Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Includes "Japanese Fiction Writers Since World War II" and "Japanese Fiction Writers, 1868-1945."
Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic advisory board.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes western-language articles and book chapters on Asian countries published since 1971. Country-Subject browsing works effectively to find Japanese literature in translation. Try Japan -- Literature -- Fiction -- Translations.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
NOT COMPATIBLE WITH EDGE. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Japanese Literature in Translation (Japanese Foundation)
Data for this database are collected in cooperation with the Japan PEN Club and UNESCO. Data coverage is from the end of World War II to the 1990s.
Index Translationum (UNESCO)
This international bibliography of translation lists works since 1979 and contains more than 1,500,000 entries. Printed edition covers works published before 1979 and is available in the reference collection (MAIN REFERENCE Collection Z6514.T7 I42).
English Translations of Japanese Literature Online
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
The freely accessible version of WorldCat on the Web. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of local libraries and thousands more around the world.
Literature Database (National Women's Education Center (Japan))
Literature Database retrieves books, journals, local government publications, Japanese periodical articles, Japanese newspaper articles and audio-visual materials from the Information Center for Women’s Education’s collection .
The Writing Center
The University of Iowa Writing Center was started by Carrie Stanley in 1934, making it one of the first writing centers in the United States. The Center has a long-standing tradition of one-to-one instruction in rhetorical and communication skills. An understanding of how discourse, whether of writing, speaking, reading, or listening, is both purpose and audience-driven has been a hallmark of the Writing Center and its host department, Rhetoric.