Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alternative Publishing Models
In traditional commercial publishing, the library pays for subscriptions (print or electronic) and authorized users have free access. The advent of web-based publishing, combined with dissatisfaction with the existing scholarly publishing system, has led to the development of several alternative publishing models.
The link found below offers a succinct overview of the options. All of these models have variations within the model. Some commercial publishers have begun to allow author archiving or deposit in repositories after a period of time (called an “embargo period").
Although open access publishing and institutional and subject-based repositories are the most well-known types of alternative publishing, there are other emerging models that may point toward the future.
PLoS Clinical Trials Archive
PLoS Clinical Trials Archive collects PLoS journal articles that relate to clinical trials. This is a site for researchers to share their views and build a dynamic, interactive community. PLoS Clinical Trials Archive features articles originally published in PLoS Clinical Trials, along with articles from all the PLoS titles that publish clinical trials. In the future, it will also feature open-access articles from other journals plus user-generated content.
The nanoHUB is a rich, web-based resource for research, education and collaboration in nanotechnology. It hosts over 1600 resources, including online presentations, courses, learning modules, podcasts, animations, and teaching materials. It also offers web-accessible simulation tools which simulate nanotechnology devices. The nanoHUB also provides collaboration environment via workspaces, online meetings and user groups.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a scholarly dynamic reference work, with each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. The project is funded entirely by donations and grants.
Utilizing a peer-reviewed format and under the guidance of an international board, Vectors features submissions and specially-commissioned works comprised of moving- and still-images; voice, music, and sound; computational and interactive structures; social software; and much more. They publish only works that need, for whatever reason, to exist in multimedia.
Where You Publish Makes a Difference
Your choice of where to publish may make a difference in how often your article is read or cited. By understanding the options available through open access publishing, you can make it easier for your colleagues to read and make use of your work.
Will I Be Cited?
Several studies indicate that articles that are freely available have as much or even more research impact as other articles.
What the University of Iowa Is Doing
Through Iowa Research Online and Iowa Digital Library, The UI Libraries' offers a place for working paper series, conference presentations and other grey literature, images, sound and video files, as well as a repository of individual scholarly journal articles. We also offer a journal hosting service, which includes editorial management software, called EdiKit, to manage submissions, editorial functions, and peer-review for locally published journals.
The University of Iowa Libraries also supports the following initiatives and organizations through institutional memberships or subscriptions.
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. The University of Iowa is an institutional member of BioMed Central; there is a 15% discount on the author's fee for researchers who submit articles to the journals published by BioMed Central.
BioOne is an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, universities and the private sector. BioOne provides access to full-text high-impact bioscience research journals, the majority of which are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form.
Nucleic Acids Research
Through the University of Iowa's monetary support of this OA journal, researchers who submit articles to NAR get a 50% discount on author's fee.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource. The University of Iowa is an institutional member of PLoS; there is a 10% discount on the author's fee for researchers who submit articles to the journals published by BioMed Central.
Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP3)
SCOAP3 is a consortium that facilitates Open Access publishing in High Energy Physics by re-directing subscription money. In this model, HEP funding agencies and libraries, which today purchase journal subscriptions to implicitly support the peer-review service, federate to explicitly cover its cost, while publishers make the electronic versions of their journals free to read. Authors are not directly charged to publish their articles OA.
Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)
SPARC is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system. Its pragmatic focus is to stimulate the emergence of new scholarly publishing models that expand the dissemination of scholarly research and reduce financial pressures on libraries.