Advertisements in Library Databases

We have many periodicals in our library databases, including periodicals that were active from 1920-1940! Those databases contain complete versions of periodicals (complete with advertisements) that you can browse through. Check out a few of them below!

• The National Geographic (1888-Present)
  • Articles deal with interesting people, places, customs, activities and nature on a worldwide scale. Also covers National Geographic Society expeditions and discoveries.
• The New Yorker (1925-Today)
  • A popular weekly magazine. Contains journalism, fiction, criticism, essays, and cartoons.
• Liberty Magazine (1924-1950)
  • Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody was founded Joseph Patterson, publisher of the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, publisher of the Chicago Tribune. From its inception, they set out to make the magazine more topical, daring, and exciting than any competitors.
• The Vogue Archive (1892-Today)
  • A complete searchable archive of American fashion magazine Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.
• The Saturday Evening Post (1931-Today)
  • One of the most popular magazines in America until the 1960s. Contains fiction, non-fiction, and cartoons.
• Time Magazine Archive (1923-2000)
  • Famous American news magazine. Contains journalism and criticism.
• Good Housekeeping (1916-1950)
  • Historic American women's magazine. Contains journalism and literary work.
• The Economist (1843-Present)
  • The Economist presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them
• Esquire Magazine Archive (1933-2014)
  • Award-winning American men’s magazine. Contains articles about politics, men’s fashion, entertainment, fiction, and pop culture.
• Life Magazine Archive (1936-2000)
  • Extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
• The Times (1785-2007)
  • Very long-running daily newspaper, based in London. Contains world events and journalism.
• Fortune Magazine Archive (1930-2000)
  • Long-running business magazine focused on news and analysis of both American and, later, international business, economics, technology, and industry.
• Forbes Archive (1917-2000)
  • Important business magazine that focuses on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style.
• Foreign Affairs (1922-Present)
  • Reviews current events as they affect US relations worldwide, focusing on international, political, commercial and cultural relations.
• Architectural Digest Archive (1922-2011)
  • A vibrant monthly celebration of international design talents focusing on art, design, and architecture.
• Sur Digital Archive (1931-1992)
  • Sur (South) was the magazine and publishing house founded by Victoria Ocampo and had enormous influence in the Spanish-speaking literary world.
• Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2016)
  • The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper.
• Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive (1954-2000)
  • Popular sports magazine that chronicles the weekly events in the world of sports.

Useful Reference Sources