Japanese Literature: Dictionaries
Online Dictonaries
-
Kenkyusha Online Dictionary This link opens in a new windowKOD (Kenkyusha Online Dictionary) offers online access to over a dozen of English-Japanese and Japanese-English dictionaries, including Kenkyusha's new English-Japanese dictionary and Kenkyusha's new Japanese-English dictionary.
Japan Knowledge http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/japanknowledge
This reference sources database includes 字通、日本国語大辞典、数え方の辞典、デジタル大辞泉、日本大百科全書(ニッポニカ)、Encyclopedia of Japan、Imidas、現代用語の基礎知識、日本人名大辞典 and many more ditcitionaries. Knowledge Searcher function could help you use Japanese reference sources.
Kotobank http://kotobank.jp
Includes 118 dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books. List of dictionaries: http://kotobank.jp/guide/dictionary.html
Weblo 辞書 http://www.weblio.jp/
Collection of dictionaries including 類語 (thesaurus), 英和･和英(English-Japanese/Japanese-English), 手話 (sign language), and many more glossaries.
Goo 辞書 http://dictionary.goo.ne.jp/
Dictionaries available at Goo 辞書 Site: EXCEED 英和辞典, EXCEED 和英辞典, 大辞林 第2版 , デイリー 新語辞典+α， 新明解四字熟語辞, etc.
Yahoo 辞書 http://dic.yahoo.co.jp/
Dictionaries available at Yahoo 辞書 site: 大辞泉, 大辞林, 必携類語実用辞典, プログレッシブ英和中辞典, 新グローバル英和辞典, プログレッシブ和英中辞典, ニューセンチュリー和英辞典. You have two options for Japanese dictionaries, English-Japaense dictionaries, and Japanese-English dictionaries.
Eijiro on the web 英辞郎 http://www.alc.co.jp/
Complied by a group of interpreters and translators. Especially useful to look up colloquial expressions and new words.
RNN 時事英語辞典 http://www.rnnnews.jp/
Useful website for reading news and current affairs.
手書き漢字認識 http://kanji.sljfaq.org/drawj.html
Use your mouse like your pen and look up Chinese characters.
Japanese Learner's Dictionary http://dictionary.j-cat.org/
You can listen to pronounciation. You can search this dictionary site in Japanese, English, and Romaji.
Jim Breen's WWWJDIC Japanese-English Dictionary Server http://www.csse.monash.edu.au/~jwb/wwwjdic.html
English-Japanese, Japanese-English, Kanji dictionaries and more are available.
Rikai http://www.rikai.com/perl/Home.pl
Use your mouse to look up words when reading websites or electronic documents.
Use your mouse to look up words when reading websites or electronic documents. For Firefox and Thunderbird users.
"Japanese Book News" Article on Japanese Dictionaries
-
Kazoekata no jiten 数え方 の 辞典
by
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL579 .I43 2004ISBN: 4095052015Publication Date: 2004Dictionary of counter suffix.
Also available via JapanKnowldge.
"Recent Dictionaries of Note: New Reference Volumes that Get to the Heart of teh Lanuage" by Emmanji Jiro appeared in the Japan Foundation's "Japanese Book News #74." The following dictionaries were introduced in the article.
-
Nihongo onomatope jiten : giongo, gitaigo 4500 日本語オノマトペ辞典 : 擬音語・擬態語4500
by
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL685 .N54 2007ISBN: 4095041749Publication Date: 2007Dictionary of onomatopoeia and mimic. -
Nihongo gokan no jiten 日本語語感の辞典
by
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL645 .N35 2010ISBN: 4000803131Publication Date: 2010Dictionary of Japanese word usage according to subtle nuance differences. -
Kenkyūsha Nihongo hyōgen katsuyō jiten 研究社日本語表現活用辞典
by
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection PL685 .K457 2004ISBN: 4767490510Publication Date: 2004Dictionary of Japanese collocations. -
Kenkyūsha Nihongo korokēshon jiten = Kenkyusha’s dictionary of Japanese collocations 研究社日本語コロケーション辞典
by
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL685 .K457 2012ISBN: 476749110XPublication Date: 2012Dictionary of Japanese collocations. -
Te ni o ha jiten てにをは辞典
by
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection PL685 .O53 2010ISBN: 4385136467Publication Date: 2010Dictionary of Japanese particles.
