This is the "Home" page of the "African American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African American Studies   Tags: african_american, american_history  

A guide to resources in African American Studies, includes UIowa and web resources.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/afamstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

University Archives

Resource Guide to African American Students at the University of Iowa

This guide describes materials available in the University of Iowa Archives, Department of Special Collections, that pertain to African American students who attended the University of Iowa.

 

Archive Finder

Archive Finder including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland

Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Powerful searching integrated with detailed subject indexing helps researchers to uncover historical collections.

 

Smart Search


Smart Search allows you search a variety of University of Iowa Libraries resources at once.
 

African American Women in Iowa

 

 Esther Walls with a disc jockey and Tony Bennett for a teenage program at the Donnell Library Center, New York, N.Y., 1956

Finding aid for the Esther J. Walls collection at the Iowa Women's Archives.

African American Women in Iowa Digital Collection: This digital collection of photographs, news clippings, pamphlets, scrapbooks, directories, and newsletters documents the experience of African American women in Iowa during the twentieth century. The digital collection, ca. 1924-1970, represents a small portion of the many collections in the Iowa Women’s Archives on the history of African American women in Iowa.  Click here to see a complete list.

The Iowa Women's Archives currently holds over 900 collections of Iowa women and their organizations, check out what's available here.

  

Janalyn Moss

Profile Image
Janalyn Moss

NAACP @ The Library of Congress

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip