Databases
- Academic Search Elite This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. Updated daily.
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. - America: History and Life Covers the world's scholarly literature in United States and Canadian history. It includes article abstracts from 1700 journals and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. The coverage is 1954- .
- ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS
Contains the complete contents of Religion Index One (journal literature in religion from 1949-present), Religion Index Two (multi-author works1960-present) and index to Book Reviews in Religion. - Black Studies Center
Combines three invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender. - C19, The Nineteenth Century Index Provides integrated bibliographic coverage of over over 1.3 million books and official publications, and 10 million articles published in over 2,000 journals, magazines and newspapers.
- The Chicano Database
A comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material about Mexican-Americans. Extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. - ComAbstracts This database contains abstracts of articles published in the discipline of communication studies and related fields (e.g., journalism, rhetoric, mass communication, and social linguistics).
- Communication and Mass Media Complete Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
- Education Full Text This database covers periodicals, books, and yearbooks concerning the field of education. It has indexing from 1983, abstracts from 1994, and full-text from 1996.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, Main Library and the Psychology Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or CSA. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference.
- ERIC (CSA) ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, Main Library and the Psychology Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or CSA. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- FRANCIS A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics.
- Historical Abstracts Offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. (The companion index for those countries is America: History and Life). It provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present.
- ISI Web of Knowledge A citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1956-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, political science, philosophy, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR does NOT include full-text of most recent 3 to 5 years.
- Periodicals Archive Online Companion to: Periodicals index online. Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- Periodicals Index Online
Electronic index to over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue (as early as 1665) . Every article is indexed. - Project Muse With full text for over 300 journal titles from university publishers, covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins 1995.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Indexes U.S. doctoral dissertations and master's theses from 1861 to the present. You can download complete UI dissertations from 1997 to present for free by clicking on "Order a copy". - Readers' Guide Retrospective A comprehensive index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. This database is available through WilsonWeb and covers the time period from 1890-1982.
- Sociological Abstracts Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers for sociology and related fields. 1963-current.
- SPORTDiscus SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 600,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.
Selected Literature Resources
For more literature resources check out the Resources by Subject LibGuide for English and American Literature
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
A collection of biographical, bibliographic and critical essays on authors. - Literature Criticism Online
Searchable database that provides access to ten literary criticism collections. - Literature Online (LION) A fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic advisory board.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Selected Music Resources
For more music resources check out the Resources by Subject page for Music and the homepage of the Rita Benton Music Library.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Indexing and abstracts for more than 420 international music periodicals, plus full text for 83 journals.
- Music Index This database covers 775 periodicals from 1975 to the present. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.
- Music Online
Most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web.Single cross-searchable platform that can potentially cross-search any combination of subscribed databases. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM features broad international coverage and concise abstracts. - RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This database provides access to periodical literature dealing with music from the 18th to the 20th centuries.
Selected Art Resources
- Art Retrospective Coverage: 1-32, 1929-1984 - parallels Art Full Text. Subjects covered: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles.
- ARTstor Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
- Bibliography of the History of Art Bibliography of the History of Art contains records describing current literature about art. Materials indexed include books, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and articles drawn from more than 4,300 periodicals. Subject coverage includes Western Art, architecture, decorative and applied arts, popular and folk art, and selected contemporary art, as well as painting, sculpture, drawing, and prints.
- Grove Art Online Grove Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art offering ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
Janalyn Moss |
Janalyn MossContact Info:
319-335-5698
Send Email
Subjects:
American History, African American Studies, American Studies, American Indian and Native Studies
319-335-5698
Send Email
Subjects:
American History, African American Studies, American Studies, American Indian and Native Studies
The History Cooperative
- The History Cooperative
Full text of The American Historical Review, Journal of American History, William and Mary Quarterly, and Western Historical Quarterly is available to subscribers. Full text of selected other history journals freely accessible. See more info...
Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait