The University of Iowa Libraries is a regional depository for United States Federal Government information sources. It has been a depository for US sources since the late 19th Century. Most publications since 1976, including many electronic-only, are included in InfoHawk+. Materials include government reports, Congressional committee hearings and supporting documentation, various censuses, and statistical publications.

The Libraries is also a depository for the State of Iowa, the European Union, and the United Nations.

Materials is housed throughout the Main Library and in many campus libraries..

Some useful web sites

Census Bureau

United States Census Bureau offers a wealth of statistical sources and analysis. The Decennial Census carried out every 10 years is only one activity of many conducted by the Bureau. The Economic Census and Statistical Abstract of the United States are other worthwhile publications you may find useful.

CQ Electronic Library
CQ Electronic Library (CQEL) is an extensive reference resource comprised of fourteen separate modules, each with its own focus, for researching American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

Iowa Publications On-line
An on-line archive of digital materials produced by Iowa state agencies.

Iowa State Data Center
"The State Data Center of Iowa is your source for population, housing, business and government statistics about Iowa, including data from the U.S. Census Bureau, Iowa state agencies, and other state and federal sources."

Proquest Congressional
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. It includes the following U.S. Congressional materials: members and committees, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee prints, documents, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports.CRS reports are particularly compelling because they provide summaries of topics and issues facing policy makers.

Proquest Statistical
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations. Many of these source materials are only available in Microfiche in the Reference department.

Library of Congress American Memory
Collection of digitized material from the Library of Congress of "written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary provides comparative statistics from the 30 member states (industrialized nations) of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, as well as development statistics from other countries. Includes an interactive data browser as well as PDF downloadable files.

United Nations Regional Economic Commissions

• ECE – Economic Commission for Europe. Geneva. (Europe, North America)
• ECLAC – Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Santiago, Chile.
• ECA – Economic Commission for Africa. Addis Ababa.
• ESCAP – Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. Bangkok.
• ESCWA – Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia. Amman.

Working Paper Series (National Bureau of Economic Research)
"Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community."

World Bank Open Knowledge Network
"The collection consists of over 1,800 World Bank publications and over 2,700 Policy Research Working Papers"