Clinical Pharmacy Resources: E-Books
Databases and other Resources on Pharmacy and Drug Information.
Hardin Library
Quick Links
Frequently Used E-books
-
Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Edition
by
The most comprehensive and authoritative pharmacology text--updated with new content and USMLE-style questions A Doody's Core Title for 2024! Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more. Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, Sixteenth Edition features: 330 full-color illustrations 100 drug tables 50 USMLE-style questions Chapter on cannabinoids A strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes Case studies and chapter-ending summary tables Organization that reflects the syllabi of pharmacology courses Descriptions of important new drugs
ISBN: 9781260463309Publication Date: 2023-11-21 -
Cancer Chemotherapy in Clinical Practice
by
Summarizes the whole range of systemic cancer therapies, explaining their mode of action and potential side-effects, as well as their clinical applications
A simple introduction explaining the broad principles underlying chemotherapy, this book gives trainees a framework within which they can place the specific aspects of cancer chemotherapy they encounter in their everyday experience. The first part of this book is unique in explaining the recent developments in the field in terms of their point of action in the natural history of cancer. The second and third sections contain a more straightforward description of practical aspects of chemotherapy, and the current place of drug treatment in everyday cancer management, including the outcomes of that treatment.
ISBN: 9780857297273Publication Date: 2012-05-26 -
Casarett and Doull's Toxicology: the Basic Science of Poisons, Ninth Edition
by
Ebook via AccessPharmacy.
The most complete, trusted reference text covering the full span of medical toxicology "NOW IN FULL COLOR " A Doody's Core Title ESSENTIAL PURCHASE "This reference stands alone as the basic text in the field of toxicology. This authoritative reference is written by many distinguished professionals in the field, and offers clear, concise descriptions of the key concepts in toxicology. It is extensive and complete, covering a broad range of topics in sufficient detail. Both as a reference and as an educational tool, this book exceeds its goal of serving as a reference for toxicologists, other scientists, and students of the discipline. 3 Stars."--"Doody's Review Service" (reviewing prior edition) Long established as the gold standard in the field, "Casarett & Doull's Toxicology" equips you with an unsurpassed understanding of modern toxicology, including the principles, concepts, mechanisms, and modes of thought that are the foundation of the discipline. The new seventh edition features is updated throughout and includes many new contributors and new content on chemical terrorism.
ISBN: 9781259863752Publication Date: 2019 -
Concepts in Clinical Pharmacokinetics
by
Understanding the science of pharmacokinetics is a challenge for many pharmacy students and practitioners. Concepts in Clinical Pharmacokinetics, now in its 7th edition, has helped thousands by simplifying this essential, but complex, subject to reflect current practice. The 7th edition has been revised by Robin Southwood, PharmD, BC-ADM, CDE; Virginia H. Fleming, PharmD, BCPS; and Gary Huckaby, PharmD; all experts in clinical pharmacy education. Together, they have updated and expanded the text to include the latest information and insights on concepts through extensive use of correlates, figures, and review questions. Inside you will find: 15 easy-to-follow lessons, perfect for a semester Practice quizzes to help chart progress Enhanced discussion of hemodialysis A phenytoin "cheat sheet" to help you through the calculations maze New vancomycin cases based on higher desired vancomycin levels and trough-only dose estimations Expanded information on modified diet in renal disease formula versus Cockcroft-Gault formula methods Factors to consider when choosing a dosing/body weight for various equations Updated clinical correlates, discussion points, references, and questions/answers Concepts in Clinical Pharmacokinetics is the fundamental reference for learning the basic, foundational pharmacokinetics concepts and how to apply them in clinical practice.
ISBN: 9781585285914Publication Date: 2018-11-30 -
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
by
High Quality Science requires High Quality Data! Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles. Available both in print and online, the Handbook covers 390 chemistry, physics, and related subjects organized in easy-to-find, well-organized tables. Every year, new reported data and new scientific areas are added, making the Handbook the largest comprehensive physical science data source available anywhere. Handbook features include: All data reviewed and evaluated by subject matter experts Standardized chemical names, structures, property names, and property units Important information on subjects such as chemical and laboratory safety, and nomenclature Chemical and physical data critical for fields such as environmental science, bio-medical chemistry, organic and inorganic chemistry, materials innovation, geo- and astrophysics, and solid-state science Digital tools in our Online Edition to analyze, graph, process, and exploit our data content
ISBN: 1032655666Publication Date: 2025-06-16 -
Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer
Contains consumer-level information on a wide range of drugs. Formerly known as USP DI Vol 2.
