Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Terms
Use search terms such as "civic engagement"; "civic service"; "Civics"; "Equality", "volunteers in civil society," or "public policy" to find articles, government publications, reports, book chapters, conference proceedings, and other works providing a broad background.
Databases to Search
Written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.
Reports from the Congressional Research Service include legal, statistical and government agency research and can be helpful when you are interested in pressing public policy questions.
"govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all. govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government."
Searches the collections of the UI Libraries as well as a variety of academic search databases and scholarly journals.
Iowa State Legislature
Research activities of the Iowa State Senate and House, and learn about how state government works,
PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. PAIS International contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and publications of international agencies. Publications from more than 120 countries are included.