This is the "Drug Information" page of the "Clinical Pharmacy Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Databases and other Resources on Pharmacy and Drug Information.
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/pharmacy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Drug Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

EMBASE NOW AVAILABLE

Contat Xiaomei Gu if you'd like to know more about this databse. 

  • Embase  Icon
    A biomedical and pharmaceutical database contains bibliographic records with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with EMTREE.

Don't Know Where to Start Your Drug Information Search?

Table 3-2  Useful Resources for Common Categories of Drug Information in Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists (Malone) can be a good start point. It lists resources for specific categories of drug information requests. It can be found in Chapter 3 under Tertiary Resources. 

National Library of Medicine (NLM) has recently published a Drug Information guide. 

      

    Drug Monographs

    NOTE: Resources designated as COP-Affiliated are only available to faculty, staff, and students currently affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. 

    • American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) Drug Information via Lexicomp Online (COP-Affiliated)
      Print copy is also available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library.
      Call number RS125 .A48
    • Clinical Pharmacology (COP-Affiliated)
    • Facts and Comparisons eAnswers (COP-Affiliated)
      Drug Facts and Comparisons is available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number RM300 .F28
    • Lexicomp Online (COP-Affiliated)
    • Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (via Lexicomp) (COP-Affiliated)
      This link takes you directly to Martindale in Lexicomp. When you are on Lexicomp homepage, click the "More Clinical Tools" link on the top right corner and "Indexes".
      Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library.
    • Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (via Micromedex)
      Martindale is also included within the drug information in Micromedex. No direct link is available. Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library. Call number RS141.3 .M4
    • AccessMedicine Drug Index
    • DrugPoints System
      DrugPoints System provides summarized drug information.
    • Micromedex  Icon
      Micromedex’s Academic Program subscription is available when one is using a computer physically located in the COP building [PHAR]. More about this program at http://www.micromedex.com/products/academics/
    • Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR) (Via Micromedex)
      PDR is included within the drug information in Micromedex. No direct link is available. Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library.
    • USP-NF Online  Icon
      The USP-NF (United States Pharmacopeia–National Formulary) is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics. Click on Log On to begin.
    • The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) (print copy)
      Available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number RS141.2 .P5
    • Epocrates Online  Icon
      Free but registration is required. Provides drug monographs and formulary information including dosing, pill identification, contraindications, interactions, and adverse reactions. Its mobile version is Epocrates Rx. Epocrates Essentials is only free to medical students. Comparison table: http://www.epocrates.com/products/comparison_table
    • GlobalRph
    • NLM Drug Information Portal
      This is a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. It allows you to search several NLM/NIH drug information resources at once including PubMed, Toxnet, PubChem, ChemIDplus, ClinicalTrials, and MedlinePlus. Its mobile site can be accessed at http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/m.drugportal/
    • ClinicalKey  Icon
      ClinicalKey's drug information is provided by Gold Standard (Clinical Pharmacology). Click "Drugs" link on the top blue banner. Browse drugs by name of drug, indication, contraindication and adverse reactions. ClinicalKey was formerly known as MDConsult.

    Tablet/Capsule Identification

    This list is compiled by Vern Duba at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. 
    NOTE: Resources designated as COP-Affiliated are only available to faculty, staff, and students currently affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.   

    Drug Labels/Package Inserts

    • Drugs@FDA
      Allows you to search for information on FDA approved drug and selected therapeutic biological products.
    • DailyMed (NLM)
      Provided by National Library of Medicine. Contains package inserts for FDA approved drug products and package inserts for biologics approved by FDA Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER).
    • Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR) (Micromedex)
      PDR is included within the drug information in Micromedex. Print copy of PDR is also available at Hardin Library.
    • Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)
      The CDER website contains information on drug approvals, labeling, side effects, equivalency, and withdrawals.

    Xiaomei Gu

    Profile Image
    Clinical Education Librarian
    Logo - Twitter
    Contact Info
    319-335-9731
    xiaomei-gu@uiowa.edu
    Office: 2nd floor of Hardin Library in Commons East, Room 213
    Send Email
     

    Get More Help

    Have a general library question?

    Contact the Hardin Library reference desk

    Phone:
    319-335-9151
    Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip