Geoscience: Articles
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Finding Journal Articles
There are several ways to find journal articles at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.
- InfoHawk+If you know the title of the article you're looking for, search for it in InfoHawk+
- Citation LinkerIf you have all or part of the citation for the article you're looking for, use the Citation Linker to find it quickly.
- Alphabetical List of DatabasesIf you want to browse through some journal articles by author, topic or keyword, use one or more of these databases. This is a huge list of over 650 databases, so check out the Databases box for some recommendations.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the Library doesn't have the article you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Geoscience Databases
Find articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for UILink in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please visit E-Resources Help: problems, tips, etc. or contact your Library.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowReferences and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, covering North America since 1785 and other areas since 1933. Corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography of North American geology; Bibliography and index of geology exclusive of North America; Geophysical abstracts (Washington, D.C.); and: Bibliography and index of geology; with additional citations from other sources.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new windowServes as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. GeoScienceWorld is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
- Lyell Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, brings together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single electronic platform.
- AAPG Datapages This link opens in a new windowSearch the various collections of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.
- Earth Sciences CommonsContains over 4,750 full-text articles submitted by scholars at over 75 institutions, including the University of Iowa.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowBioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
General Science Databases
Find science articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for 
in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please ask a librarian.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowCollection of electronic pre-prints in various sciences. The archive is based upon activities supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation under agreement with the Los Alamos National Laboratory, and by the U.S. Department of Energy.
- Ei Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowEngineering Village is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes 500 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 188,000 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources.
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
- OSTI.GOV (Previously called: SciTech Connect) This link opens in a new windowYour connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy. SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of ScienceA citation reference that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1899-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1898-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Medline and Journal Citation Reports, among other science and social science reference indexes. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Local Digital Collections
The Iowa Digital Library features more than a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners.
- Iowa Geological Survey ResourcesAnnual reports and technical papers (ca. 1893-1930) published by the Iowa Geological Survey. The documents, which are full-text searchable, describe the Iowa landscape and its composition.
- Calvin Geological PhotographsHundreds of photographs of geological formations in Iowa taken in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The collection also features mines, quarries, buildings, and more.
Contributing Institution: Dept. of Geoscience, University of Iowa - Geoscience SlidesOver 2800 images of U.S. National Parks taken by faculty from The University of Iowa's Geosciences Department. Depicted are geological phenomena that highlight the importance of protecting these areas through the national park designation.
Contributing Institution: Dept. of Geoscience, University of Iowa - Glenister Geoscience SlidesHundreds of digitized slides representing paleontology research, including fieldwork in Iowa and other U.S. locations, as well as China and Australia.
Contributing Institution: Dept. of Geoscience, University of Iowa
Iowa Research Online - Geosciences
Iowa Research Online (IRO) is a service of the University of Iowa Libraries dedicated to preserving and providing open access to the scholarly and creative work of the University.