Statistics: Articles

Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints. 

Finding Journal Articles

InfoHawk +
Contains records for most items (articles and books) held by the UI Libraries. Using the databases below can be a more focused way to search for statistics articles.
Interlibrary Loan
If the Library doesn't have the journal you're looking for, fill out the Interlibrary Loan form and we'll get it for you from another library.

Statistics & Actuarial Science Databases

Find statistics and actuarial science articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please visit E-Resources Help: problems, tips, etc. or contact the Sciences Library.

ABI/INFORM Global
Search nearly 1,800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on companies, computers, advertising, marketing, economics, personnel, finance, taxation, etc. Includes the Wall Street Journal full-text 1984- . [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Business Source Complete
RECOMMEND USING CHROME; Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated daily.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States represents data series from earliest times to the present and has long been a standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. Broad topic categories include Population, Work and Welfare, Economic Structure, Economic Sectors, and Governance and International Affairs.
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni)
TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
MathSciNet
Providing Web access to reviews and citations from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, MathSciNet covers the literature of mathematics and related areas back to 1940.
Passport (Consumer Industries)
Passport is Euromonitor International’s global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world. It monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across all key countries.
Project Euclid
Project Euclid is a partnership of independent publishers of mathematics and statistics journals.

ProQuest Statistical Datasets
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Statistics and Probability Commons
Contains over 2,800 full-text articles submitted by scholars at 78 institutions, including the University of Iowa.

General Science Databases

Find science articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please ask a librarian.

Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
arXiv.org
Collection of electronic pre-prints in various sciences. The archive is based upon activities supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation under agreement with the Los Alamos National Laboratory, and by the U.S. Department of Energy.
Ei Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
Engineering Village features: COMPENDEX is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature. INSPEC includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes 500 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 188,000 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. The Database offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
PubMed
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources.

Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

OSTI.GOV (Previously called: SciTech Connect)
Your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy. SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.
Scopus
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Web of Science
A citation reference that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1899-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1898-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Medline and Journal Citation Reports, among other science and social science reference indexes. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]