Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On This Page
Scroll down to see the following:
- AACP Reports
- Physical & Chemical Properties Resources
- Compounding Reference Resources
- Compounding Reference Books
- Compounding Textbooks
- Compounding Websites & Journals
- More on Compounding Data
Special thanks to Vicki Kee and Vern Duba at College of Pharmacy for suggesting many of the resources on this page.
AACP REPORTS: Assessment and Recommendations of Compounding Education in AACP Member Institutions
Citation information: Shrewsbury R, Augustine S, Birnie C, Nagel K, Ray D, Ruble J, Scolaro K, Athay Adams J. Assessment and Recommendations of Compounding Education in AACP Member Institutions. Am J Pharm Educ. 2012 Sep 10;76(7):S9. doi: 10.5688/ajpe767S9. PubMed PMID: 23049115
Follow the link below to see the fulltext.
Physical & Chemical Properties Resources
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Combined Chemical Dictionary
Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. Contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds (200,000 records), Dictionary of natural products (120,000 records), Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds (90,000 records), Dictionary of pharmacological agents (30,000 records), Dictionary of analytical reagents (14,000 records).
Merck Index Online
An authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, the Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck Index Online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
The Merck Index
Available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number: RS51 .M4 2006
Pharmaceutical Substances is designed to be a complete reference guide to every pharmaceutical compound of significance. It provides a compendium of some 2,600 active pharmaceutical ingredients (API's) of interest to the chemical and pharmaceutical industries. Note: There is a known problem with the Structure Query. More info here
Everyone MUST register on campus using an Iowa email account to use this resource. Detailed instructions are located at guides.lib.uiowa.edu/SciFinder
. SciFinder gives you instant access to the world's largest curated collection of information on disclosed chemistry and related research produced by CAS.
The USP-NF (United States Pharmacopeia–National Formulary) is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics. Click on Log On to begin.
Compounding Reference Resources
King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures
The King Guide provides practitioners with a comprehensive, timely, and authoritative reference on parenteral admixtures and is updated quarterly.
Compounding Websites & Journals