Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACLS Humanities E-Book
A collection of over 1,700 books of high quality in the humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Only accessible on campus. Contains the content of selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Includes each issue of the magazines Biblical archaeology review, Bible review, and Archaeology odyssey, and the content of five books.
Black Thought and Culture : African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
Black Thought and Culture is a single source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. Black teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other leaders form the mainstay of this corpus. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
Brill E-Books Online
Brill E-Books Online provides access to thousands of publications from 2007 to the present in subjects encompassing Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Language and Linguistics, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy, and Social Sciences.
A collection of books from the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press. (Adobe Acrobat reader is required to view PDF files; QuickTime or RealOne players are required to play audio and video files.)
Making of America
University of Michigan. A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site provides access to 9,500 books and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Contains several full text books, which include hundreds of original medieval history documents compiled for the teaching and study of history.
Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Cross-searchable library containing SELECTIVE full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Health, and Religion.
Cambridge Histories Online
Online access to all the volumes of the Cambridge Histories series. It currently provides access to 61 different works containing over 250 volumes. It covers 14 subject areas including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy and Religion. Religion titles include:The Cambridge History of the Bible, The Cambridge History of Christianity, The Cambridge History of Islam, The Cambridge History of Judaism.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects.
Encyclopedia of Religion
This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century.
The landmark Encyclopaedia Judaica, lauded as the standard work on Judaism since first appearing in the early 1970s, has been extensively revised and expanded for this long-awaited new edition. Nothing compromised, included are more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. Expanding the scope and relevance of this invaluable set are more than 2,600 brand-new entries, many focusing on gender issues and
World Religions Reference Library
Religion influences the views and actions of many people, in both political and personal ways. To make sense of many historical and current events, to learn how many people find meaning and purpose in their lives, students and the general public need to understand the development and doctrines of the world's religions. UXL's World Religions Reference Library meets the demand for a thorough, objective resource covering the history, traditions and worldviews of dominant and less prominent religion
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
The Encyclopedia of Science and Religion addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions. The multidisciplinary 2-vol. set reaches far into the humanities as well as into the physical sciences and technology. In addition, controversial issues such as human cloning and stem cell research are examined along with more traditional questions such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion.
Religion and Violence: An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict from Antiquity to the Present
International and interdisciplinary--as well as historical and contemporary--in scope and coverage, this encyclopedia provides background information and authoritative analysis on a broad array of questions and issues related to the intersection of religion and violence. It offers a comprehensive but concise approach to the most important individuals, historical events, groups and practices, theories, movements and processes, causes and effects connected to religious-driven violence.
Encyclopedia of African Religion
African religion has increasingly captured the attention of social scientists, philosophers, and humanists as new ethical and moral issues have expanded the desire for a science of cultural knowledge capable of advancing a multidimensional portrait of humanity's responses to environment, relationships, and uncertainty. Involving numerous theoretical and methodological approaches to the emergence of ethical, moral, and ritual ideas, the field of African religion has tended toward a unification of
Religion and the State: An International Analysis of Roles and Relationships
The interaction between church and state takes many forms around the world today. In the U.S. Constitution, the two are declared separate, while a number of countries where religion plays a significant role in government policy avoid defining the relationship altogether. Then there are the outright theocracies, where church and state are not only inseparable, but indistinguishable.
Encyclopedia of American Religions
The work combines topical essays on significant developments in the confluence of religion and law throughout the world with short descriptions of each countries' current treatment of religion. Readers can investigate specific nations, compare situations across nations, and explore key issues in the pervasive, often controversial relationship between religion and government.
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, it is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields.