Skip to Main Content
Skip to content
University of Iowa

University Libraries

Women in Broadcasting & Journalism: An Iowa Women's Archives Resource Guide: Home

A subject guide to the collections of women in radio and television broadcasting and print journalism held in the IWA.

An Introduction

 

Women in Broadcasting & Journalism

This guide brings together the collections in the Iowa Women’s Archives (IWA) that contribute to our understanding of the history and culture of women broadcasters and journalists in Iowa. The collections featured here are organized by occupation.  The descriptions for each collection provide a brief overview of the individual. A more detailed account of the collection and its relation to a particular topic is included in the finding aid in ArchivesSpace. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beverly Barnes Fix papers, Box 1, Iowa Women's Archives, University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

The IWA at the University of Iowa Libraries began holding the collections of women in broadcasting and journalism early in its existence. Inspired by IWA co-founder and writer Mary Louise Smith and stewarded by inaugural curator Kären Mason, the Archives now hold approximately 45 collections relating to broadcasting and journalism in Iowa that span the twentieth century. The collections shine a light on the lives of rural farm journalists, Hollywood television and film producers, radio show hosts, newspaper columnists and editors, and magazine publishers.

About the Iowa Women's Archives

Mary Louise-Smith and Louise Noun, Des Moines, 1996.

 

The Louise Noun – Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women’s Archives is named for its founders, who established the archives in 1992 as a repository dedicated to collecting the history of Iowa women. The Archives fulfills its mission by collecting and making available primary sources about the historical experience of Iowa women throughout the state and beyond its borders from the nineteenth century to the present, reflecting the diversity of Iowa women across race, class, ethnicity, and gender identity.  It undertakes a robust outreach program to gather and preserve the history of groups underrepresented in archives. Some of our collection strengths include materials relating to rural and farm women, women in politics, LGBTQ individuals, African American women, Latinas, and Jewish women.

Contact Information for the Iowa Women's Archives

The Iowa Women’s Archives is located on the third floor of the Main Library of the University of Iowa.

Open to Researchers: 

Tuesday-Friday, 9:00-12:00 and 1:00-4:00

Mailing Address:

Iowa Women’s Archives

100 Main Library

University of Iowa Libraries

Iowa City, Iowa  52242-1420

Campus Mail: 3094 LIB

Phone: (319) 335-5068

Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu

Social Media: Facebook

Guide Authorship

The content of the LibGuide was assembled and created by IWA Graduate Assistant Emma Barton-Norris in 2023.