Hardin Library
Quick Links
- PubMed
- IDIS 4.0 Drug Database
- COP Drug Information Resources
- Pharmaceutical Sciences & Experimental Therapeutics Subject Guide
- Chemistry LibGuide
- NLM Citation Style
- RefWorks
- AccessPharmacy
- STAT!Ref
- Stedman's Medical Dictionary
- Iowa COP iOS App
- College of Pharmacy (COP)
- American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP)
- ICON
- CONSORT Statement
On This Page
Scroll down to see more contents.
- AACP Reports
- Physical & Chemical Properties Resources
- Compounding Reference Books
- Compounding Textbooks
- Compounding Websites & Journals
Special thanks to Vicki Kee at Iowa Drug Information Service (IDIS) and Vern Duba at College of Pharmacy for suggesting many of the resources on this page.
AACP REPORTS: Assessment and Recommendations of Compounding Education in AACP Member Institutions
Citation information: Shrewsbury R, Augustine S, Birnie C, Nagel K, Ray D, Ruble J, Scolaro K, Athay Adams J. Assessment and Recommendations of Compounding Education in AACP Member Institutions. Am J Pharm Educ. 2012 Sep 10;76(7):S9. doi: 10.5688/ajpe767S9. PubMed PMID: 23049115
Follow the link below to see the fulltext.
Physical & Chemical Properties Resources
NOTE: Resources designated as COP-Affiliated are only available to faculty, staff, and students currently affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
- SciFinder
Everyone MUST register to use this resource and instructions are located at guides.lib.uiowa.edu/chem. SciFinder gives you instant access to the world's largest curated collection of information on disclosed chemistry and related research produced by CAS. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. - ChemIDplusA free resources from NIH providing information on 390,000+ chemicals including synonyms and structures. Search by registry number, name, molecular formula, structure, physical and toxicological properties.
- PubChemPubChem is a free NCBI resource providing information on the biological activities of small molecules and a a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
- Handbook of Pharmaceutical ExcipientsAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number FOLIO RS201.E87 H36 2012 . Earlier editions also available.
- USP-NF Online
The USP-NF (United States Pharmacopeia–National Formulary) is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics. Click on Log On to begin. - Profiles of Drug Substances, Excipients, and Related MethodologyCheck Volume 33 for pKa values.
- Critical Compilation of pKa Values for Pharmaceutical SubstancesThis is volume 33 of Profiles of Drug Substances, Excipients, and Related Methodology.
- American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) Drug Information via Lexi-Comp (COP-Affiliated)Copy copy is also available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library.
Call number RS125 .A48 - The Merck IndexAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number: RS51 .M4 2006
- Combined Chemical Dictionary
Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. Contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds (200,000 records), Dictionary of natural products (120,000 records), Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds (90,000 records), Dictionary of pharmacological agents (30,000 records), Dictionary of analytical reagents (14,000 records).
Compounding Reference Resources
NOTE: Resources designated as COP-Affiliated are only available to faculty, staff, and students currently affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
- (Trissel's) Handbook on Injectable DrugsEbook via STAT!Ref.
- Trissel's™ 2 IV Compatibility via MicromedexClick the "Trissel's™ 2 IV Compatibility" link at the upper left corner of the screen.
- Handbook of Pharmaceutical ExcipientsAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number FOLIO RS201.E87 H36 2012 . Earlier editions also available.
- Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (via Lexi-Comp) (COP-Affiliated)This link takes you directly to Martindale in Lexi-Comp. When you are on Lexi-Comp homepage, click the "More Clinical Tools" link on the top right corner and "Indexes".
Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library. - Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (via Micromedex)Martindale is also included within the drug information in Micromedex. No direct link is available. Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library. Call number RS141.3 .M4
- Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug DeliveryEbook via eBrary.
- Remington: the Science and Practice of PharmacyAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number RM300 .R3955 2006
- Secundum ArtemSecundum Artem is designed for pharmacists who compound prescriptions: nonsterile and sterile, traditional and high technology. Freely available on Perrigo website.
- Trissel's Stability of Compounded FormulationsEbook via StarRef!
- USP Compounding Standards & ResourcesA new page on USP website dedicated to compounding information including USP standards. Note USP is temporarily offering USP General Chapter <797> Pharmaceutical Compounding – Sterile Preparations free of charge.
Compounding Textbooks
- A Practical Guide to Contemporary Pharmacy PracticeAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number: RS98 .T47 2009
- Compounding Sterile Preparations (3rd Ed.)Ebook.
2nd Ed. is available in print at Hardin Library. Call number RS199.S73 B83 2005 - The art, science, and technology of pharmaceutical compounding3rd ed. Available at Hardin Library. Call number: RS200 .A49 2008
- Pharmaceutical compounding and dispensingAvailable at Hardin Library. Call number RS200 .P4 2006
Compounding Websites & Journals
- Perrigo (formerly Paddock Laboratories)A pharmaceutical company specializing in branded generics and compounding products.
- Compounding TodayBy the International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding.
- Professional Compounding Centers of America (PCCA)Professional association.
- Pharmaceutical CalculationsAn open source mathbook designed for pharmacy technicians. Authored by Sean Parsons.
- International Journal of Pharmaceutical CompoundingHardin does not have subscription to this journal. It is indexed in Medline. Use ILL if fulltexts are needed.
More on Compounding Data
Xiaomei Gu |
![]() ![]() Contact Info Hardin Library for the Health Sciences Phone: 319-335-9731 Email: xiaomei-gu@uiowa.edu Fax: 319-353-3752 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
