AccessNYT.com and then use https://www.nytimes.com/ for access afterwards. You must register annually to keep access.

After registration you will be able to access the resource on any device. Access news articles from 1980 to the present. When accessing it on campus we have NO access to 1923-1980 but if you are off-campus you have 5 articles per day for 1923-1980 content (due to a lawsuit between publisher and vendor), all other years are available on and off campus.

Note: Our subscription does include the NYT Book Review; does not include the full size crossword puzzle.

Coverage: 1931 - 2003
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection

Coverage: 1909 - 1975
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection

Coverage: 1849 - 1993

Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.

Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.

Includes the Des Moines Register (1871-2008) and the Iowa City Press-Citizen (1965-2008).

Coverage: 1934 - 2005
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Coverage: 1922 - 1993
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection

Coverage: 1851 - 2013

Coverage: 1911 - 2002
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection

Coverage: 1889-2000

Coverage: 1877-2000

International Papers
--------------------------------------------------------

Coverage The Guardian: (1821-2003)
Coverage The Observer: (1791-2003)

Coverage: 1838-2004