-
Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, 7e
by
The guide pharmacists and students turn to first for cutting-edge coverage of drug information The goal of Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, Sixth Edition is to teach students and practitioners how to effectively research, interpret, evaluate, collate, and disseminate drug information in the most efficient and effective manner possible. Updated to reflect the realities of today's practice, the book also addresses important issues such as the legal and ethical considerations of providing drug information. Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists begins by introducing the concept of drug information, including its history, and provides details on the various places drug information specialists may find employment. This is followed by information on how to answer a question, from the process of gathering necessary background information through determining the actual informational need, to answering the question. The chapter on drug information resources includes descriptions of the most commonly used references and contains new information on apps available to practitioners. As with past editions, practical examples are also provided. The Sixth Edition has been updated throughout, with chapters from previous editions rearranged to make the subject flow better. This edition is also enhanced by the addition of new chapters on journal clubs and counterfeit drugs/drug shortages. In addition, coverage of Policy Development, Project Design and Implementation has been greatly expanded.
ISBN: 9781260460315Publication Date: 2022 -
Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases, 14th Edition (The Pink Book)
Publication Date: 2021 -
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition
by
The landmark pharmacology reference--updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics has represented the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. The text's careful balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. This Fourteenth Edition includes five new chapters, 600+ illustrations, and important content from 53 new contributors. More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice. Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Fourteenth Edition features: Five NEW chapters on: -Pharmacovigilance -The blood-brain barrier -Cannabis -Antibodies, immune checkpoint inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other biological agents -Gastrointestinal microbiome and drug response Expanded coverage of the use of genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies Revised and expanded chapter on pharmacodynamics and the molecular mechanisms of drug action 600+ color illustrations Drug Fact Tables summarizing clinical pharmacology Content Outline and Abbreviation List at the beginning of each chapter 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions 53 NEW contributors NEW online updates
ISBN: 9781264258079Publication Date: 2022-11-01 -
Handbook of Pediatric Cardiovascular Drugs
by
Provides the health care practitioner with general clinical and practical guidelines regarding the use of pediatric cardiovascular drugs
A Second Edition of this handbook of drugs used in pediatric cardiac care will satisfy the need for a quick up-to-date reference source of common drug therapy. There are no major texts available in the field of pediatric cardiology that exclusively provide therapeutic drug information. Several sources are available that present drug information for cardiology, but these place no emphasis on pediatric care and are written for general cardiac specialists.
ISBN: 9781447124641Publication Date: 2014-06-26 -
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
by
Featuring the complete contents of the world's leading textbook of medicine Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
The landmark guide to internal medicine-- updated and streamlined for today's students and clinicians The only place you can get ALL the great content found in the two print volumes AND the acclaimed DVD in one convenient resource Through six decades, no resource has matched the authority, esteemed scholarship, and scientific rigor of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Capturing the countless advances and developments across the full span of medicine, the new 19th edition of Harrison's provides a complete update of essential content related to disease pathogenesis, clinical trials, current diagnostic methods and imaging approaches, evidence-based practice guidelines, and established and newly approved treatment methods. Here are just a few of the outstanding features of the new Nineteenth Edition: Content is practically organized around two basic themes: education and clinical practice The teaching and learning sections cover foundational principles, cardinal manifestations of disease and approach to differential diagnosis; the content devoted to clinical practice focuses on disease pathogenesis and treatment NEW chapters on important topics such as Men's Health, The Impact of Global Warming on Infectious Diseases, Fatigue, and many more Critical updates in management and therapeutics in Hepatitis, Coronary Artery Disease, Ebola Virus Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Diabetes, Hypertension, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, Acute and Chronic Kidney Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Lipoprotein Disorders, HIV and AIDS, and more. Increased number of the popular Harrison's clinical algorithms; clinically relevant radiographic examples spanning hundreds of diseases; clinical-pathological images in full color; crystal clear, full color drawings and illustrations and helpful tables and summary lists that make clinical application of the content faster than ever Outstanding multi-media resources including practical videos demonstrating essential bedside procedures, physical examination techniques, endoscopic findings, cardiovascular findings, are available for easy download Supporting the renowned coverage are supplemental resources that reflect and assist modern medical practice: more than 1,000 full-color photographs to aid visual recognition skills, hundreds of state-of-the-art radiographs, from plain film to 3D CT to PET Scans; beautiful illustrations that bring applied anatomy and processes to life; the renowned Harrison's patient-care algorithms, essential summary tables, and practical demonstrative videos. In addition, several digital atlases highlight noninvasive imaging, percutaneous revascularization, gastrointestinal endoscopy, diagnosis and management of vasculitis, and numerous other issues commonly encountered in clinical practice. Acclaim for Harrison's -Covering nearly every possible topic in the field of medicine, the book begins with a phenomenal overview of clinical medicine, discussing important topics such as global medicine, decision-making in clinical practice, the concepts of disease screening and prevention, as well as the importance of medical disorders in specific groups (e.g. women, surgical patients, end of life). The extensive chapters that follow focus on a symptom-based presentation of disease and then illness organized by organ system. Numerous tables, graphs, and figures add further clarity to the text.- ...Written by experts in the field, this book is updated with the latest advances in pathophysiology and treatment. It is organized in a way that makes reading from beginning to end a logical journey, yet each chapter can stand alone as a quick reference on a particular topic. - Doody's Review Service reviewing the previous edition of Harrison's
Publication Date: 2021 -
Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry 7th ed.
by
ISBN: 9781609133450Publication Date: 2012-03-08Available in PRINT on the first floor at Hardin, Permanent Reserve . Call number FOLIO RS403 .P75 2013.
-
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide This link opens in a new windowThe Johns Hopkins ABX Guide features up-to-date, authoritative, evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. The guide breaks down details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, frequently-updated, quick-read entries. (uCentral is the Unbound Medicine portal to the John Hopkins ABX guide, pre-selected MEDLINE content, and links to uCentral downloads and tools including a mobile app.)
-
ASHP Injectable Drug Information 2025
by
For more than 40 years ASHP has published the most trusted resource for injectable drug information. Our new ASHP® Injectable Drug Information now delivers the same high-quality content that you can expect from ASHP with even more of the information you need to make decisive patient care decisions. The 2023 edition of the industry's go-to guide is newly updated with the latest information, the full list of the AHFS® Pharmacologic-Therapeutic Classification© system, multiple new monographs, and nearly 200 new references for a total of over 24,000 total compatibility pairs. ASHP® Injectable Drug Information™ 2023 features more than 400 monographs, including: Brexanolone Cefiderocol sulfate tosylate Oritavancin Oliceridine fumarate Remdesivir Remimazolam besylate Sildenafil citrate
ISBN: 9781585287437Publication Date: 2025 -
Critical Compilation of pKa Values for Pharmaceutical Substances
by
ISBN: 9780122608339Publication Date: 2007-11-14This is volume 33 of Profiles of Drug Substances, Excipients, and Related Methodology.
