Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Christ before Pilate
Jacopo Tintoretto: Christ before Pilate, oil on canvas, 5.5×3.8 m, 1566–7 (Venice, Scuola Grande di S Rocco); photo credit: Cameraphoto/Art Resource, NY
The Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
The Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts offers a simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web.
The Gnosis Archive
The Gnosis Archive offers a vast collection of primary texts and resources relating to Gnosticism and the Gnostic Tradition, both ancient and modern.
Search by keyword or scripture references, in your choice of translation and language.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
RECOMMEND USING CHROME; This resource is part of ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS. Includes indexed citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
The Church in the Southern Black Community 1780-1925
This compilation of printed texts from the libraries at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill traces how Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life.
Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions
Full text of all CIC dissertations (including University of Iowa, University of Chicago, University of Illinois, Indiana University, University of Michigan, Michigan State University, University of Minnesota, Northwestern University, Ohio State University, Pennsylvania State University, Purdue University, and University of Wisconsin-Madison) from 1997 to the present. Abstracts are available for earlier dissertations.
Database of Latin Dictionaries
The database will continue to grow gradually and will comprise three kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words historical Latin dictionaries. The aim of the database is not only to integrate different types of Latin dictionaries, whether modern, medieval or early-modern, but also to build in links between these different tools.
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation
Transcriptions and facsimiles of documents "including papal and synodal decrees, catechisms and inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises and systems, liturgical writings, saints’ lives, and devotional works" by Catholic authors of the 16th and 17th centuries.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
An index to over 300 journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed. Time period covered is 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Geographic area is Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included. Publications in English, French,German, and Spanish are currently being indexed.
International Medieval Bibliography
International Medieval Bibliography covers the European Middle Ages (c450-1500). It provides over 300,000 entries from 4,500 periodicals and 5,000 miscellany volumes, published from and including 1967.
Iter : Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter, meaning 'a journey' or 'a path' in Latin, is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the development of online resources.
King James Bible
'Authorized' edition of the Bible (1611). Text is given in full, with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables included. Part of Literature Online (LION).
Library of Latin texts
CLCLT is the world's leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas a Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
New Testament Abstracts
Includes indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-authored books, book reviews, and biblical software programs. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. The capability to search by specific scripture passages is useful.
Old Testament Abstracts
Includes indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) studies. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. The capability to search by specific scripture passages is useful.
State Papers Online. Parts I-IV, and 18th Century, Part I
State Papers Online, 1509-1714 is a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents accessed directly or via the fully searchable Calendar entries (abstracts or transcriptions).
Witchcraft in Europe and America
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period." In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposés of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
The Chinese Recorder and the Protestant Missionary Community in China, 1867-1941
Knowledge was valuable to the Christian missionaries who went to China in the nineteenth century. They wanted to spread the knowledge of Western Christianity and technology to the Chinese, but also they wished to exchange information among themselves about the work they were doing. The need to keep informed about the activities of their counterparts in other locations in the country was evident very soon after they arrived in China. Although the first Protestant missionary reached China in 1807, missionaries were not legally permitted to live in the interior of the country until after the signing of the 1860 treaties between China and Britain and France.
Websites of Interest
In 1991, the Pluralism Project at Harvard University began a pioneering study of America's changing religious landscape. Through an expanding network of affiliates, we document the contours of our multi-religious society, explore new forms of interfaith engagement, study the impact of religious diversity in civic life, and contextualize these findings within a global framework.
Digital Quaker Collection
DQC is a digital library containing full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries. The proprietary software developed for Earlham School of Religion provides multiple search functions and an interface for viewing pages.
Features many religions and beliefs.
Religious Studies Project
The Religious Studies Project (RSP) is an international collaborative enterprise producing weekly podcasts with leading scholars on the social-scientific study of religion.