NEAR OR FAR, THE UI LIBRARIES ARE HERE TO HELP!
As of 6:00 PM March 17, 2020 all campus library locations will close to the public to keep our campus and community safe and to stop the spread of COVID-19. For updated information about UI Libraries services, visit the following site: https://www.lib.uiowa.edu/alerts/coronavirus/#remote
But we're still here working virtually and have online materials and services to help you with your Rhetoric assignment needs. Check out the resources listed below. These should help you as you work to complete your research projects throughout the remainder of the semester.
- CHAT WITH US! Having troubles accessing materials? Want help locating research or news articles? Chat with an expert from wherever you may be working. Librarians are available 9am-5pm, Monday - Friday until further notice.
- Katie Hassman, the UI Libraries liaison to Rhetoric, might be online, too. If you want to chat with her directly, check out her profile page. If she's online and available, click on the 'Ask Us' button under her picture to chat with her directly.
- VIRTUAL ONE-ON-ONE RESEARCH MEETING WITH A LIBRARIAN - Need assistance finding reliable articles? Want to talk through your research topic or search for additional perspectives?
- Drop-In Meetings
- Dates: Each Sunday - Thursday, beginning March 29th, 2020 and continuing through April 20, 2020
- Time: 5:00 - 9:00 PM CST
- Zoom link: https://uiowa.zoom.us/j/892141658
- Want to schedule a meeting at another time or with another librarian, instead? Contact Katie Hassman: firstname.lastname@example.org. She will respond to your email within 48 hours.
- EMAIL A LIBRARIAN - Contact your Rhetoric library liaison, Katie Hassman, directly. If she can't answer your question, she has colleagues who can. She can also help you set up a one-on-one virtual research meeting, see more information, below: email@example.com
BEST BET SOURCES FOR LOCATING RELIABLE INFORMATION ON YOUR TOPIC
Below is a list of resources that we librarians often turn to when we assist Rhetoric students with their assignment-related research. As you work on research for your final speeches and papers, check these out first.
SO YOU NEED TO FIND A CONTROVERSY OR A TOPIC
- Visit the website of some of the magazines listed on The Perch site. You're sure to find good examples of controversies and topics there. In fact, all the resources in this list were complied by a group of Rhetoric faculty and instructors to assist in your mapping a controversy assignment. https://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/theperch/magazines
- PRO TIP: As you read, keep a list of the topics you come across and the words/language people using to talk about your topic. Use these words/language as you start to refine your topic and begin searching for other perspectives.
- PRO TIP: Check out the Mapping a Topic resources for activities that can help you refine your topic and develop additional keywords to help you in your search for articles on your topic.
GOOGLE SCHOLAR IS YOUR FRIEND
Google Scholar is a great place to locate scholarly articles on your topic, especially when you've optimized the Google Scholar settings to search some of the materials made available through UI Libraries subscriptions. Check out this step-by-step guide on setting up your Google Scholar to search within the UI Libraries offerings.
SPECIFIC PERSPECTIVES AND AFFINITY GROUPS
The following sources are particularly valuable for locating perspectives of individuals or groups part of specific affinity groups/communities. These databases can provide valuable perspectives often missing from conversations about mapping a controversy topics.
Alt-Press Watch Full-text database indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. (Main Library Reference Area holds vol. 1- July 1969- to present in the paper edition.) [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Ethnic Newswatch Complete Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989
GenderWatch Primarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
RESEARCH STRATEGIES, TIPS & TRICKS
There are lots of strategies on this guide to help you navigate your research. Here's some shortcuts to what might be of most importance right now.
DEVELOPING YOUR TOPIC
DEVELOPING KEYWORDS FOR SEARCHING
PRIMARY V. SECONDARY SOURCES V. TERTIARY SOURCES
For closed captioning click the 'CC' box on the video above.