Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Astronomy Links and Reference Sources
Astronomy Thesis Collection
This community, curated by astronomy librarians, aims to bring together astronomy and astrophysics theses and dissertations. Share the full-text of your cumulative, graduate or PhD level, research with the world by uploading it as open-access to this subject based community. Once added to the community, it can be indexed by ADS, searched for on Zenodo, and browsed to in the community page. The ADS indexes this community once a month.
A Knowledgebase for Extragalactic Astronomy and Cosmology
NASA Space Flight
Behind the scenes of NASA's space station and space shuttle.
NASA's High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center
The primary archive for NASA missions dealing with extremely energetic phenomena, from black holes to the Big Bang.
National Air and Space Museum
The Smithsonian Institution's National Air and Space Museum maintains the largest collection of historic air and spacecraft in the world. It is also a vital center for research into the history, science, and technology of aviation and space flight, as well as planetary science and terrestrial geology and geophysics.
WebStars: Astrophysics in Cyberspace
List of astronomical resource sites is intended as a resource for users who have a general interest in astronomical topics.
The International Astronomical Union Circulars (IAUCs) are a series of postcard notices giving information about astronomical phenomena requiring prompt dissemination, particularly the discovery and follow-up of novae, supernovae and comets.
Minor Planet Electronic Circulars
The Minor Planet Electronic Circulars (MPECs) carry news on unusual minor planets and some routine material on comets. New discoveries of unusual minor planets (both near-Earth and trans-Neptunian objects) are now announced via these circulars.
Physical Reference Data
A series of online databases hosted by NIST containing physical constants, spectroscopy data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, and other physics data.
Planetary Data Systems
The PDS archives and distributes scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
Equation and Conversion Tools
Conversion of Units
An online conversion calculator from the Institute of Chemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin.
A computational knowledge engine aimed at making systematic knowledge immediately computable and accessible to everyone through collecting and curating objective data.
AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives
The human face of science - 30,000 photos of scientists and their work.
Apollo Image Atlas
The Apollo Image Atlas is a comprehensive collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography. Included are almost 25,000 lunar images, both from orbit and from the moon's surface, as well as photographs of the earth, astronauts and mission hardware.
Astronomy Image Explorer
The Astronomy Image Explorer (AIE) has been designed as a convenient and efficient tool for researchers working in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics to gain access to images published in peer-reviewed journals.
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Each day a different image or photograph of our fascinating universe is featured, along with a brief explanation written by a professional astronomer.
Digital Lunar Orbiter Photographic Atlas of the Moon
The definitive reference manual to the global photographic coverage of the Moon.
View Hubble's spectacular color pictures of stars, planets, galaxies, nebulae and more.
Kennedy Media Gallery
Photos and imagery of activity at NASA's Kennedy Space Center in Florida.
NASA Image Galleries
Search for NASA Images, view the Astronomy Pic or Image of the Day, or browse through Mission Galleries.
NOAO: Image Gallery
The gallery includes pictures taken with the facilities of the National Optical Astronomy Observatory, and also pictures of telescopes, instruments and history.
NRAO Image Gallery
This gallery contains a collection of astronomical images taken with NRAO instruments, as well as photographs of NRAO telescopes and facilities.
ScienceCinema highlights leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy as well as the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, ScienceCinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files. Simply enter a term in the box and start exploring!
Observatories, Laboratories, & Telescopes
National Technical Reports Library
The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users.
NASA Scientific and Technical Information Program
The NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program and its contractor-run facility the NASA Center for AeroSpace Information (CASI) advance aerospace knowledge and contribute to U.S. competitiveness in aerospace research and development. Provides access to the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS).