Skip to Main Content
Skip to content
University of Iowa

University Libraries

Japanese American Internment: Books

This guide serves as an introduction to resources on Japanese American Internment during World War II.

Search Terms

Possible Keywords/Terms (not exhaustive):

Dentention            Incarceration            Internment            Relocation            Evacuation
Assembly             20th Century             United States        History                 Japanese Americans  
Reparations          Redress                    Resettlement       Executive Order 9066 

Your search terms can address specific:

Geographic Areas/Locations (e.g. California, Manzanar, etc.)
Individuals (e.g. Franklin D. Roosevelt, James Hirabayashi, etc.)
Populations (e.g. women, family, immigrants, Asians, etc.)         

Identifying Primary Sources in the InfoHawk Catalog:

Keywords/subject words you can use in combination with other search terms to locate primary sources in the InfoHawk catalog:

autobiographies               correspondence               diaries               documents/documentary
interviews                        letters                                manuscripts      memoirs
narratives                        sources                             speeches

 

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCHS) reflect the subject content of materials. They facilitate the uniform access and retrieval of items in any library in the world using the same search strategy. Components of LCSH can also reflect an item’s genre, format, geography, population/group, and time period information.

 

Examples of LCSHs:

Internal security -- United States -- History

Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945 (See Heading Information)

Manzanar War Relocation Center

World War, 1939-1945 -- Concentration camps -- United States

World War, 1939-1945 -- Evacuation of civilians

World War, 1939-1945 -- Japanese Americans

 

Selected Reference Materials in the Main Library

American Decades Primary Sources Vol. 5 (1940-1949) - Main Reference Collection FOLIO E169.1.A471978 2004 

Atlas of Asian American History – Main Reference Collection FOLIO E184.O6 A89 2002 

The Columbia Documentary History of the Asian American Experience – Main Reference  Collection      E184.O6 C63 2002                  

Dictionary of American History - Main Reference Collection FOLIO E174 .D52 2003 

Encyclopedia of American History - Main Reference Collection FOLIO E174 .E53 2003 

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture - Main Reference Collection E169.12 .E49 2001 

Encyclopedia of Japanese American History:  An A-to-Z reference from 1868 to the Present -Main Reference Collection E184.J3 E53 2001 (Updated edition)
 
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century - Main Reference Collection FOLIO E740.7.E53 1996 

The Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History – Main Reference Collection FOLIO D740.E516 2005

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - Main Reference Collection  FOLIO E184.A1 G14 1995 

Japanese American History: An A-to-Z Reference from 1868 to the Present - Main Reference Collection  FOLIO E184.J3 J3355 1993 

World War II: An Eyewitness History - Main Reference Collection FOLIO D769.S36 2003

WorldCat

WorldCat
You aren't limited to what you can find at the University of Iowa Libraries. If you can't find what you need in InfoHawk, try Worldcat, a catalog with materials from thousands of libraries worldwide.Once you find what you need, you can request the book through our Interlibrary loan service.

Note: This is not for the procrastinator.You will need to allow at least a week for your request to be processed and the item shipped here from another location.

Google Book

Google Book Search