Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Endocrinology and Metabolism Textbooks
Autoimmune Diseases in Endocrinology by This is a comprehensive and novel text that examines key features that predispose individuals to autoimmune diseases. The first section details the basic mechanism of autoimmunity and examines immunogenetic and environmental factors in autoimmunity. The next section examines autoimmune thyroid disease. The third section takes a look at Type 1 diabetes mellitus. In the final section, authors explain other autoimmune endocrinopathies.
Publication Date: 2007-12-26
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology by The renowned one-stop guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings - now in full color 270+ full-color photographs and illustrations! A Doody's Core Title for 2015! 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This is an excellent overview of the basic physiology and clinical aspects of endocrinology for trainees. The size of the book and the well-written text, supported by visual aids, make this a convenient book to read and develop a beginning foundation in endocrinology."--Doody's Review Service Greenspan's Basic & Clinical Endocrinology, 9e delivers a succinct, leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs, Greenspan's is a true must-have during traditional or integrated courses in endocrinology, endocrinology rotation, or for exam prep in internal medicine and endocrinology. Greenspan's provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Supporting this essential material is a handy appendix of normal hormone reference ranges. Features Concise, balanced coverage of both scientific and clinical principles The best source for current concepts in endocrine pathophysiology to aid clinical decision making Important new approaches to the medical management of endocrine disorders, including therapeutic recommendations The most practical, current insights into diagnostic testing More than 270 full-color illustrations and clinical photographs
Publication Date: 2011-06-23
Endocrine Physiology by The best endocrine review available for the USMLE Step 1 The fourth edition of Endocrine Physiology provides comprehensive coverage of the basic science and anatomy behind endocrine function. With its focus on must-know principles, Endocrine Physiolology is the best review available for the USMLE Step 1 and the perfect reference for residents and fellows. NEW! boxed clinical case scenarios enable students to apply information to real life scenarios Learning aids include objectives, key concepts, a summary, and review questions Covers the principles of endocrinology and metabolism on a system-by-system, organ-by-organ basis
Publication Date: 2013-01-31
Endocrinology by Traditionally, endocrinology textbooks have been either short notes or multi-author, multi-volume monster, all of which present clinical material last and often only briefly. Endocrinology is different and used real cases to lead readers into the text and then describes the biochemistry, physiology, and anatomy they need to understand the case. The user-friendly design utilizes colour-coded boxes to highlight the basic scientific and clinical material required and also to describe the latest more advanced evidence. Typical clinical cases are included, along with more idiosyncratic cases to capture attention and highlight the cross-disciplinary nature of medicine. Endocrinology is the first book to address the requirement for integrated basic science and clinical practice, to encourage problem-based learning, and to lead readers deep into the subject. Unique benefits: * integrates basics sciences and clinical practice * features more real clinical cases than any similar book to emphasize problem-based learning * comprehensive and yet approachable * includes a comprehensive range of questions and answers to test understanding
Publication Date: 2001-06-15
Endocrinology by Maintaining the original goal of the first edition to integrate the basic science of endocrinology with its physiological and clinical principles, this new edition succinctly summarizes in 450 pages the latest findings on hormone secretion and hormone action, as well as all the most recent insights into the physiology and pathophysiology of hormonal disorders. Coverage extends across the entire spectrum of endocrinology-from mammalian cells, plants, and insects to animal models and human diseases-with much increased coverage of diabetes and metabolism. Highlights include cutting-edge discussions of appetite disorders, obesity, reproductive failure, control of thyroid function, hormone action in man and the lower species, and the mechanisms subserving hormone secretion.
Publication Date: 2007-11-05
Evidence-Based Endocrinology by Internationally recognized experts, pioneers, and opinion makers in evidence-based medicine (EBM) provocatively recast endocrine policy and practice in the light of EBM philosophy and principles. The authors explain the past, present, and future of EBM; consider its practical implications for endocrinology; demonstrate what the "evidence base" is in EBM; and present illustrative case studies by practicing evidence-based clinicians. Highlights include essays on why cost-effective analyses are problematic, the contrast between clinical investigations and large randomized trials, the role of Cochrane reviews and meta-analyses, and the curriculum requirements for training evidence-based endocrinologists.
Publication Date: 2007-11-05
Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus by In this practical book, the authors of each chapter have synthesized the currently available evidence regarding specific issues in diabetes care. The chapters have been written by an interdisciplinary team of scientists and medical professionals. Such an approach emphasizes the need for collaboration in the care of any individual with diabetes and in the effort to find new therapies for the disease. This reference provides practical guidance in a single resource.
Publication Date: 2008-04-29
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology by For more than 65 years, Williams Textbook of Endocrinology has been the gold standard in the field, delivering authoritative guidance on every aspect of adult and pediatric endocrine system disorders. The 13th Edition has been thoroughly updated by Drs. Shlomo Melmed, Kenneth S. Polonsky, P. Reed Larsen, and Henry M. Kronenberg, to bring you state-of-the-art coverage of diabetes, metabolic syndrome, obesity, thyroid disease, testicular disorders, and much more, all designed to help you provide optimal care to every patient. Bridging the gap between basic science and clinical information, it is an essential, relevant resource for endocrinologists, endocrine surgeons, gynecologists, internists, and pediatricians - any clinician who needs the most reliable coverage available on the diverse features across the spectrum of endocrine disease. Obtain a better understanding of both scientific insight and clinical data from the classic reference that delivers the current information you need in a highly illustrated, user-friendly format. Stay up to date with expanded discussions of autoimmune thyroid diseases, mechanisms, and the appropriate treatment of the ophthalmopathy of Graves' disease; a new section on the interpretation of fine needle aspiration results in patients with thyroid nodules; and new coverage of when and when not to use radioiodine in the treatment of patients with thyroid cancer. Update your knowledge and skills with all-new chapters on Genetics of Endocrine Disease, Endocrinology of Population Health, and Laboratory Techniques for Recognition of Endocrine Disorders. Confidently manage any clinical endocrinopathy you may encounter thanks to new information on recent FDA-approved drugs for pituitary disorders, a new focus on pediatrics, and new content on diabetes, obesity, and appetite control. Benefit from the expertise of dynamic new contributors who offer fresh perspectives throughout.
Publication Date: 2015-11-30
American Dietetic Association Guide to Diabetes Medical Nutrition Therapy and Education by Medical nutrition therapy plays an integral role in the management in diabetes. This comprehensive guide is an evidence-based review of MNT and the Nutrition Care Process and a practical reference of diabetes management tools and nutrition education. Covering practice guidelines, outcomes evaluation, nutrition assessments, goal-setting, behavior change and interventions, this guide is a must-have resource for health-care professionals serving the diabetes community.
Call Number: Hardin Library for Health Sciences Stacks RC662 .A435 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-01