Director, Scholarly Impact
Institutional Repositories
An institutional repository is a collection of research and creative works by people affiliated with that institution. Typically, such a repository may include faculty and researcher articles, presentations, reports, and working papers. In other words, anything that is appropriate to a researcher's CV and for which copyright and author agreements allow inclusion of the content. Institutional repositories are non-commercial, but do not primarily include preprints, so they are not considered a preprint repository. The content is well indexed with records shared to increase the ease of finding content and preserved, so are different than an institutional website or an author's homepage.
- Iowa Research Online This link opens in a new windowIowa Research Online preserves and provides access to the research and scholarship created by the University of Iowa’s faculty, students, and staff. The research papers, theses, dissertations, books, conference presentations, journals, and multimedia here represent Iowa’s rich intellectual and cultural community.
Please contact lib-ir@uiowa.edu for assistance.
Pre-Print Servers
Preprint servers are publicly available online archives that host and distribute preprints.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowCollection of electronic pre-prints in various sciences. The archive is based upon activities supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation under agreement with the Los Alamos National Laboratory, and by the U.S. Department of Energy.
- bioRxiv This link opens in a new windowbioRxiv (pronounced “bio-archive”) is a preprint server for the life sciences operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. Articles are not peer-reviewed or edited, although all articles undergo basic screening for non-scientific content and plagiarism, and for material that might pose a health or biosecurity risk.
- EdArXivA preprint server for the education research community. Powered by OSF Preprints
- medRxiv This link opens in a new windowmedRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed.
- PsyArXivA free preprint service for the psychological sciences. Maintained by The Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science. Powered by OSF Preprints
- SocArXivSocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code. SocArXiv is dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, to improve research, and build the future of scholarly communication.