Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guides

COMM:5200 Introduction to Research and Teaching: Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

A brief overview of Communication Studies resources for Joy Hayes's Fall 2020 course.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Basics

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive logo

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) is an archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.

As part of the University of Iowa, you have access to Collections 1-3, including Music, Radio, and the Stage, as well as Parts I and II of Cinema, Film, and Television. 

 

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Video Tutorials

Source: ProQuest LibGuides, Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA): Advanced Search, https://proquest.libguides.com/eima/advanced

Search Tips and Tricks

By default, EIMA will look for documents with all the terms entered.

  • Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases.
  • Separate terms with OR to find any of the words entered.

EIMA, like most ProQuest databases, has a Thesaurus. The Thesaurus can be really useful for finding alternate terms to help increase your search success.

More information on the specifics of using the database can be found at https://proquest.libguides.com/eima/about