Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books & E-Books
There are several ways to find books and e-books at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.
Use InfoHawk+ to search for books and e-books in the UI Libraries' collection.
E-book records are periodically added to the InfoHawk+ catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections.
Search for books and other materials in libraries around the world.
If the Library doesn't have the book you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Science E-Book Collections
E-Book titles are periodically added to the library catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections. For a full list, visit E-Book Collections.
Cambridge E-Book Collection
Offers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
To use the Full Download/Checkout functionality for an eBook, a user must sign into a personal folder.
Elsevier ScienceDirect E-Books This link opens in a new window
Elsevier purchase includes over 450 books published beginning in 2008.
IOP ebooks™ is a book programme that brings together innovative digital publishing with leading voices from across physics to create the essential collection of physics books for a digital world. Subscribed to: 2014.
Springer E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer since 2005.
Wiley E-Books This link opens in a new window
Wiley/Blackwell purchase includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009
Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Space Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
This state-of-the-art reference outlines what astronomers know about the sun, planets, galaxy, and universe as well as the effect of the space environment on human and other biological systems.
James A. Van Allen Papers
The papers of Dr. James A. Van Allen, 1914-, comprise a diverse and rich record of one of the leading scientists in the early exploration and study of the upper atmosphere, the near-Earth space environment, and the solar system using rocket propelled vehicles. The papers span fifty years and provide ample documentation of his central participation in this signal scientific achievement of the 20th century. In addition to detailing Van Allen's productive research career, these records illuminate broader themes in the evolution of science after World War II.
Classification & Constellation Books