Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Allergy and Immunology Textbooks
Allergic Diseases by In this updated third edition, expert physicians assemble user-friendly, clinically-oriented guides to aid in the day-to-day management of the allergic patient. With an emphasis on common allergic diseases and the pharmacological tools to control them, this book disseminates the practical knowledge that practitioners have accumulated through practice and teaching. Three new chapters focus on antihistamines, antileukotrienes, and children experiencing recurrent respiratory tract infections. This book is intended for the front-line physician who cares for allergic patients. It will help any physician improve the care offered to those patients.
Publication Date: 2007-12-06
Allergy in Practice by Allergy is one of the major health problems of most modern societies. Although allergic diseases are well-known for almost two hundred years, their prevalence has increased dramatically over the last decades. Allergic reactions manifest in various organs, most commonly in the skin and mucous membranes, the frontier surfaces where the contact between the individual and the environment takes place. In a very concise and practical way this book covers all aspects of allergic reactions from pathophysiology to diagnosis, therapy and prevention with a strong focus on relevant aspects for the everyday work of the practising dermatologist and allergist in the hospital or office. This book reflects the rich personal experience of a German allergist with international training and reputation, who is active in immunology and allergy research and practice for almost 30 years. In this book, not only IgE-mediated allergic reactions are covered but all other kinds of allergies such as atopic eczema, contact dermatitis, drug eruptions, anaphylaxis and food allergies are equally represented as well as psychosomatic aspects and problems of environmental intolerances.
Publication Date: 2006-01-16
Janeway's Immunobiology by Janeway's Immunobiologyis a textbook that introduces the immune system in all its aspects to undergraduates, and also provides a treatment of the subject that is comprehensive enough to be useful to graduate students interested in research, and to medical students focused on clinical applications. The Eighth Edition has been thoroughly revised and updated and is available in both print and e-book formats. Janeway's Immunobiologycontinues to set the standard for currency and authority with its clear writing style and organization, uniform art program, and scientific accuracy. It presents a consistent point of view throughout--that of the host's interaction with an environment containing many species of potentially harmful microorganisms. The full-color art program is conceptually coherent and illustrates the processes and mechanisms underlying the concepts in the text. The 16 chapters in this readable, accessible textbook are organized and presented in such a way as to help deliver a complete one-semester immunology course, beginning with innate immunity, then moving to adaptive immunity, and ending with applied clinical immunology. Discussion questions are provided at the end of Chapters 2 to 16. These questions can be used for review, or as the basis for discussion in class or in informal study groups. Summaries conclude each section and each chapter. As in previous editions, a caduceus icon in the margins indicates topics which are correlated to Case Studies in Immunology, Sixth Edition by Geha and Notarangelo. New in the Eighth Edition Innate immunityhas been updated and expanded and is now presented in two separate chapters (Chapters 2 and 3), as well as being further emphasized in the rest of the textbook. Chapter 2 covers antimicrobial peptides and the complement system, and Chapter 3 deals with cellular innate receptors and cell-mediated innate immunity (e.g. TLRs, phagocytosis, NK cells, interferon production, innate-like lymphocytes). The section on complementhas been reworked and reconceived--explaining the lectin pathway first--making it easier to teach by placing it into the context of innate recognition. Evolutionis now incorporated throughout the text, helping students see similar strategies used by different organisms. The text and figures of Chapter 7 Signaling Through Immune System Receptorshave been revised to present a cohesive synthesis of signalingfor immunology, focusing on improved illustration of antigen recognition signaling and lymphocyte activation. Signaling through other receptors is dealt with wherever appropriate throughout the book. Updated chapter on B-cell immune responses(Chapter 10), especially on trafficking of B cells in peripheral lymphoid organs (e.g. lymph nodes) and the locations at which they encounter antigen. Coverage of mucosal immunity(Chapter 12) has been brought up to date, including responses to the commensal microbiota and the role of specialized dendritic cells and the regulatory T cells in maintaining tolerance to food antigens and commensal bacteria. Chapter 13, Failures of Host Defense Mechanisms, has been reorganized and revised to structure an understanding of primary immunodeficiencies in the context of developmental pathways. Chapter 16, Manipulation of the Immune Response, has been heavily revised to include a greater emphasis on clinical issues and a complete update of immunotherapeutics and vaccines. Many new and revised figuresillustrate the processes and mechanisms underlying the concepts presented in the text. The iconsused have been updated and expanded to incorporate a new emphasis on signaling pathways. New referenceshave been added throughout the text.
Call Number: Hardin Library for Health Sciences Permanent Reserve (QR181 .I396 2012 )
Publication Date: 2011-07-25
Middleton's Allergy: Principles and Practice by Boasting a worldwide reputation as the leading text in allergy and immunology, Middleton's Allergy continues its steadfast tradition of providing comprehensive coverage of state-of-the-art basic science, as well as authoritative guidance on the clinical concepts of day-to-day diagnosis and management of allergic disorders. Offering timely information that's suited for clinicians and researchers alike, Middleton's is a user-friendly and versatile source for the knowledge you need to provide optimal care to your patients! "A valuable source of reference and pre-sifted information ...the editors are to be commending in keeping the book up-to-date and clinically valuable." Reviewed by: Imnunology News, March 2015 Stay on top of continuous new developments in clinical allergy and immunology through online access to the Expert Consult site, which will feature regular updates as well as the fully searchable contents. Find all of the information you need quickly and easily with a glossary of allergy and immunology terms; highlighted key points for each chapter; hundreds of crystal-clear images with a full-color format, and access to relevant websites. Apply the latest scientific knowledge and clinical applications with new chapters on Innate and Adaptive Immunity, Immune Tolerance, Immunobiology of IgE and Its Receptors, Resolution of Allergic Inflammation, and Particulate and Allergen Interactions, plus sweeping updates throughout. Take full advantage of the major advances in asthma pathogenesis and management with significant updates on diagnosis, treatment, and special aspects of asthma. Obtain the best results from the newest therapeutics for allergic and immunologic diseases through an expanded discussion of immunotherapy that includes new chapters on Sublingual Immunotherapy, Biologics and Immunosuppressives in Asthma, and Alternative and Complementary Therapies.
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Pediatric Allergy, Asthma and Immunology by Easy to understand and easy to use, this essential book reflects the rapid progress in one of the most intriguing fields of medicine. It offers state-of-the-art information on basic immunology, fetal-neonatal immunology, and many more fascinating areas.
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
Patch Testing and Prick Testing by Knowledge in the field of allergic contact dermatitis continues to expand rapidly owing to progress in the chemical, immunological, and clinical fields, including improved techniques of patch testing and prick testing. The third edition of this important book, which includes additional color illustrations, has been extensively revised, updated, and expanded to reflect the most recent developments. These include advances in patch testing methodology, in particular the new chambers that are appearing on the market, revision of the baseline series of patch tests to reflect the latest evidence-based work, and additional testing procedures. The result is a superb guide to the current management of positive and negative patch test and prick test reactions that will be invaluable for all practicing dermatologists, from the beginner to the well-trained expert.
Publication Date: 2012-02-27
Cellular and Molecular Immunology by The top required and recommended immunology text worldwide, Cellular and Molecular Immunology by Drs. Abul K. Abbas, Andrew H. H. Lichtman, and Shiv Pillai, is a clear, well-written, and superbly illustrated introduction to the field. The 9th Edition retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area. Highlights the implications of immunologic science for the management of human disease, emphasizing clinical relevance throughout. Provides a highly visual, full-color description of the key immunologic and molecular processes with a fully updated, comprehensive, and consistent art program. Helps readers grasp the details of experimental observations that form the basis for the science of immunology at the molecular, cellular, and whole-organism levels and draw the appropriate conclusions. Includes summary boxes that assist with rapid review and mastery of key material. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and animations, designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. Features updates from cover to cover, including tumor immunity (tumor antigens, cancer immunotherapy), immune checkpoints, cytosolic sensors for DNA, non-canonical inflammasomes, prionization as a signaling mechanism, monogenic defects in immunity, and more.
Publication Date: 2017-05-11
Allergy & Immunology Guide