Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books & E-Books
There are several ways to find books and e-books at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.
Use InfoHawk+ to search for books and e-books in the UI Libraries' collection.
E-book records are periodically added to the InfoHawk+ catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections.
Search for books and other materials in libraries around the world.
If the Library doesn't have the book you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Library E-Book Collections
E-Book titles are periodically added to the library catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections. For a full list, visit E-Book Collections.
Cambridge E-Book Collection
Offers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences
The fourth edition of this leading dictionary (previously A Dictionary of Earth Sciences) contains over 7,500 clear and concise entries on all aspects of geology and earth sciences, including planetary science, volcanology, palaeontology, and mineralogy.
The Oxford Companion to the Earth
The Oxford Companion to the Earth is a unique reference work, offering unrivalled coverage of the Earth Sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas.
Treatise on Geophysics
Revised and updated in-depth study of all aspects of geophysics. Includes new volume on Near Surface Geophysics.