Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Web Resources
African American Poetry
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper. Part of Literature Online (LION).
African-American Women: On-line Archival Collection
The content for this website derives from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, and provides access to online archival collections featuring scanned pages and texts of the writings of African-American women.
Amistad Research Center
An independent manuscripts library dedicated to preserving African American and ethnic history and culture.
Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC)
Established in 1991, AAAMC is a repository of materials covering various musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.
Association of African American Museums
The Association of African American Museums (AAAM) is a non-profit membership organisation for black museums, cultural institutions and black museum professionals in America.
Black Quotidian: Everyday History in African-American Newspapers
Black Quotidian explores everyday lives of African Americans in the twentieth century, drawing on an archive of digitized African-American newspapers.
BlackPast and the United States of America
BlackPast.org, an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet. These materials include an online encyclopedia of over 4,000 entries, the complete transcript of more than 300 speeches by African Americans, other people of African ancestry, and those concerned about race, given between 1789 and 2016, over 140 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines and six gateway pages with links to digital archive collections, African and African American museums and research centers, genealogical research websites, and more than 200 other website resources on African American and global African history.
TheBlackPast.org : an online reference guide to African American history
This website has been created by staff associated with the University of Washington, Seattle. It provides free access to materials relating to Black African American history from the 18th Century to the present day.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.
Center for Black Music Research
The Centre for Black Music Research (CBMR), is a research unit of Columbia College Chicago, and is "devoted to research, preservation, and dissemination of information about the history of black music on a global scale".
Frederick Douglass Papers
The Frederick Douglass Papers provide full-text access to a wealth of materials relating to the life, work, and legacy of African-American slave and anti-slavery campaigner Frederick Douglass.
HistoryMakers : African American history archive
HistoryMakers is an American non-profit educational institution. It seeks to promote recognisition of the recognition of black African Americans to the history and culture of the USA.
In Motion: African American Migration Experience
It is an invaluable source for the study of Black American history, providing free access to over 16,000 texts, 8,000 images and 60 maps relating to Black migration movements from the 15th - 21st century.
Mary Ann Shad Cary Collection (Digital Harlem)
Included in the papers are correspondence, articles, speeches, editorials, reports, documents, printed material, and programs relating to Mary Ann Shadd Cary's activities in the U.S. and Canada as editor of the Provincial Freeman, as a strong supporter of Women's Suffrage and as an army recruiter.
Let Your Motto Be Resistance: African American Portraits
This site provides free access to an online exhibition from the National Portrait Gallery. It comprises a collection of photographs of key figures from the African American community from the 19-20th Centuries.
Lynching in America: Confronting the Legacy of Racial Terror
This site features painful stories of America's history of racial injustice. Features the most comprehensive work done on lynching to date.
From 1830 until well after the Civil War, free and fugitive Blacks came together in state and national political "Colored Conventions." Before the war, they strategized about how to achieve educational, labor and legal justice at a moment when Black rights were constricting nationally and locally. And after the war, they continued to convene to discuss local, national and international possibilities, problems and challenges.
This project seeks to not only learn about the lives of these male delegates, the places where they met and the social networks that they created but to also account for the crucial work done by Black women in the broader social networks that made these conventions possible.
Say it Plain: A Century of Great African American Speeches
Provides access to materials relating to an American Radio Works documentary on famous Black American speeches of the 20th Century.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
A national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Has information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove. Part of Literature Online (LION).