Assignment
See your lab assignment for complete instructions and an example.
For this part of your assignment, you will be given the names of three chemical compounds. You need to use at least two sources on this page to find the necessary information about your assigned compounds.
If you have any questions, please ask your TA or a librarian.
Web Sources for Chemical Table
You will need to use at least one web source for your chemical table assignment. The following sources are recommended. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian for assistance.
- Combined Chemical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowIncludes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. Contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds (200,000 records), Dictionary of natural products (120,000 records), Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds (90,000 records), Dictionary of pharmacological agents (30,000 records), Dictionary of analytical reagents (14,000 records). Also available in print as the Dictionary of Organic Compounds.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new windowProvides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Also available in print.
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, the Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck Index* Online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowChemical and physical properties and synthetic procedures for several million compounds. Not available in print.
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources. Not available in print.
- Sigma-AldrichThis is a commerical website that sells biochemical and organic chemical products, but it also provides some useful information about the compounds they sell. Also available in print.
- Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial MaterialsCombines data on toxicology, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information for over 28,000 substances.
Citations
Use the following examples as templates to cite your sources for Part 1. Pay special attention to the edition, editors, and compound numbers as these will change depending on the edition and your assigned compound. Find more examples here, or contact your librarian for assistance.
Print books:
- Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 6th ed.; Buckingham, J., Macdonald, F., Eds.; Chapman & Hall: London, 1996; Vol. 1, No. A-0-00108.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 89th ed.; Lide, D.R., Ed.; CRC Press: Boca Raton, FL, 2008; Section 3, No. 339.
- The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals, 12th ed.; Budavari, S.; O'Neal, M. J.; Smith, A.; Heckelman, P. E.; Kinneary, J. F., Eds.; Merck & Co.: Whitehouse Station, NJ, 1996; entry 4857.
Websites:
- Caffeine. The Merck Index Online. Royal Society of Chemistry, 2013. https://www.rsc.org/Merck-Index/monograph/m2909 (accessed 2019-03-26).
- Rotenone. Combined Chemical Dictionary - CHEMnetBASE. CRC Press, n.d. http://ccd.chemnetbase.com/ (accessed 2019-09-15).
SDS:
- 1,4'-Bipiperidine, 99%; CAS RN: 4897-50-1; B22028; Alfa Aesar, Thermo Fisher Scientific: Fair Lawn, NJ, 2022-02-14. https://www.alfa.com/en/catalog/sds/B22028/ (accessed 2023-01-31).
Print Sources for Chemical Table
If you have any questions, please contact a librarian for assistance.
- Dictionary of Organic Compounds byCall Number: Sciences Library FOLIO QD251.H45 1996ISBN: 0412540908Publication Date: 1995-10-01This 9 volume set gives basic necessary information on the properties and structures of compounds. It does not have all compounds, but will have most. Also available as a more complete online resource called Combined Chemical Dictionary.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics byCall Number: Sciences Library QD65.H3ISBN: 1439880492Publication Date: 2012-06-22A large single volume encyclopedic work containing tables of data on many compounds. A good print resource for this class. We have multiple copies at the information desk and in the book stacks. Also available online.
- The Merck Index byCall Number: Sciences Library RS51.M4 2006ISBN: 9780911910001Publication Date: 2006-11-03A good print resource for drug and other medicinal compounds, including things like nicotine. Also available online.
- Aldrich Handbook - A Catalog of Fine Chemicals and Laboratory Equipment byCall Number: Sciences Library TP202.A38A chemical sales catalog that includes the physical constants of the chemicals they sell. Several copies are on reserve. This has only basic information about compounds in print. It is much more comprehensive online.
- Hazardous Chemical Desk Reference byCall Number: Sciences Library T55.3.H3 S33 1991ISBN: 0442004974Publication Date: 1991-12-01This title contains only the hazardous properties of major compounds. Look here if you don't find these properties elsewhere. Also available online.
- Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials byCall Number: Sciences Library FOLIO T55.3.H3 S3 1992ISBN: 0442011326Publication Date: 1992-05-01This 3 volume set contains only the hazardous properties of major compounds. Look here if you don't find these properties elsewhere. Also available online.
Video Guides to Physical Items
Head, Sciences Library
Leo Clougherty
Contact:
Sciences Library
104SL
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
(319)335-3083
Website
104SL
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
(319)335-3083