pKa values -
-
-
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs
by
A comprehensive overview of drug side effects published every 4 years.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature, making this a must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company. The online version of the book provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking, and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles. Enhanced encyclopedic format with drug monographs now organized alphabetically Completely expanded coverage of each drug, with more than 1,500 drug articles and information on adverse reactions and interactions Clearer, systematic organization of information for easier reading, including case histories to provide perspective on each listing Extensive bibliography with over 40,000 references A must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company
ISBN: 9780444537171Publication Date: 2015-12-01 -
Pediatric Injectable Drugs (the Teddy Bear Book)
by
Pediatric Injectable Drugs: The Teddy Bear Book is one of ASHP's most recognized and trusted resources dedicated to providing guidance on the use of injectable medications in children. For more than 20 years, pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and other health professionals have relied on The Teddy Bear Book to provide the most comprehensive research-based information on administering injectable medications to children. The Teddy Bear Book is the only reference of its kind that focuses on the unique issues that healthcare professionals face when using injectable medications in children, such as limited fluid volumes, maximum concentrations, and rates of administration. The 12th edition features more than 4,800 references for 273 updated monographs (including 7 monographs that are new to this edition) that, like previous editions, cover the following areas: Medication error potential Infusion-related cautions Dosages and dose adjustment in organ dysfunction Additives and suitable diluents Maximum concentrations Preparation and delivery Bolus, intermittent, and continuous IV administration Other routes of administration New monographs include: Cysteine Cytomegalovirus immunoglobulin Dalbavancin Difibrotide Ferric derisomaltose Ferrumoxytol Varicella zoster immune globulin New features added to all monographs: Expanded monograph layout Pronunciations Enhanced safety information including ASHP's Standardize 4 Safety concentration standards, and The KIDs List AHFS® Pharmacologic-Therapeutic Classification© specific category identification
ISBN: 9781585287185Publication Date: 2024-07-31 -
Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach, Eleventh Edition
by
25+ additional chapters available online! The classic guide to driving optimal patient outcomes using evidence-based medication therapies--updated with the latest advances and guidelines A Doody's Core Title for 2022! ALL E-CHAPTERS (ONLINE ONLY CHAPTERS) NOW AVAILABLE FREE go to https://accesspharmacy.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookID=2577 Presented in full color, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11th Edition helps you deliver the highest-quality patient care through evidence-based medication therapy derived from sound pharmacotherapeutic principles. It takes you beyond drug indications and dosages, showing how to properly select, administer, and monitor drugs--everything you need to provide safe, effective drug therapy across all therapeutic categories. With all-new monitoring tables and authoritative content from 300 expert contributors, this new edition has been fully updated to reflect the latest evidence-based information and recommendations. You'll find Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter, Clinical Presentation tables that summarize disease signs and symptoms, and Clinical Controversies boxes that examine the complicated issues faced by students and clinicians in providing drug therapy. Why Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is perfect for students, pharmacists, and other healthcare providers: All chapters provide the most current, reliable, and relevant information available. Key concepts kick off every chapter. Clinical Presentation Tables summarize disease signs and symptoms. The majority of sections include personalized pharmacotherapy content. Clinical Controversies Boxes clarify the most complex drug therapy issues you'll face. Diagnostic flow diagrams, treatment algorithms, dosing recommendations, and monitoring approaches have been updated in full color to distinguish treatment pathways. Most disease-oriented chapters are enhanced by updated evidence-based treatment guidelines, which often include ratings of the level of evidence to support key therapeutic approaches. Instructors who adopt this text are eligible for a PowerPoint presentation of all images and answers to Self-Assessment Questions! The most trusted guide of its kind for decades, Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach is the go-to text for students and practitioners seeking clear, objective coverage of core pathophysiologic and therapeutic elements.
ISBN: 9781260116816Publication Date: 2020-06-25 -
Pharmacotherapy Casebook: a Patient-Focused Approach, 11e
by
Publication Date: 2020A companion workbook for: Pharmacotherapy : a pathophysiologic approach -
Student Handbook for Pharmacy Practice Research
by
An essential resource for students and residents in pharmacy settings While there are numerous resources covering basics of drug literature evaluation and evidence-based pharmacy, few books focus on practice-based pharmacy research. Filling the gap in the available literature, Student Handbook for Pharmacy Practice Research provides a practical and systematic framework for conducting practice-based research by students and residents in pharmacy settings. Each chapter includes learning objectives, a list of new terms featured in the chapter, key points and advice, review questions, and a list of online resources for additional learning or applications. This is an ideal resource for students and residents who undertake capstone or standalone research projects as part of their professional training. Student Handbook for Pharmacy Practice Research covers: Research design and methodology Practice-based research and protection on human subjects Pharmacoepidemiology Research mentorship Data management and statistical analysis Intervention research Survey research Secondary data research Quality improvement research Peer review and publication process, and more
ISBN: 9781260474251Publication Date: 2022-08-02 -
Pharmacy Student Survival Guide
by
Suitable for those who want to excel in pharmacy practice courses, this book offers a combination of calculations, kinetics, drug information, medical terminology, and laboratory data book that helps you to organize case information, improve problem-solving skills, learn terminology, and impress faculty during rounds.
A handbook that you will refer to throughout your entire pharmacy education! A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Pharmacy Student Survival Guide is a one-of-a-kind roadmap for excelling in pharmacy practice courses. A unique combination calculations, kinetics, drug information, medical terminology, and laboratory data book all in one, the Guide helps you organize case information, improve problem-solving skills, learn terminology, and impress faculty during rounds. Pharmacy Student Survival Guide is presented in three sections that span the entire pharmacy curriculum: Systems and Expectations covering etiquette, ethics, communication, monitoring patients, and the function of a medical team Patient Care Tool Box covering medical terminology, pharmacokinetics, laboratory data, and physical assessment Topics in Pharmacy Practice addressing the practice of community and institutional pharmacy, the pharmacists as drug information specialist, managed care, public health, and global pharmacy Valuable for both introductory and advanced practice courses, Pharmacy Student Survival Guide is the one book every pharmacy student must own.
ISBN: 9780071828475Publication Date: 2014-07-07 -
Pocket Guide to Critical Care Pharmacotherapy
by
Provides practical points based on both real patient-care experience and review of current medical literature with the aim of providing guidance to all critical care clinicians.
This is a no-nonsense guide to drug treatment in the intensive care unit. It covers the most commonly encountered conditions and is organized by system. Management of each condition is tersely outlined step-by-step in table format. The book also includes non-drug information that is essential to making informed, evidence-based pharmacotherapy decisions, such as risk scores, scales, and assessment tools. The Second Edition has been revised to reflect the latest critical care practice guidelines and up-to-date drug and non-drug information.
ISBN: 9781493918539Publication Date: 2014-11-19 -
Profiles of Drug Substances, Excipients, and Related Methodology
by
Check Volume 33 for pKa values.
Profiles of Drug Substances, Excipients, and Related Methodology presents comprehensive reviews of drug substances and additional materials, with critical review chapters that summarize information related to the characterization of drug substances and excipients, thus meeting the needs of the pharmaceutical community and allowing for the development of a timely vehicle for publishing review materials on the topic. The scope of the Profiles series encompasses review articles and database compilations that fall within one of the following six broad categories, Physical profiles of drug substances and excipients, Analytical profiles of drug substances and excipients, Drug metabolism and pharmacokinetic profiles of drug substances and excipients, Methodology related to the characterization of drug substances and excipients, Methods of chemical synthesis, and Reviews of the uses and applications for individual drug substances, classes of drug substances, or excipients. Contains contributions from leading authorities Informs and updates on all the latest developments in the field
ISBN: 9780128122266Publication Date: 2017-05-01 -
Red Book 2024-2027
by
Ebook via Rittenhouse Digital Library (R2)
Now Available The AAP's authoritative guide to the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood conditions. The Red Book provides evidence-based guidance to practicing clinicians on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, the FDA and hundreds of physician contributors. The Red Book is an essential reference for pediatric infectious diseases specialists and general pediatricians, and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health providers, medical residents and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information. The book is divided into sections that cover Active and passive immunization Disease summaries Antimicrobial therapy for treatment and prophylaxis Care of children in special situations Updated information and recommendations you cannot afford to be without... Standardized approach to disease prevention through immunizations, antimicrobial prophylaxis, and infection control practices New chapter on Hemorrhagic Fevers Caused by Filoviruses has been added New chapter on human parechovirus infections has been added Updated information on hypersensitivity reactions after immunizations The latest on sexually transmitted infections (STIs) in adolescents and children Updated coverage of actinomycosis, amebiases, arbovirus, bacterial vaginosis, blastocystis, candidiasis, Clostridium difficle, coronaviruses, dengue, enteroviruses, Escherichia coli, Giardia intestinalis, gonococcal infections, Helicobacter pylori infections, lyme disease, meningococcal infections, pediculosis capitis, pertussis, pneumococcal infections, rotavirus, and more Managing Injection Pain has been significantly expanded Updated information on hepatitis C Updated information on group B streptococcal infections Updated
ISBN: 1610027361Publication Date: 2024 -
Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy
by
Ebook via Rittenhouse Digital Library (R2).
