Hardin Library
Quick Links
On This Page
Special thanks to Vicki Kee and Vern Duba at College of Pharmacy for suggesting many of the resources on this page.
Scroll down to see the following:
- Adverse Drug Reaction (ADR)
- Drug Equivalency Resources
- Drug Interaction
- Drug Pricing
- Infectious Diseases
- Laboratory Data
- Medication Safety
- Natural Products
- Nuclear Pharmacy
- Pediatric Drug Information
- Pharmacogenomics
- Poisoning/Toxicology Drug Information
- Pregnancy and Lactation
- Veterinary Drug Information
Adverse Drug Reaction (ADR)
- Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP)A non-profit organization devoted entirely to medication error prevention and safe medication use.The website lists many resources such as high-alert medications, confused drug names, error-prone abbreviations, and textbook and publication errata.
- MedWatch: The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting ProgramFind safety information and report adverse events/reactions to FDA.
- Meyler's Side Effects of DrugsA comprehensive overview of drug side effects published every 4 years.
- Reactions WeeklyA weekly publication with latest news and reports on adverse drug reactions. A good resource for keeping current. Available from 1980.
- Side Effects of Drugs AnnualA worldwide yearly survey of new data and trends in adverse drug reactions and interactions. It is designed to complement between editions Meyler's side effects of drugs.
- Drug-Induced Diseases Prevention, Detection, and ManagementBy Tisdale, James E. &Miller, Douglas A. ASHP 2018.
Drug Equivalency Resources
- FDA Orange BookThe Food & Drug Administration's Electronic Orange Book with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations enables searching of the approved drug list by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant holder or applicant number.
- FDA Purple BookLists of Licensed Biological Products with Reference Product Exclusivity and Biosimilarity or Interchangeability Evaluations. There are separate lists for those biological products regulated by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) and the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER) will be updated periodically.
Drug Interaction
- Drug Interaction Facts. Herbal Supplements and FoodAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number RM302.4 .D73.
- Drug Interaction FactsAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call numer RM302 .D767
This is the print version of Drug Interaction Facts listed above. - Evaluations of Drug InteractionsAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call numer RM302 .E94 2011
- Hansten and Horn’s Drug Interactions, Analysis and ManagementAvailable at Hardin Library. Call number FOLIO RM302 .H354
- Lexi-Comp’s Drug Interactions Handbook (print copy)Available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library. Call number RM302 .L4894
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowClick the "Drug Interaction" link at the upper left corner of the screen.
- The Natural Medicines Interactions CheckerA tool available via Natural Medicines that allows users to look up interactions between dietary supplements and prescription or over-the-counter drugs.
- UpToDate-Drug InteractionsThis link takes you directly to the Drug Interactions interface in UpToDate, which is provided by Lexi-Comp. If you are on UpToDate homepage and click the "Drug Interactions" link right below the search box.
Drug Pricing
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowRed Book™ is only available through Micromedex on a hard-wired computer in the College of Pharmacy building. Red Book provides Average Wholesale Prices (AWP).
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowSearch drug name, then select Drug Information from results. Look for "Pricing: US" in left side bar. It provides Medi-Span's Average Wholesale Prices (AWP) and/or Average Average Wholesale Prices (AAWP).
Infectious Diseases
- Antibiotics SimplifiedBy Gallagher and Conan MacDougall. 3rd Ed. 2013.
- Johns Hopkins ABX Guide This link opens in a new windowThe Johns Hopkins ABX Guide features up-to-date, authoritative, evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. The guide breaks down details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, frequently-updated, quick-read entries. (uCentral is the Unbound Medicine portal to the John Hopkins ABX guide, pre-selected MEDLINE content, and links to uCentral downloads and tools including a mobile app.)
- The Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy (2017)Ebook via Rittenhouse Digital Library (R2).
Laboratory Data
- Laboratory Test OnlineFree website written by laboratory professionals
- Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests6 edition. By Diana Nicoll, Chuanyi Mark Lu, Michael Pignone, Stephen J. McPhee.
Medication Safety
- Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP)Note the Medication Safety Tools and Resources section for Do Not Crush List, High Alert Medication List, Confused Drug Name List, etc.
- The National Medication Errors Reporting Program (ISMP MERP)Part of Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP)
- QuarterWatch: Monitoring MedWatch ReportsAlso part of ISMP. QuarterWatch monitors domestic, serious adverse drug events reported to the FDA.
Natural Products
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DLSD)From National Institutes of Health (NIH). Offers information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowMicromedex has a component called AltMedDex. After conducting a search using a natural product name, slect the AltMedDex monograph.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)NCCAM is produced by NIH and provides information on a wide range of alternative therapies, including herbal products.
- Natural Medicines Comprehensive DatabasesAvailable at Hardin Library. Call number RM258.5 .N38
- NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines) This link opens in a new windowProvides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
- PubMed Dietary Supplement SubsetPreviously Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS), this database is now a subset of PubMed. It is essentially a "limit" on the PubMed database that allows users to limit the 20 million+ citations in PubMed to those that are dietary supplement-related (just over 400,000 at this time).
