Proquest Historical Newspapers
The Proquest Historical Newspapers offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Each newspaper collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Users can cross-search titles.
- Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1931 - 2003
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1909 - 1975
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Chicago Tribune, 1849-1998 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1849 - 1993
- Des Moines Register (1871-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Detroit Free Press, 1831-1922 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- Iowa City Press Citizen (1965-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Iowa Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Des Moines Register (1871-2008) and the Iowa City Press-Citizen (1965-2008).
- Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1934 - 2005
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Minneapolis Star Tribune, 1867-2001 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1922 - 1993
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - New York Times, 1851-2019 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1851 - 2013
- Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1911 - 2002
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, 1874-2003 (Proquest Historical newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2011 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1889-2000
- Washington Post, 1877-2006 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1877-2000
International Papers
-------------------------------------------------------- - Guardian and The Observer, 1791-2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage The Guardian: (1821-2003)
Coverage The Observer: (1791-2003) - Times of India, 1838-2010 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1838-2004
Historical Newspaper Collections - US
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text content and images from a range of urban and rural newspapers throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new windowComplete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
UI access includes Parts I - XII. - African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new windowIncludes Series 1 (1827-1998) AND Series 2 (1835-1956). Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers is a record of African American history, culture, and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new windowContains 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876.
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3 and 6-7 This link opens in a new windowFor searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 17th,18th, 19th and 20th centuries, Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 is the most comprehensive online resource available. This expanding collection offers fully searchable digital facsimiles of more than 1,500 titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, matrimony and death notices and more, Early American Newspapers provides a chronicle of the evolution of American history, culture and daily life across three centuries.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Civil War Resources
- Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles taken from issues of The New York herald, The Charleston mercury and the Richmond enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Includes news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements, and biographies. Also includes articles describing other than military concerns of the day, such as travel, arts and leisure, sports, social events, etc.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
http://www.loc.gov/chroniclingamerica/
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
British Newspapers
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database consists of the British Library's collection of the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Reverend Charles Burney. Although the majority is published in London, there are some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, as well as a handful of examples from the American colonies. It includes over 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries
- 19th Century British Newspapers, (aka British Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis database features British newspapers from the 19th century selected by the British Library's editorial board. Many of the newspapers are available in complete runs, and all are searchable full-text.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2007 This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Current issues of The