Medical Education - Teaching & Scholarship
Purchase Request
-
Purchase Request FormForm for Hardin Library
PubMed Literature Collections
Hardin Library
Please contact the Hardin Library reference desk when immediate help is needed:
Ph: 319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu
Clinical Education Librarian
Medical Education
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Please Note
The resources here can be used for teaching and some other purposes. Using some materials for article publication, conference posters, and similar would require seeking permission from the copyright holder. For more on copyright, Creative Commons licenses, and OER, please see the following guides:
MD and PA Students Guide
-
MD and PA StudentsThis is the MD and PA students guide, providing quick access for resources they need throughout their education.
Linking in ICON
-
UI Libraries Proxy Link ToolUse this tool to create links to library resources for ICON that will also work off campus.
Using links to library resources in ICON and other places aids the UI Libraries by providing more accurate usage statistics, allowing the Libraries to know what materials are important for your teaching, research, and scholarship.
Cases
-
Access Case Files This link opens in a new windowYou can exit out of the pop-up window that asks you to sign in to your MyAccess profile. However, you must sign in to view and complete questions and save answers. AccessMedicine’s Case Files® Collection from McGraw-Hill Education offers the best-selling Case Files® content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
Video
-
Giblib This link opens in a new windowGiblib provides online video of surgical procedures, medical courses, expert advice, and one-on-one talks.
-
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new windowAccessSurgery from McGraw-Hill Medical introduces a whole new dimension to surgical education and clinical practice. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online surgery resource enhances medical knowledge and delivers quick answers to surgical inquiries – all in one place.
Images
-
VisualDx This link opens in a new windowVisualDx is a diagnostic clinical support tool that includes over 2,800 adult and pediatric conditions as well as over 40,000 images. Clinicians can search by a diagnosis, build a patient- specific differential, or review over 20,000 medication reactions and adverse events. With expanded content across general medicine, VisualDx delivers speed and diagnostic accuracy at the point of care.
Mobile Device Users will need to create an account while logged in on-campus .
Other Sources for Cases, Video, & Images
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowAccessMedicine.com is an online resource that provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. It is updated daily. The service's central resource is a repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. All databases in the repository contain the latest editions core medical titles from the AccessLange collection.
-
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowAccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
-
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new windowAccessSurgery from McGraw-Hill Medical introduces a whole new dimension to surgical education and clinical practice. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online surgery resource enhances medical knowledge and delivers quick answers to surgical inquiries – all in one place.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult.
Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download book chapter PDFs.
Resources for Building Cultural & Global Competence
-
ECRI Cultural Competence CornerRegister for a free account with ECRI to access all the guidelines.
-
EthnoGeriatricsFrom Stanford Medicine, this site provides information for culturally effective health care for older adults.
Question Banks
-
BoardVitals This link opens in a new windowBoardVitals Question Bank is an exam preparation database, offering practice questions for a variety of medical, nursing, dental, and pharmacy exams, such as USMLE, NAPLEX, COMLEX, NBDE, and NCLEX. After registration, users can proceed through practice questions by topic or section, or through a random selection of all sections. There are options for timed or self-paced practice sessions. Detailed explanations are provided for each question and the content is updated regularly to reflect the most current version of exams.
NB: Requires on-campus registration for first use.
Point of Care Resources
-
DynaMed This link opens in a new windowDynaMed Plus (Dynamic Medical Information System) is a quick and easy-to-use medical reference system designed for use at the point of care. It contains clinically organized summaries of thousands of topics and is updated several times daily from review of the research literature. Providing the most current, unbiased, evidence-based information to enable physicians to help them provide the best care possible to their patients, DynaMed is a useful resource in clinical, educational and research settings.
-
Micromedex This link opens in a new windowMicromedex is a search engine for drug databases that provides in-depth information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It also provides patient counseling tools for medications, procedures, and conditions as well as dosing calculators. Databases searched include POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, PDR, MARTINDALE, and RED BOOK.
-
NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines) This link opens in a new windowNatMed Pro provides unbiased, evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies. This resource includes evidence-based monographs, commercial product ratings for over 90,000 dietary supplement products, an interaction checker, an effectiveness checker, and a nutrient depletion checker. (This resource was previously called Natural Medicines).
-
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowBest Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.
-
UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. [Access to UpToDate is co-funded by the Carver College of Medicine and the University of Iowa Health Care.]