Nuclear Pharmacy
Fundamentals of Nuclear Pharmacy by
Established as a classic text on nuclear chemistry and pharmacy, Fundamentals of Nuclear Pharmacy has been thoroughly revised with new information added covering innovations in imaging technology and clinical applications in the field. The Sixth Edition also eliminates outdated information from previous editions on radiopharmaceuticals now discontinued from the market. Dr. Gopal B. Saha's books have continually been praised for their clarity and accuracy while setting new standards for making complex theoretical concepts readily understandable to the reader. Like past editions, this book is intended to be used as a textbook on nuclear chemistry and pharmacy for nuclear medicine residents and students and as a reference book for nuclear medicine physicians and radiologists. New sections in the Sixth Edition include: * PET/CT and SPECT/CT * Digital Imaging * Exploratory IND * Nanoparticle Imaging * Treatment of liver cancer with 90Y-TheraSpheres and 90Y-SIR-Spheres * Treatment of Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma with 131I-Bexxar
Call Number: Ebook via SpringerISBN: 9783319575803Publication Date: 2018
Radiopharmaceuticals in Nuclear Pharmacy and Nuclear Medicine, 3e by
Radiopharmaceuticals in Nuclear Pharmacy and Nuclear Medicine, 3rd Edition is a comprehensive reference for nuclear pharmacists, nuclear medicine physicians, and nuclear medicine technologists.It can also be used as a textbook in these disciplines. It is recommended for specialty board examination in nuclear medicine and nuclear pharmacy. The book contains essential information required by state and federal radiation licensing organization for specialty practitioners preparing to become authorized nuclear pharmacists or authorized nuclear medicine physicians.
Call Number: RC78.7.R4 K69 2011ISBN: 1582121184Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Pediatric Drug Information
- The Harriet Lane Handbook (23 edition)Also available in print at Hardin Library. Call number RJ48 .H35 2012 (permanent reserve)
- NeoFaxNeoFax is an add-on component of Micromedex. It can be found above the main search box on Micromedex homepage. Note that it is NOT available through the College of Pharmacy's subscription.
- Pediatric drug formulations5th Ed., 2003. Available in print at Hardin Library. Call number RJ560 .N342 2003.
Pharmacogenomics
Pharmacogenomics an Introduction and Clinical Perspective by ISBN: 1283656167Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Handbook of Pharmacogenomics and Stratified Medicine by ISBN: 0123868831Publication Date: 2014-04-28
Poisoning/Toxicology Drug Information
- POISINDEX® via MicromedexClick Tox & Drug Product Lookup on the top of the screen.
- TOXNETA free resources from NIH covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology.
Pregnancy and Lactation
- Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and LactationVia Lexicomp. Briggs' Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation provides information on a medication's effects on the fetus during pregnancy and on the breast-feeding infant. It also includes pregnancy and breast-feeding recommendations with links to Briggs' definitions and in-line reference links to PubMed.
- Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database (DART)Another TOXNET database by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Drugs During Pregnancy & LactationA quick and reliable reference for all those working in disciplines related to fertility, pregnancy, lactation, child health and human genetics who prescribe or deliver medicinal products, and to those who evaluate health and safety risks
- Drugs in Pregnancy and LactationBy Gerald Briggs et al. Available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number FOLIO RG627.6.D79 B75 2011
- FDA's List of Pregnancy Exposure Registries.FDA keeps a list of pregnancy exposure registries, studies that collect health information from women who take medicines or vaccines when they are pregnant.
- Lactation Database (LactMed) This link opens in a new windowLactMed is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Information includes the drugs potential effects on infants and lactation.
- Medications and Mothers’ MilkBy Thomas Hale. Available at Hardin Library. Call number RJ216 .M4
- Reproductive Risk via MicromedexWhen searching for a drug in Micromedex, in the list of results, select the link for Reproductive Risk from the Display options.
- NeoFax/Pediatrics via Micromedex)Click on NeoFax/Pediatrics on the top of the screen.
Veterinary Drug Information
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PubMed also covers literature on veterinary science. To limit your search to the PubMed Veterinary Science subset, click on Topic-Specific Queries on PubMed homepage and click on the Veterinary Science filter listed toward the bottom of the page.
- DailyMedDailyMed®, provided jointly by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM), includes human and animal drug labels. Go to Advanced Search and limit your search to Animal Drugs.
- FDA Animal & VeterinaryCovers information on animal feed, animal drugs, pet food, and regulatory issues. Read more about FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM) on its website: https://www.fda.gov/AboutFDA/CentersOffices/OfficeofFoods/CVM/default.htm
- Merck Manual for Pet HealthContent derived from the professional-focused Merck Veterinary Manual. Intended for pet owners.
- Veterinary Information Resources complied by National Library Medicine (NLM)Including links to free databases, organization websites, and consumer information websites.
- Veterinary Product DatabaseFree resource from Drugs.com
- USP-NF Online This link opens in a new windowUse the navigation panel on the left of USP-NF Online homepage to to go to General Chapters: <1151> PHARMACEUTICAL DOSAGE FORMS & General Chapters: <1152> ANIMAL DRUGS FOR USE IN ANIMAL FEED
Chris Childs
Chris Childs
Contact:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752