和英・英和辞典 Japanese<->English Dictionaries
Subject Headings:
Japanese language -- Dictionaries -- English.
English language -- Dictionaries -- Japanese.
- Kenkyusha’s new English-Japanese dictionary 研究社新英和大辞典 Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .K39 2002
- Kenkyusha’s new Japanese-English dictionary 研究社新和英大辞典 Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .K4 2003
- Kenkyusha’s new Japanese-English dictionary plus 新和英大辞典・プラス Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .K4 2003 Suppl.
- Kenkyūsha furigana Ei-Wa jiten = Kenkyusha’s furigana English-Japanese dictionary / 研究社ふりがな英和辞典 Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .F78 2008
- Kodansha’s romanized Japanese-English dictionary Main Library PL679 .K678 1993
- Kodansha's furigana English-Japanese dictionary : the essential dictionary for all students of Japanese / ふりがな英和辞典 Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .K67 2001
- Kodansha’s furigana Japanese-English dictionary / ふりがな和英辞典 Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .K673 2001
- Basic Japanese-English dictionary = Kiso Nihongo gakushu jiten / 基礎日本語学習辞典 Main Library PL679 .B37 2004
Lists 2800 words with romaji readings, "rubi,"examples, and parallel entries in Japanese and English. Good for beginners.
- Nihongo o manabu hito no jiten : Eigo, Chugokugo yaku tsuki = Informative Japanese / 日本語を学ぶ人の辞典 : 英語・中国語訳つき Main Japanese Collection PL675 .N58 1995
- Japanese Learner's Dictionary 日本語学習辞典 http://dictionary.j-cat.org/
国語辞典 Japanese Language Dictonary
Subject Heading: Japanese language -- Dictionaries.
- Reikai shin kokugo jiten / 例解新国語辞典(三省堂) Main Japanese Collection Reference PL675.R45 2012
- Benesse shinshū kokugo jiten / ベネッセ新修国語辞典 Main Japanese Collection Reference PL675 .B465 2012
- Kōjien / 広辞苑 Main Japanese Collection Reference PL675 .S5 2008
- Iwanami kokugo jiten / 岩波国語辞典 Main Japanese Collection Reference PL675 .I95 2011
- Sanseidō kokugo jiten / 三省堂国語辞典 Main Japanese Collection Reference PL675 .S33 2001
- Shin meikai kokugo jiten / 新明解国語辞典 (三省堂) Main Japanese Collection Reference PL675 .S4 2012
- Meikyō kokugo jiten / 明鏡国語辞典 (大修館書店) Main Japanese Collection Reference PL695 .M45 2011
- Japan Knowledge: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/japanknowledge
JapanKnowledge includes 日本国語大辞典 and other dictionaries.
- Shin reinbo shogaku kokugo jiten / 新レインボー 小学国語辞典 Main Japanese Collection Reference PL675 .S42 2005
Accompanied by users guide (国語辞典の使い方).
類語 Synonyms
Subject Heading: Japanese language -- Synonyms and antonyms -- Dictionaries.
- Nihongo gakushu tsukaiwake jiten = Effective Japanese usage guide : a concise explanation of frequently confused words and phrases / 日本語学習使い分け辞典 Main Japanese Collection Reference PL685 .N459 1994
With Romaji and "rubi."Explanations and examples are provided in English.
