Scholarly Reference Books
Scholarly Reference Books
For background information and specific facts about your topic. Best place to begin when starting a project to give you ideas/keywords to investigate.
Key Concepts in Radio Studies by Call Number: Online Access AvailableISBN: 1283288745Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Radio Studies by Call Number: Online Access Available
Encyclopedia of Radio by Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO TK6544 .M84 2004ISBN: 1579582494Publication Date: 2003-12-02
Radio Crime Fighters by Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1991.8.D47 C69 2002ISBN: 0786413905Publication Date: 2002-10-25
On the Air by Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1991.3.U6 D8 1998ISBN: 0195076788Publication Date: 1998-05-07
Encyclopedia of American Radio, 1920-1960 by Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1991.2 .S57 2000ISBN: 0786404523Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Radio Drama by Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1991.9 .G73 2000ISBN: 078640051XPublication Date: 2000-02-01
Historical Dictionary of Old Time Radio by Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1991.3.U6 R45 2008ISBN: 9780810857803Publication Date: 2007-11-12
A Resource Guide to the Golden Age of Radio by Call Number: Main Library Oversize FOLIO Z7223.P47 S54 2006ISBN: 1891379046Publication Date: 2006-02-01- Don't Touch That Dial! by Call Number: Main PN1991.3 U6 M3ISBN: 0882295284Publication Date: 1979-09-01
Finding More Books
Finding More Books
To find more books, please use the resources below!
InfoHawk+ searches UI holdings
- Place your search term in the search box (EX: radio)
- Link concepts with boolean phrases (and, or, not) (EX: radio NOT podcast)
- Place phrases in quotations (EX: "1930s radio programs")
- Limit your results with left hand tabs (EX: Books, Subject)
- Books can be physical or digital
- Find physical books by visiting the library and searching for the book by call number
- Find digital books by clicking the link in the book's catalog record to the full text
WorldCat searches international holdings
- Follow the same search strategies in WorldCat as you do for InfoHawk+ (term, boolean phrases, quotations)
- The results should note if UI Libraries' note has the title
- If the UI Libraries has the title, search on InfoHawk+ for the title in quotations to get the call number
- If the UI Libraries does not have the title, request the book through Interlibrary loan
- Interlibrary loan requires you to log in with your HawkID, select book, and then fill out the book's information
- Interlibrary loan will deliver your book within a few days to the UI Libraries' location of your choice
Scholarly Book Picks
Scholarly Book Picks
Deeper investigations into more specific topics. Great for finding more information after you have a clearer idea of what exactly you want to research.
Radio: Essays in Bad Reception by Call Number: Online Access AvailableISBN: 1280099712Publication Date: 2011-01-01
I Hid It under the Sheets by Call Number: Main PN1991.3.U6 E84 2005ISBN: 082621620XPublication Date: 2005-11-28
The Medium and the Magician by Call Number: Main PN1991.4.W44 H49 2005ISBN: 074253796XPublication Date: 2005-01-28- One Man's Family Album by Call Number: Main PN1991.77.O55 O54 1988ISBN: 0940249057Publication Date: 1988-08-01
Databases of Scholarly Articles
Databases of Scholarly Articles
Search through many scholarly journals at once. Best place to start looking for scholarly articles. Save you a lot of time and energy. Have their own searching techniques.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Covers the world's scholarly literature in United States and Canadian history. It includes article abstracts from 1700 journals and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. The coverage is 1954- .
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowCompanion to: Periodicals index online. Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowElectronic index to over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue (as early as 1665) . Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Finding Scholarly Articles
Here is a rough outline of the steps to finding research using databases.
To find academic articles, search a variety of databases
- Select a database
- Place your search term in the search box (EX: radio)
- Link concepts with boolean phrases (and, or, not) (EX: radio NOT podcast)
- Place phrases in quotations (EX: "1930s radio programs")
- To limit results, try limiting the publication date range
- To expand results, find a source you like and then click a topic underneath the search result record for that article
- Repeat this process across different databases, making sure you use the same keywords