Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes text of two books (Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice and The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis), education guides, glossary, calculators, worksheets, question wizards, weekly RSS feed of featured JAMA articles, compiled clinical scenarios, podcasts, and user-level customization features.
BMJ Best Practice
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.
DynaMed Plus (Dynamic Medical Information System) is a quick and easy-to-use medical reference system designed for use at the point of care. It contains clinically organized summaries of thousands of topics and is updated several times daily from review of the research literature. Providing the most current, unbiased, evidence-based information to enable physicians to help them provide the best care possible to their patients, DynaMed is a useful resource in clinical, educational and research settings. USE IE 11+, Firefox, Chrome or Edge
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet
). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Search by Clinical Study Category: This feature enables a quick search for different study types: etiology, diagnosis, therapy and prognosis. Always use the narrow, specific search for a reasonable number of results.
Find Systematic Reviews: Quickly find gold standard evidence-based medicine. This search will find:
- Systematic Reviews
- Practice Guidelines
You must register for a free account and be logged in to use most of the features of TRIP. The TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Registered users (registration is free) benefit from extra features such as CPD, search history, and collaborative tools.
UpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. [Access to UpToDate is co-funded by the Carver College of Medicine, the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and Hardin Library for the Health Sciences.]
Mobile EBM Resources
Mobile Device Resources
Visit Hardin Library's Mobile Device Resources guide for a complete list of mobile resources and installation instructions.
Available for: iOS, Android
Over 2000 entries are organized in an easy to navigate structured note format; includes both overall recommendations and specific study results.
FirstConsult via ClinicalKey Mobile
Available for: iOS systems.
First Consult is a point of care resource. It is part of ClinicalKey which is a medical search engine and database tool owned by medical and scientific publishing company Elsevier that offers access to the medical library published by that company.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android.
The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide features up-to-date, authoritative, evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. The guide breaks down details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, frequently-updated, quick-read entries. (uCentral is the Unbound Medicine portal to the John Hopkins ABX guide, pre-selected MEDLINE content, and links to uCentral downloads and tools including a mobile app.)
Natural Medicine (formerly Natural Standard) Mobile
This App is unavailable at this time.
Available for: iOS, Android
Stat!Ref is a healthcare e-resource that enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals, evidence-based, point-of-care and authoritative resources. This app provides you with access to ACP Smart Medicine, the Merck Manual, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and more.
Available for iOS, Android, and Windows 8.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource that synthesizes the most recent medical information into verifiable, evidence-based recommendations.
Available for: iOS, Android
Visual DX Mobile is a differential diagnosis tool with images and point of care information.
Get More Help
Have a general library question?
Contact the Hardin Library reference desk