Errata Notice: Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy 2016: Print Edition Content Notices (shipped prior to 5/11/16) Antibacterial Activity Spectra (Table 4, p78): A column shift caused activity data to be displayed incorrectly for Linezolid, Tedizolid, Rifampin (combination), TMP-SMX, Fosfomycin and Metronidazole vs. Anaerobic gram-positive bacteria (the lower right quadrant of the page). A sticker is available to replace the page: http: //www.sanfor dguide.com/support/errata
ISBN: 9781944272029Publication Date: 2017 -
Side Effects of Drugs Annual
by
Side Effects of Drugs Annual: A Worldwide Yearly Survey of New Data in Adverse Drug Reactions, Volume 42, first published in 1977, and continually published as a yearly update to the voluminous encyclopedia Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs, presents clinicians and medical investigators with a critical survey of new data and trends in adverse drug reactions and interactions. Topics covered in this new release include Central Nervous System Stimulants and Drugs that Suppress Appetite, Antidepressants, Lithium, Drugs of Abuse, Hypnotics and Sedatives, Antipsychotic Drugs, Antiepileptics, Opioid Analgesics and Narcotic Antagonists, Anti-Inflammatory and Antipyretic Analgesics and Drugs Used in Gout, and much more. Provides a critical yearly survey of the new data and trends regarding the side effects of drugs Authored and reviewed by worldwide pioneers in the clinical and practice sciences Presents an essential clinical guide on the side effects of drugs for practitioners and healthcare professionals alike
ISBN: 0128203293Publication Date: 2020-11-04 -
Spanish for the Pharmacy Professional
by
The increasing change in language demographics in the United States has created the need for pharmacy professionals to be able to communicate basic medication information to Spanish speakers while also confirming patient understanding. Spanish for the Pharmacy Professional balances the use of culturally appropriate Spanish (focus on Mexican Spanish) with technical Spanish that is practical for the pharmacist. Students of this text will learn to communicate basic and more complex information to their patients while also learning to enjoy some of the subtleties of the Spanish language and of Hispanic cultures. Key Features: * Focus on patient counseling regarding specific medications. * Sample dialogues in Spanish and English. * Cultural notes. * Lessons, exercises, and assessments. * Audio files available focusing
ISBN: 1582121206Publication Date: 2009-02-01 -
Trissel's(tm) Stability of Compounded Formulations
by
With the increasing use of compounded prescriptions, practitioners need to answer the question, "What is the stability of this preparation after it is compounded?" Trissel's™ Stability of Compounded Formulations is the only book in print that compiles all currently available stability information on drugs in compounded oral, enteral, topical, ophthalmic, and other specialized preparations. Based on data published over the past 60 years, the reference summarizes specific formulations and stability studies. It helps readers (a) determine whether formulated compounds will be stable for the anticipated duration of use, (b) properly store and repackage compounded formulations and some commercial products, (c) formulate in accordance with documented standards, and (d) counsel patients on the use and storage of compounded medications. Key Features: Monographs on 571 products-including 61 new monographs and 163 monographs updated from the previous edition-arranged alphabetically by nonproprietary name Each monograph organized into three easy-to-use categories: Properties, General Stability Considerations, and Stability Reports of Compounded Preparations, including repackaging information Fourth and fifth categories included where information is available: Compatibility with Other Drugs and Compatibility with Common Beverages and Foods Summaries from 2,043 published articles and books, including 329 new to this edition Index of nonproprietary and brand names
ISBN: 9781582122960Publication Date: 2018-01-31
E-book Collections
Chris Childs
Chris Childs
Contact:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752