Dermatology Resources: Drug Resources
Electronic resources for use by the Dermatology department.
Mobile Drug Resources
- Mobile Device ResourcesVisit Hardin Library's Mobile Device Resources guide for a complete list of mobile resources and installation instructions.
- IBM MicroMedex Drug RefAvailable for: iOS, Android
Provides information on adult and pediatric dosing, adverse effects, and drug interactions and much more. - DynaMed MobileAvailable for: iOS, Android
Over 2000 entries are organized in an easy to navigate structured note format; includes both overall recommendations and specific study results. - EpocratesAvailable for iOS and Android
Call Epocrates directly at 1-800-230-2150 to learn about individual student discounts.
Antibiotic Guide
Drug Resources
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowAccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult.
Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download book chapter PDFs. - Micromedex This link opens in a new windowMicromedex is a search engine for drug databases that provides in-depth information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It also provides patient counseling tools for medications, procedures, and conditions as well as dosing calculators. Databases searched include POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, PDR, MARTINDALE, and RED BOOK.
- AccessMedicine Drug IndexContains drug monographs.
- Drugs@FDASearch for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs.
- EpocratesProvides drug monographs and formulary information including dosing, pill identification, contraindications, interactions, and adverse reactions. This is a free resource but registration is required to access some features. Other features require an individual subscription. Mobile version (Epoctrates Rx) is available. Students can contact Epocrates at 1-800-230-2150 for information on discounts for individual subscriptions.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by ISBN: 9781264258079Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Pharmacotherapy a Pathophysiologic Approach by Publication Date: 2020
- National Library of Medicine Drug Information PortalUse this gateway for selected drug information on over 15,000 drugs from U.S. Government agencies spanning the time they are entered into clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through their entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA).
Natural Products
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DLSD)From National Institutes of Health (NIH). Offers information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowMicromedex has a component called AltMedDex. After conducting a search using a natural product name, slect the AltMedDex monograph.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)NCCAM is produced by NIH and provides information on a wide range of alternative therapies, including herbal products.
- Natural Medicines Comprehensive DatabasesAvailable at Hardin Library. Call number RM258.5 .N38
- NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines) This link opens in a new windowProvides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
- PubMed Dietary Supplement SubsetPreviously Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS), this database is now a subset of PubMed. It is essentially a "limit" on the PubMed database that allows users to limit the 20 million+ citations in PubMed to those that are dietary supplement-related (just over 400,000 at this time).
Matt Regan
Get More Help
Have a general library question?
Contact the Hardin Library reference desk
Phone: 319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu