Astronomy: Articles

Finding Journal Articles

There are several ways to find journal articles at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.

InfoHawk+
If you know the title of the article you're looking for, search for it in InfoHawk+
Citation Linker
If you have all or part of the citation for the article you're looking for, use the Citation Linker to find it quickly.
Alphabetical List of Databases
If you want to browse through some journal articles by author, topic or keyword, use one or more of these databases. This is a huge list of over 650 databases, so check out the Databases box for some recommendations.
Interlibrary Loan
If the Library doesn't have the article you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.

Astronomy E-Journals

A list of Astronomy E-Journals available from the University of Iowa Libraries. This list is not comprehensive. If you are looking for a particular journal title, please use the A-Z E-Journals search.

AGU Publications
Journals published by the American Geophysical Union

IOPscience
IOPscience is an online service for journal and book content published by IOP Publishing.

Scitation
Scitation is AIP's Online Journal Publishing Service, used to search for conference proceedings, magazine and journal articles and standards.

Preprints

arXiv.org
Open access to 622,863 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Astrophysics and Astronomy Commons
Contains over 1,000 full-text articles submitted by scholars at 50 institutions, including the University of Iowa.
Space Telescope Electronic Preprints

Astronomy Databases

Find astronomy articles and other information with these databases and indexes. Look for in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please ask a librarian.

arXiv.org
Open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
NASA/IPAC Extragalatic Database
NED is a master list of extragalactic objects for which cross-identifications of names have been established, accurate positions and redshifts entered to the extent possible, and some basic data collected. Bibliographic references relevant to individual objects have been compiled, and abstracts of extragalactic interest are kept on line.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8.5 million records.
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
The SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system. SIMBAD can be queried by object name, coordinates and various criteria. Lists of objects and scripts can be submitted. Links to some other on-line services are also provided.

Wiley Online Library
Access all Wiley publications, including AGU journals.

General Science Databases

Find science articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please ask a librarian.

Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
arXiv.org
Collection of electronic pre-prints in various sciences. The archive is based upon activities supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation under agreement with the Los Alamos National Laboratory, and by the U.S. Department of Energy.
Ei Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
Engineering Village features: COMPENDEX is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature. INSPEC includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes 500 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 188,000 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. The Database offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
PubMed
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources.

Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

OSTI.GOV (Previously called: SciTech Connect)
Your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy. SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.
Scopus
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Web of Science
A citation reference that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1899-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1898-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Medline and Journal Citation Reports, among other science and social science reference indexes. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]