語源辞典
Subject Headings: Japanese language -- Etymology -- Dictionaries -- Japanese
- 身近なことばの語源辞典 Mijika na kotoba no gogen jiten Main Japanese Collection PL663 .N57 2009
- 暮らしのことば, 新語源辞典 Kurashi no kotoba shin gogen jiten Main Japanese Collection Reference PL663 .K75 2008
文法辞典 Grammar Dictonary
-
A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar
by
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .M27 1989ISBN: 4789004546Publication Date: 1989-01-01Also available in Main Reference Collection PL679 .M27 1986
Subject Heading: Japanese language -- Grammar -- Dictionaries.
-
A Dictionary of Intermediate Japanese Grammar
by
Call Number: Main Reference & Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .M28 1995ISBN: 4789007758Publication Date: 1995-01-01 -
A Dictionary of Advanced Japanese Grammar
by
Call Number: Main Reference & Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .M26 2008ISBN: 4789012956Publication Date: 2008-01-01
漢英辞典 Chinese Character Dictonaries
-
Kodansha Kanji Learner's Dictionary
by
Call Number: Main Library PL677.5 .K63 1999ISBN: 4770023359Publication Date: 1999-02-01In order to read Japanese, the student must be able to recognize over 2,000 kanji. The Kodansha Kanji Learner's Dictionary contains all these kanji as well as over 20,000 of the most frequently used compounds which kanji create when combined.
Subject Heading: Chinese language -- Dictionaries -- Japanese.
-
The New Nelson
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PL679 .N4 1997ISBN: 0804820368Publication Date: 1997-09-15The New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary perpetuates the coveted status of the Original as the foremost Japanese-English character dictionary available. Keeping pace with the evolution of Japanese, over 1,200 characters and modernized definitions have been added to over 70,000 entries. -
The Compact Nelson
by
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .N424 1999ISBN: 0804820376Publication Date: 1999-08-15An abridged edition of Tuttle's New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary, with 3,068 characters & the Universal Radical Index (URI). -
The Kanji Dictionary
by
Call Number: Main Reference & Main Japanese Collection Reference PL677.5 .S62 1996ISBN: 0804820589Publication Date: 1996-04-15The Kanji Dictionary make the Japanese written language more accessible then ever before.
More 漢字辞典 More Chinese Character Dictionaries
- 新潮日本語漢字辞典 Shinchō Nihongo kanji jiten Main Japanese Collection Reference PL677.5 .S556 2007
“現代の日本人が使うための、漢字の辞典。
漢和辞典と国語辞典のいいところをあわせ持った辞典。”
『漢字は日本語である』小駒勝美
This Kanji dictionary cites examples from modern literature after the Meiji era.
Includes Japanese phrases and loan words in Kanji.
-
新レインボー 小学漢字辞典 Shin reinbo shogaku kanji jiten Main Japanese Collection Reference PL677.5 .S552 2005
Accompanied by users guide (漢字辞典の使い方). Rubi readings are provided.
- Japan Knowledge: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/japanknowledge Includes 字通 Jitsu.
擬音語・擬態語 Onomatopoeic Words & Mimetic Words
Subject Headings:
Japanese language -- Onomatopoeic words -- Dictionaries.
Japanese language -- Mimetic words -- Dictionaries.
- Kurashi no kotoba gion gitaigo jiten / 暮らしのことば 擬音・擬態語辞典 Main Japanese Collection Reference PL685 .K87 2003
Manga is used to illustrate the use of onomatopoeic and mimetic words.
- Wa-Ei gitaigo giongo bunrui yoho jiten = A thesaurus of Japanese mimesis and onomatopoeia : usage by categories / 〈和英〉擬態語・擬音語分類用法辞典 Main Japanese Collection PL668 .G60 1990
助数詞 Numerals
Subject Heading: Japanese language -- Numerals -- Dictionaries.
- 数え方の辞典 Kazoekata no jiten Main Japanese Collection Reference PL579 .I43 2004
Also available online via Japan Knowledge: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/japanknowledge
- モノの数え方 : ハンドブック Mono no kazoekata : handobukku Main Japanese Collection PL579 .M66 2005
- 数え方でみがく日本語 Kazoekata de migaku Nihongo Main Japanese Collection PL579 .I42 2005