Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Krishna and Radha in a Lotus Pond
Photo: © Asian Art Archives, University of Michigan
BuddhaNet™ is the result of a vision to link up with the growing world-wide culture of people committed to the Buddha's teachings and lifestyle, as an on-line cyber sangha. In this way, an ancient tradition and the information superhighway will come together to create an electronic meeting place of shared concern and interests.
Digital South Asia Library
The Digital South Asia Library, a project of the Center for Research Libraries and the University of Chicago, provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS This link opens in a new window
RECOMMEND USING CHROME; Contains the complete contents of Religion Index One (journal literature in religion from 1949-present), Religion Index Two (multi-author works, such as Festschriften, conference proceedings, and other volumes of collected articles and essays, 1960-present), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. Included are article citations from some 650 journals and essay citations from over 14,000 multi-author works as well as book review citations.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
RECOMMEND USING CHROME; This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Buddhism is the first comprehensive academic reference work devoted to the plurality of Buddhist traditions across Asia, offering readers a balanced and detailed treatment of this complex phenomenon in six thematically arranged volumes. Each volume contains substantial original essays by many of the world’s foremost scholars, essays which not only cover basic information and well-known issues but which also venture into areas as yet untouched by modern scholarship. An essential tool for anyone interested in Buddhism.
An online resource will provide easy access to the encyclopedia’s ever-growing corpus of information.
Encyclopedia of China This link opens in a new window
The essential reference to China, its history and culture.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields--ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9
Access to Insight
Site provides information on Theravada Buddhism with translations and commentaries.
Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Asian Classics Input Project (ACIP)
Asian Classics Input Project (ACIP) is an educational organization dedicated to preserving ancient Asian philosophical texts and manuscripts and making them available through electronic media.website that provides Bibliographical information on philosophical literature of the Classical period in India, as well as secondary scholarly works on the same topic
World Religions Online This link opens in a new window
Information on the major world religions including beliefs, practices, history, spiritual leaders, holy days and festivals, and sacred texts. Includes essays, image galleries, timelines, and videos.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Buddhism
This resource includes an overview of the scholarly study of many aspects of Buddhism and gives selected book and article suggestions for finding more information. The articles are written by top scholar in the fields, making this an authoritative guide to current scholarship. Choose "Buddhism" from the top subject menu before browsing or searching.
Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies
A website that provides Bibliographical information on philosophical literature of the Classical period in India, as well as secondary scholarly works on the same topic.
Buddhist Digital Resource Center
The Buddhist Digital Resource Center is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to seeking out, preserving, organizing, and disseminating Buddhist literature. Joining digital technology with scholarship, BDRC ensures that the ancient wisdom and cultural treasures of the Buddhist literary tradition are not lost, but are made available for future generations.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
To download images users MUST register for a personal account.
MOBILE USERS: For Apple: mobile.artstor.org. For Android: Download app from Google Play.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
This dictionary contains over 38,000 entries, including Buddhist terms, texts, schools, temples, and persons. Entries range in scope from short glossary type, to full-length encyclopedic articles. Now supported by dozens of collaborators with specialist's expertise in a wide range of areas in Buddhist studies, this dictionary is expanding as collaborators continue to add or revise entries.