242 original negatives and 209 photographic prints documenting Japanese American Internment at Manzanar by Ansel Adams. Photographs are searchable and also browsable by subject (LC Subject Headings).

Ansel Adams' book "Born Free and Equal, Photographs of the Loyal Japanese-Americans at Manzanar Relocation Center, Inyo County, California" is also available in PDF format. UI Libraries has a copy in Special Collections x-Collection F870.J3 A57

Japanese American Life Before and During Internment:
Professional photographers, including Dorothea Lange, were commissioned by the WRA to document the daily life and treatment of Japanese Americans during WWII.

This report provides an overview of the tangible remains currently left at the sites of the Japanese

More than 240 interviews (with glossary and transcript), and approximately 2,100 photos and documents (with scanned images and full text) are available. Browsing by topic in archives (Incarceration Camps → Publication), you will find selected issues of Manzanar Free Press, Tulean Dispatch, and Minidoka Irrigator.
**Registration is required to use the archive. It will take a few days to receive your password.

Developed by the International Nikkei Research Project, a multi-year project coordinated by the Japanese merican National Museum and supported by the Nippon Foundation. Interview video clips of Nikkei people are available under Real People section. Other resources available on this site include Encyclopedia of Nikkei Migration, Directory of Nikkei Collections, and Military Experience Database.

This website "utilizes a rich collection of video clips as a starting point for examining the many aspects and implications of the Japanese American internment." Essays and video clips explore topics related to World War II and prewar discrimination, experiences in the internment camps, and the postwar period and impact of the internment camps today. Produced by the National Asian American Telecommunications Association (NAATA).

This site was created to give researchers access to primary and other hard to find documentation concerning the evacuation, relocation, and internment of individuals of Japanese ancestry during World War II.

This website "presents about 1400 images in a searchable database of selected photographs and images of artifacts related to the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II." Search, or browse by medium (artifact, document, or photograph) or curricular materials by topic (such as daily life and ceremonies and holidays). From the Special Collections and University Archives of California State University, Sacramento.

This site "Provides enhanced access to the UW Libraries holdings on the incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II. Included in the project is a virtual exhibit focusing on the Puyallup assembly center, Camp Harmony, and enhanced access to archival guides and inventories of the UW Libraries Manuscripts and University Archives Division."

Includes Clara Breed Collection (correspondance), George Hoshida Collection (visual diary), Estelle Ishigo Collection (drawings, sketches, and watercolors), and Henry Sugimoto Collection (paintings)

This searchable collection of over 200 photographs from the Los Angeles Examiner "documents the relocation of Japanese Americans in California during World War II [primarily from 1941-1946]." Most of the photos cover life in the camps at Manzanar, Santa Anita, Tanforan, and Tule Lake, and post-war repatriation to Japan. From the Digital Archive, University of Southern California (USC).

Thematic collection is available through the California Digital Library's (CDL) Online Archive of California (OAC). Contributing members include JANM, UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library, UCLA's Young Research Library Department of Special Collections, etc. Over 10,000 digital images and 20,000 pages of electronic transcriptions of documents and oral histories.

The National Japanese American Student Relocation Council records including correspondence, newsletters, and meeting minutes are available from the University of Oregon Libraries. During the World War II, efforts were made by the West coast universities to prevent Japanese American students to be interned.

This collection documents the experiences of Japanese Americans in Hawai'i during the World War II. Many Japanese Americans from Hawai'i joined the U.S. troops. Some resources are made available online.

This site describes Japanese Americans in the Columbia River Basin area of Idaho, Oregon, and Washington state. Provides history from the 1880s when legislation excluding "Chinese immigration created demands for new immigrant labor." Describes Japanese arrivals, labor, communities, associations, and culture, as well as discrimination, World War II, and recovery during the postwar era. Includes a bibliography and searchable database of historical materials.

This site focuses on the experiences of Japanese Americans in World War II Arkansas. In an appealing open book format, it provides history, educational links, materials and resources for teachers and the public, reading lists, a timeline, archival photos, recent press articles, downloadable posters, panoramic views, maps pinpointing Rohwer and Jerome camps, and driving directions from Little Rock.

"This exhibit explores this period when racial prejudice and fear upset the delicate balance between the rights of the citizen and the power of the state." It discusses Japanese immigration to the United States, the relocation of Japanese Americans to camps during World War II, their loyalty and military service, and their post-war struggle for justice. From the National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution.

The Library of Occidental College seeks to make known its unique collection of materials regarding the Japanese American relocation and evacuation during World War II. These historical documents were preserved through the efforts of President Remsen DuBois Bird and College Librarian, Elizabeth McCloy, in the mid-1940’s.

Other useful information available at the website includes finding aids, bibliography of related resources at UH Library, web resources, list of organizations, and timeline from the Hawaii War Records Depository.

This collection provides access to digitized resources related to Topaz Relocation Center including school yearbooks of Topaz students and a camp literary magazine.

A searchable and browsable collection of over 7,000 photographs and 300 Kodachrome slides taken by the War Relocation Authority (WRA) during World War II, documenting the internment of Japanese and Japanese Americans evacuated from California, Oregon, and Washington state. Also includes images of pre-evacuation and resettlement. Includes hundreds of photographs by Dorothea Lange. From the Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. A part of the Online Archive of California (OAC).